We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really boutiqueish, but still good.”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

At check in there's a bit of a rigamarole about giving you a glass of pineapple juice and a scented oil of your choice for your room. It's a nice idea, but not really carried off with panache.

The room is fine; we had a balcony from which we could see the beach. We were able to sit out on it and have wine in the afternoon, that was nice.

Very close to Waikiki beach, and they happily loan beach chairs, towels, mats. A very short walk to all the the touristy stuff. I also walked about 15 minutes to the Rainbow Dinner to get a plate lunch - which is the meal of choice for President Obama when he visits town, apparently.

A guy was stabbed on the street about three buildings down one night while we were there. In front of the Hale liu, if you'd like to take a look.

For the location the price was pretty good, and the staff was eager to please. I'd stay there again if I went back to Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Aloha Gifster,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Hotel Renew by Aston. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our premier location in the heart of Waikiki, our inclusive beach amenities, and most importantly our eager and service-oriented team members. Of course it’s wonderful to hear you were able to follow in the footsteps of President Obama, as many of us locals often do! Here at Hotel Renew by Aston, we strive to create a relaxed and welcoming oasis within the entertainment and action that Waikiki has to offer, and it seems we were able to do just that. Again, “Mahalo” for your endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Angeli F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Renew
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

I really want to give the Hotel Renew my highest endorsement. So very many things to appreciate. The decor, apparently recently redecorated, is very clean and modern, very zen. The staff are uniformly wonderful and helpful, pleasant and accommodating. There is an adequate if not plentiful breakfast bar and the wifi is free.

But there were a few things that I'd characterize as warts. The card key system didn't work reliably. There were signs of slipshod construction and maintenance. The sliders in our shower kept sliding open. The faucet over the sink and tub were loose. And there were a number of charges - a bottle of water here, a coffee there - that were an unexpected irritation.

These things may be to be expected given how expensive it must be to do business in Waikiki but, as I say, irritations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PKYLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a OLD hotel, and desperately in need of renovation. It charges a resort fee (U$25/day) but is NOT a resort. The justification for the fee is the access to pool, gym and jacuzzi across the street at a not so good Marriott -- a joke really. The AC equipment is old and very, very noisy. We had ours changed after the first night an just lived with the other for the rest of the stay. I read this complain at Tryp Advisor and wished I had believed it. The corridors are so ugly and dark that makes you wonder who thinks a guest would like to come back...The coffee break area is small and inadequate; the fruits fall short in quality and the way they are prepared. The rooms are well designed and of good size, but poorly lighted and NOISY (at least at forth floor). We spent the first leg of the trip in a near by hotel at the same price range that was FAR superior. I would NOT recommend this Hotel to friends, acquaintances or anyone really....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Aloha eehotel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Renew by Aston. We always welcome guest feedback, as is it primarily by this means that we are able to continually improve our services. Situated within the less crowded area of Waikiki, Hotel Renew by Aston is an intimate boutique property that boasts a fantastic location and highly sophisticated rooms for the discerning traveler. We completed an extensive remodel in 2008, and have since become an industry leader in guest service and satisfaction here in Hawaii.

For the comfort and convenience of our valued guests, we do in fact offer a comprehensive amenity package that most find to be quite generous and appealing. In addition to accessing the two pools, fitness center and Jacuzzi of the neighboring Marriott resort, our guests also enjoy wifi throughout the hotel, a continental breakfast with fresh local fruits and pastries each morning, unlimited movies and PS3 games, in-room Keurig coffee machines, use of beach gear and iDapt charger/docking station, access to our mobile concierge app and Aroma concierge by Alora Ambiance.

We sincerely apologize for the challenges with your AC unit and have asked our Engineering Department to follow up.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Hotel Renew by Aston. We hope to welcome you back in the future so that we can provide you with a most fulfilling experience.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I think Hotel Renew has a great concept: a quiet boutique hotel where you can escape from the noise and crowds of Waikiki Beach. A great contrast to the hyped-up tourist experience of the Aston Hotel next door, for example.

We found the lobby to calm and inviting. The hotel is decorated in dark wood and grey tones which lend an air of serenity. There is a beautiful over-flowing fountain in the lobby next to the breakfast area. You'll even find aromatherapy choices for your room. We especially liked the heavy 'shoji screen' window treatment which are much superior to drapes in blocking out the ambient light

Then you discover that things don't quite work as intended. The wireless temp control on the wall is non-functional and you have to extract the wooden cover of the A/C unit to get access to the controls. The in-room A/C unit rattles every time the compressor kicks in, otherwise, it sounds like a hamster on a treadmill. The desk chair is impossibly low which makes you feel like 2nd grader at your Dad's office. The lobby is perpetually out of umbrellas for guests. The door man's suggestion of 'buying a poncho at the ABC store" was not particularly helpful. The lighting controls are excessively complicated. There are nine green LEDs beneath the desk which blink like the runway approach at Honolulu International airport. Finally, the handle fell off the faucet in our bathroom.

I can recommend Hotel Renew only if you get a great price and if you are just staying a couple of days in Honolulu. This should not be your vacation destination.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Aloha DoctorM,

I would like to offer a sincere “mahalo” for you taking the time to review our property, Hotel Renew by Aston. We are thrilled to receive your praise, and humbly welcome the constructive suggestions that you have offered. Everything we do here does indeed lend itself to the creation of a serene oasis nestled amidst the active tourist landscape that lies just outside the doors of our intimate, boutique property. The subtle touches such as shoji screens, mood lighting, Alora Ambiance therapy oils, as well as our signature overflow fountain really add to the overall experience we seek to offer our valued guests.

In addressing your concerns, I do wish we would have been notified at the time of your stay, as we would have done everything possible to rectify the situation. For instance, the in-room desk chair is adjustable in height, and our eager maintenance team would have been happy to assist with the AC. You will also be glad to know that we are in the process of updating our AC units in response to comments from past guests such as yourself.

Once again DoctorM, we sincerely appreciate your time and will certainly use your suggestions for the improvement of Hotel Renew by Aston. Please contact us should your travels once again lead you to the beautiful island of Oahu, as we would love to welcome you back.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days for our honeymoon. The room was nice and a good price. It's so close to the beach and what I think is the better end, less busy. The staff are so friendly and we loved the cocktail happy hour at the bar. The bar staff Kacey and Char really were great, giving us tips on what to do from a local's perspective as well as being so friendly. The pineapple juice and face cloth when you arrived are nice touches. If you want to stay in a modern looking place, which is clean but not too expensive, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This boutique style hotel was originally I believe a Holiday Inn but has been taken over by Aston and renovated to such a point that it looks like a new property.

The rooms appeared brand new and were decorated more in a style one would expect from a European hotel. There were no balconies in most of the rooms but a large picture window overlooked Waikiki Beach, less than half a block away. This is a moderately priced hotel offering excellent value and is a real favourite amongst Australians.

We were warmly greeted on arrival and offered an ice cold pineapple drink. This is basically a no frills hotel but very comfortable and staff were most willing to please.

Complimentary daily newspapers were available in the foyer as was cold lemon water.

Each morning a complimentary continental style breakfast was available in the foyer with a limited number of tables and chairs, with most guests taking their coffee, fresh cut fruit and Danish up to their rooms.

Bathrooms were a good size with a selection of toiletries.

Literally two minutes walk to the sands of Waikiki and many restaurants, this hotel was well positioned. Next door to its big brother, the Aston Waikiki Beach Tower.

A big plus was a key card giving access to the poolside and gym facilities of the large Marriott Hotel opposite.

A trolley stop is virtually right outside, taking one to the shopping haven of the Ala Moana Shopping Centre, a twenty minute trolley ride away.

The hotel is situated at the end of the Waikiki strip, towards the Diamond Head end.

There was very little to find wrong with this property except their lack of reading lamps by the bed. The rooms were not large but more than adequate for a short stay, or for those just wanting to enjoy the delights of the Waikiki area. The bar fridge was a welcome addition as was the pod coffee maker.

All Hawaiian hotels seem to have added a new tax, called an Amenity Tax, around $15 per night. This usually includes free internet, which somehow does not seem free when you are paying an Amenity Tax.

For those that have not been to Waikiki before, there are a plethora of convenience stores called ABC selling everything one could possibly want from beach wear to beverages, both alcoholic and soft and every kind of high quality snack food from sandwiches to fresh fruit. One of these stores is situated virtually next door and most people pop in every day.

One room item that impressed me greatly was perhaps the biggest wide screen TV I have ever encountered in a hotel. The picture quality was exceptional and it brought back memories of sitting in the front row of the drive-in movies (for those readers old enough to remember same). 1 minute walk to Waikiki and great value.129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu - Phone: 808 687 7700

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have spent just one night here and I'm somewhat hesitant. Location is perfect, just few meters to Waikiki with all it offers. We had a little bit problem finding it, it's adjacent to Aston beach hotel and when you drive it's easy to miss. Just stop after the sign Hotel renew valet parking AT the corner and you will be just at the entrance. Hotel staff was superb, nice and very helpful. We had Urban View King room, second floor. Room was nice and tidy. We had some minor issues with AC remote control, but was able to solve it with little help from front desk. I really liked the bed, but there were so many noises at night from traffic and supply cars we did not sleep well. Overall it's a good tip, try it.

Room Tip: Better ask for room facing front street, not noisy yard for a good sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,430 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,452 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $201 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing