We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value & Service”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Goleta, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value & Service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is a solid value for the price, especially given the fact that most of the hotels along Waikiki Beach gouge you - because they can. I was very impressed with the service and responsiveness of the staff. We had a couple of minor problems (nothing big - a noisy a/c unit and something else) but they got to it immediately and made sure the issue was resolved. Also convenient was the use of the pool and workout room in one of the adjacent hotels. Renew didn't have one (a pool) or it was being remodeled, so they made sure to find a way to accommodate their guests. I also enjoyed the free movies (new releases) every night although we only got to watch one. Then again, if we were staying in every night it kind of defeats the purpose of visiting a place like Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha Greg V,

Thank you for the glowing review of our service, location, and amenities here at Hotel Renew by Aston. It is a pleasure to have exceeded your expectations in these regards, and we appreciate the generous compliment on our well-appointed room accommodations and attentive staff. We apologized that you were inconvenienced during your stay but I am very pleased that our team responded quickly and efficiently.

We are glad that you enjoyed the Club Renew access to the pool and fitness center at and our unlimited DVD rentals.

Thanks again for your wonderful praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    700
    152
    49
    27
See reviews for
284
1,335
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed here for 10 days. The staff were amazing,so friendly and nothing was too difficult for them if you asked. We had a sea view room and the bed was amazing, the room size was great and was very, very clean. We were a little messy but each day came back to a very tidy clean room. I loved the shutters over the widows, so the sun didn't come in too early. The pod coffee machines in the room was great if you drink coffee, I only had tea but the staff would heat up water for me every afternoon, thanks so much. We did have a couple of rainy afternoons but umbrellas were supplied in your rooms, wonderful. Thanks to Char who worked in the cocktail bar and looked after us every night, she was very friendly and made great cocktails. The breakfast was great but some cereal would have been even better as we don't tend to eat a lot of pastries and muffins for breakfast even though they were delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel, not in the middle of all the noise and traffic, thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Aloha Carol M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Renew by Aston. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location just steps away from the ocean, as well as our modern, clean accommodating rooms and daily continental breakfast. Your positive interaction with each of our team members is a testament to how much we truly enjoy going above and beyond to provide exceptional service. Your kind comments will be shared with Char as well as the entire management team and staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back in the near future.

Mahalo,

G. Razon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschau Im Chiemgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I did not want to stay in Waikiki, however there are not many other, payable options on this wonderful, in my opinion under-estimated island of Oahu. This hotel looks noble in the rooms and everybody is very, very friendly. This time our room had this typical smell of cleaning liquid but they provide you with a collection of room parfumes and the window could be opened. During happy hour they serve very well done cocktails and we really enjoyed our 4-day stay. Only small disappointment is the breakfast - it's okay and especially the fresh juice really is nice but everyday the same sweet pastry is a bit boring. We ended up going out for a real breakfast. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel - it is modern and the location is the best you can have in Waikiki, even with free parking nearby-

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanauma-bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Aloha Hanauma-bay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with the Trip Advisor community. It’s wonderful that you were able to embrace our great location on the quieter side of Waikiki as well as our modern and accommodating rooms. The daily continental breakfast and aroma concierge are a few of the great amenities that we enjoy offering our guests as part of Club Renew. We are delighted to learn that you also enjoyed the cocktails served during happy hour at our Lounge Renew.

Once again, we appreciate your time and consideration. We wish you the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Mahalo,

G. Razon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 9 night stay at Hotel Renew with our 19 month old son. We had an amazing time at the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and are willing to go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and have everything you need. We requested a room change after our first night and Angie was great in helping us out. All the staff, from Angie to Rena and Grace, all the doormenm, and Keikalani who was there at breakfast took great care of us throughout our stay.

The hotel is right next door to the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel and just steps away from the beach. Beach towels, chairs and mats are available at the front desk daily. We went over to the Marriott across the street to use the pool which was great. We also visited the activities desk at the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel as this is the sister property to book a tour to the North Shore.

The rooms are decorated well and are comfortable. Rooms were cleaned well daily. Everything we needed, the staff at the hotel were there to help - from directions to storing frozen veggies and heating them up for our son. We requested a late check out as we had an evening flight and again Angie was able to help us out!

We would definitely come back and stay here again! Thank you for making our 9 nights such a great experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Familytravels V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Mixing business and pleasure has its challenges and the front desk staff and valets made it a smooth experience as I switched between selling textbooks and caring for my 6 month old baby for 9 days. City View Room was average size, but efficient to accommodate 2 huge suitcases, random bags, stroller, car seat, etc. on built in benches plus shelves in bathroom made it easy to store toiletries. I totally recommend this hotel for a break from 600 plus room hotels where you are just a number. At Hotel Renew they know your name and greet you with a smile. :)

Room Tip: If you can spring the difference ocean view rooms looked phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilinginSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent location, excellent service by staff, very pleasant room, even beach towels and chairs for the beach are provided. Breakfast was included, fresh fruit, tea and coffee, and some very sweet bread choices. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just stayed 7 nights at the Hotel Renew. I booked through Agoda based on the price and other reviews I had read.

We stayed on the 5th floor, a double room ocean view. We arrived at the hotel at 8am fresh off a flight from Sydney. Our room wasn't going to be ready until 2, which was fine anyway.

It was a small room but a good size for the two of us and we really didn't spend much time in it anyway. We did have to pay the $25 amenities fee for daily use of wi-fi, gym, pool and beach towels and chairs. Oh and breakfast but we didn't try it.

The pool and gym is across the road at The Marriott, it was great! It really didn't bother us that it wasn't at our hotel. It's about a 100m stroll to Waikiki beach, perfect location. The staff have been amazing, very friendly and helpful.

The only negative thing I have to say about staying here is the noise from the street was quite loud at times but nothing that bothered us to much.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and we will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Aloha Sammi14,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of your recent holiday here at Hotel Renew by Aston. It seems that your time spent with us was filled with great memories and an overall positive experience! It is truly a joy to receive such glowing remarks from our past guests. In addition to our fabulous location and service-oriented staff, I’m thrilled that you and your partner were able to enjoy some of the many amenities that we have to offer. Our package is quite comprehensive and includes such perks as in-room WiFi and safe, fresh continental breakfast each morning, use of resort pools, fitness center and Jacuzzi, unlimited DVD rentals, mobile concierge, and our signature aroma concierge among other things. All in all we hope this made for an amazing and unforgettable experience along the shore of beautiful Waikiki Beach.

On behalf of all of us here at Hotel Renew by Aston, I’d like to say “mahalo” and “aloha!”

A hui hou kakou! (until we meet again!)

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,324 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,434 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing