We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately the best hotel in Waikiki.....”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I've been to Waikiki many times before but this was the first time staying at Renew. We stayed 9 days at the hotel. This was by far the best hotel I've stayed at. The staff are awesome. They really make it a great experience. They are there to help you with whatever you need. The hotel was steps away from the beach. The decor was nice. Housekeeping was extremely friendly. We would definately stay at this hotel again the next time we're in Waikiki. There's a reason this is the number 1 hotel in Waikiki. Make sure you bring a cookie for Paul...

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2008

I saw the great reviews for the hotel on trip advisor and I booked solely on those reviews, I was not disappointed.

My flight arrived from Australia in Honolulu at around 6:15am, by the time I arrived at the hotel it was around 9am and I was able to check-in! I suspect this is because it is the slow season in Hawaii (it's winter in October/November), but regardless this was such a relief. I was able to have a shower and relax a little instead of wondering around until 3pm which is the standard checkin time.

The hotel is in a pretty good position towards the eastern end of Waikiki. It's about a 1 minute walk from Waikiki Beach and is about 100 feet away from Hilo Hattis shuttle bus and the Waikiki Trolley.

GOOD
+Early Check-in
+Refresher towel and chilled pinapple juice on arrival
+Light complimentary Breakfast each morning
+Fantastic, modern decor
+The most comfortable hotel bed I've ever had!
+Complimentary cocktails on Thursday (I think) afternoon

BAD
+Very noisy air con
+Although it's pretty standard Valet parking will cost you $22 a day (thankfully I didn't have a car).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ZapoAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Renew between 2-10 November 2008 and felt compelled to write a review about this gem of a hotel.

My husband and I are very fussy, hard to please people, especially where hotels are concerned. We have absolutely nothing but praise for this amazing hotel and will be returning as soon as we can!

The hotel is beautifully renovated, classy, comfortable, extremely clean, very well located, and the staff are without doubt the best I have encountered in 15+ years of travelling. They were, without exception, extremely accommodating, friendly, welcoming and professional. Standouts were Angie and Grace, who always greeted us with a smile when entering/leaving the hotel and Paul, who helped us out with hiring a car and travelling around the island. Angie and Grace also sent some champagne and a card up to our room on our 1st day at the hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary- a really lovely gesture and one which was much appreciated by both of us. What little sweethearts.

I can’t wait to return to the hotel on our next holiday. It was divine. We had such a fabulous stay that I was actually quite emotional about leaving on our day of departure and had a cry in our cab to the airport and again at the airport check-in! How embarrassing!! Mahalo, Hotel Renew :-)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ali_Jarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Aloha. There is a feeling of warmth and charm as you enter the doors of The Hotel Renew.
You are greeted and made to feel as if you are the only guest at this hotel. The staff is extremely warm and caring providing for your needs while visiting Waikiki. The hotel location is one block from the beach but if you have the ocean view room, you feel as if you are on the beach. The Tour bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. This area of Waikiki Beach has several dinning choices available and the beach area is less crowded. We loved The Hotel Renew so much we are returning in April. The rooms are comfortable with great bedding; I never slept so well in my life. The décor of the rooms continue the feeling of Aloha. The Hotel Renew provides for quit peaceful place for a great night rest with easy access to all of Waikiki. Once you visit Waikiki Beach and see the thousands of people, wondering through the shopping areas of the larger hotels .I think you will find The Hotel Renew a much more personnel experience "That" will enhance your vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lboone9362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Hotel Renew provided us with great service, a friendly and extremely helpful and resourceful staff, a cozy room with a great balcony, and if you wake up early like we did, the continental breakfast is a great way to start your day with fresh fruits, cereal, coffee, tea, and baked goods.
We decided to valet our car since the meter costs 25 cents per 10 minutes! It turned out that the valet guys were really nice and super fast! And if you valet, there's the advantage of in and out any time.
If you are new to Hawaii and Oahu, definitely ask the front desk for suggestions. They know where the locals go to eat and hang out, and they provide you directions on a map, which is really helpful since the streets names are really hard to remember.
Also, since we arrived early and left late to and from the island, they were really nice to let us check in early and have a late check out because they had rooms available. Hopefully, you'll have the same luck too!
The location is a plus, it's less then half a block from the beach right in the center of Waikiki!
Mahalo to the Hotel Renew staff!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CCris03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We booked this Hotel because it was no 1 here. It deserves to be.
The staff really are a cut above - as helpful and friendly as I have come across. They couldn't do enough for us.
The location is ideal - 2 mins to the beach. The Hotel provide free beach towels, boogie boards etc. The rooms themselves are finished to a very high standard and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable.
We stayed here for 5 nights when we started our hawaiian vacation. We had planned to treat ourselves to a fancy hotel when we came back to oahu, but we booked in here again, as it really was all you could ask for. Top marks.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Who'stheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Hotel Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2008

Aloha Who'stheMan,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our amiable staff goes beyond expectations in order to assure our guests a pleasant stay. Though we do not have the amenities that a big hotel chain has, we offer our guests peace of mind and outstanding personalized service. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

With Warmest Regard,

P. Louie
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Three couples over breakfast said they booked here due to it being number one of trip advisor. We only stayed one night, much to our regret. Fabulous on all counts and exceptionally helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Hotel Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

Aloha Lytia,

Thank you for your pleasant feedback for Hotel Renew despite your short stay. Hopefully, you will return to our island in the near future and plan your stay with us. Please contact us at that time and we will gladly assist you with your accommodation request!

Sincerely,

P. Louie
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,576 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,669 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,187 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $182 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing