We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real boutique hotel and charming”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved this place. Unlike a lot of other places that label itself as a boutique hotel and end up being a circus and long queues and crowds a the lobby and elevator, this place was really indeed a boutique. As such, it was quite relaxing even though we were there during the peak of holidays during New years and Christmas. The lobby was quite busy during the complimentary breakfast near the end of the service, but besides that you could easily ask a question or get help from the front desk without waiting. Additionally, the valet parking was awesome. It was SO fast cause the guy is always out there and it's just up the ramp for him to pick up. At other hotels, you'd be waiting for at least 10-15 minutes. Elevators were fast, internet was included and had no problems either.

The rooms were very clean and modern and very quiet; no problems with hearing traffic or drunk people outside and slept well. The only bad thing is I don't think there is much of an option for a view. We had an ocean view the first night, and it was just not worth it. Don't even bother and save by getting the city view.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Peachtreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 2,299 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 1PM on a Sunday and our room was immediately ready. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff who gave us a brief tour of the lobby (very small) and then we were directed to our room (309). This particular room had a partial view of the ocean, but when we first arrived it had a very weird smell to it, I can't even describe it! When we let the front desk know about this, they immediately sent up some essential oils which corrected the smell within minutes. The room overall was very modern with nice finishes. Breakfast was limitet with some pastries, tea, coffee and juice. Valet is $25 per day and no self park options are offered (as expected in Waikiki). My only complaint is the noise level from that particular room. Since we were on the 3rd floor, we could hear all the delivery trucks and the bikes and all the party people making their way back at night. We had to use earplugs the entire stay. We never addressed the issue since moving rooms while on vacation sucks, but I am confident that the staff definetely would have fixed the problem.
The room ended up costing us about $260 per night (booked directly with the hotel website) and thats including the resort fee and parking. Trust me, this is cheap for Waikiki. Also a nice benefit was that we were able to use the pools at the Marriot across the street.
Overall, my only advise would be to request a room on a higher floor (if possible). I absolutely loved this hotel and will most definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: my only advise would be to request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaMaria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We wanted to stay on Waikiki so this hotel was great located right next to the beach.
We had to pay 25 dollars a day and for that you got breakfast and access to pool and fitness center at the hotel right next door.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and ++ to the cleaning lady.
One of the highlights with the stay on renew was meeting the bartender Kaci who we befriended, she also gave us a lot of helpful tips on what to do and some nice restaurants that we should visit.

Thank you Kaci and the rest of the staff for a lovely week!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked three nights with an ocean view with the Renew Reengage package. We were greeted warmly by the front desk when we arrived and the staff took up our bags up while giving us pineapple juice and cool lemon towel. We asked for dinner ideas and they helped us find some great options. We were given a room on the 8th floor with a nice view to the ocean. Upon arrival we were given a plate of cheese and crackers instead of the bottle of champagne included in the package which was a little disappointing because I will looking forward to sharing that with my husband.

The room had great finishes, furniture, and we loved the lighting control options programed in the room. We thought that while the room was a bit on the small side, we loved that it was a boutique hotel that had been refinished. The king bed was very comfortable. We loved the way you could completely cover the window in the room with built-in panels. We loved the view. The TV in the room was huge and the playstation was a nice touch. The most unfortunate thing about our stay was that the hotel sits squarely between two other hotels and for some reason the neighboring hotel serves breakfast with live music at the pool area just in front of the hotel. We started hearing music at 7am each morning. We also noticed that the cleaning staff started very early in the morning; we would have preferred the start after 9am or 10am; that said, they did a great job each day cleaning the room.

We loved the free movie rentals, the downstairs bar (with great drinks and prices), the breakfast bar in the morning, the local newspapers, and we loved the beach chairs and towels. The hotel is steps away from the beautiful beach and lots of great restaurants. We didn't get a chance to use the pool provided at the neighboring hotel.

This hotel is at the edge of Waikiki beach near diamond head park. We took the public bus to Pearl Harbor and the ride took about an hour and a half to get to our destination. All bus rides are $3 per person per day and you can use it to go to any area, however, it may take a long time to get there. We opted for a personal tour company when going to Hanauma Bay. (Bring exact cash for the bus tickets.)

Overall, we loved this hotel choice and thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

hotel renew made a great first impression. the front desk staff and all the people at the concierge desk were very friendly and helpful. pineapple juice and a cold towel offered on arrival, and a very speedy check in process.
the room was nice but a bit dark because theres only 1 window. bed was comfy and modern decor. the bathroom was pretty dated. bathtub with an older shower head and shower curtain. at first use of the sink, we discovered we had a leak. as soon as we told the front desk, it was fixed while we were out.
our tv remote power button didn't work, and was unable to be fixed. not a big deal obviously, but annoying.
my main complaint would be about the noise levels both inside the hotel corridors and from outside. our room was on the 3rd level, facing the side street where hotels and motorcycle rental places are. as early as 7am every morning, there was trucks reversing and accelerating, motorcycles revving their engines as they left and music coming in from the hostel next door.
also the cleaners seemed to start very early, knocking on doors, vacuuming in the corridors. it was very loud and very early.
but location was great, staff very friendly and hotel was very clean so all in all it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtan132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with my wife and youngest son. Came to Waikiki to get married and the management and staff gave my wife a complimentary bottle of champagne for her and the bridesmaids, whilst getting ready for our Magic Island beach wedding. Nothing was ever a problem, very helpful staff. They even tried to get my phone charger returned to me, which I left in Maui.
I would not hesitate to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor first 5 days, Ocean view, OK but a little noisy being closer to street level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crisanta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really like our stay at hotel renew. The staff were very friendly-they even delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary. The room is nice and modern with a very comfy bed. The location was perfect, a block from beach and in the middle of all the action. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormiestemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,616 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,165 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,543 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $181 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing