We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality hotel at a reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quality hotel at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel Renew in Honolulu and consider it a top notch little boutique hotel. We stayed in a king room on the ninth floor - very nice room with a great bed and wonderful view of Waikiki Beach. The only thing we missed having was a balcony, but for the money, it's definitely the best deal on Waikiki. Within walking distance of everything on Waikiki and a short walk to the bus stop and busses that can take you anywhere you want to go. The Hotel Renew also offered a quality breakfast with our room and took care of all our beach needs, i.e. towels, chairs, mats, etc. The staff and services were first-rate, and there were no surprises at checkout. We would stay there again if we ever make it back to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the top floors facing the beach have a stunning view, just like the photo on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    644
    140
    45
    22
See reviews for
262
1,245
137
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful and lovely stay at Renew Hotel. The breakfast was greatly appreciated, as well as the loan of beach towels, chairs and body board.
The hotel staff is really nice, especially Angie and Paul who did everything they could to make our stay even more enjoyable.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alirondoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

With a limited number of rooms, this hotel provides a more personal touch than the huge sleeping factories of Waikiki.
The staff is pleasant and efficient; reception, Valet, housekeeping... everyone smiles at you and is always ready to help.
Nice touches such as free breakfast and DVD rentals set it aside from the standard tourist fare around.
Our room on the top floor was very comfortable and quiet (as can be in Waikiki).
Good bedding added to our satisfaction.
The pool is located across the street - we didn't use it, why would you when the sea is around the corner?
If you like to be away from the hordes, yet less than 2minutes walk from the beach, I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Be as high as possible, on the small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here and would recommend it. Whereas much of the accommodation in Honolulu looks tired, this hotel lives up to it's renew title. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. We were fortunate to score a room on the top floor with a view over Waikiki beach which was about a 200 metre stroll and the staff were happy to provide towels and chairs to visit the beach. The trolley buses come past the front door to take you further afield. Breakfast was a simple affair but perfectly adequate, there is iced water available all day also, or you can buy a coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahWyndhamVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha DeborahWyndhamVale,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at Hotel Renew by Aston. It’s always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and an honor to receive such a glowing endorsement. I’m glad that you enjoyed our premier location, which is just a few steps away from public transportation, and a short stroll to the beautiful waters of Waikiki Beach. Daily continental breakfast and in-room Keurig coffee machines are indeed amenities that we enjoy offering to our guests as part of “Club Renew”. I’m thrilled that the Renew Experience lived up to your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I chose to stay at hotel Renew because of its simple, stylish, and gay friendly setting. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised that it was all of these things and more. I was greeted with fresh pineapple juice and cold lemon-scented towels. My room was beautiful and everything I payed for (I booked the ocean king room). Monica the bartender was Amazing and provided not only great drinks but great insight to the island and made suggestions on where to go. We were given complimentary towels and mats for the beach. The hotel was cozy and quiet it felt private almost. Overall 5 star service. Special thanks to Monica, Paul and the whole Renew staff for making my trip to Hawaii AMAZING. Only issue is the $25 per day valet parking is a bit much but there are other cheaper parking options close by.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcl7bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha mcl7bn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It sounds like Hotel Renew by Aston was the perfect choice considering the characteristics you desire in a hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the cold, refreshing island welcome upon arrival, as well as the simplistic and modern style personality that our property possesses. We encourage all of our team members to rise above and beyond guest expectations, and certainly Paul and Monica are two of the best.

We look forward to your consideration in the future, and wish you the best until we meet again.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We loved our recent stay at Hotel Renew. When you arrive at Waikiki the first thing you notice are the huge hotels all over the place. It is so nice to arrive at Hotel Renew, with its 9 floors of 8 rooms each.
The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We spent about half an hour with Grace on the front desk, discussing and booking things to do. KC, at the bar, had loads of ideas for us too (and some very nice cocktails) - a pleasure to talk to!
We were in room 706, we could see the beach from our window and Diamond Head crater from our balcony. Yeah, there was lots of noise from the bars etc but we were so tired from all the activities that it didn't bother us. Plus, the bed was super comfy - nothing would have stopped us sleeping in that!
Breakfast was more than enough for us - I can't understand why people moan so much about this!

We didn't pay the amenity fee because we booked our room before that was introduced (I guess that Aston introduced it) and we questioned it. I agree that $15 per day sounds like a lot.

We have stayed in resorts elsewhere where we have had a longer walk to the beach than we had at Hotel Renew. The location is perfect.

If Hawaii were a bit closer to the UK we would definitely return to Hotel Renew!

Room Tip: 706 - huge bed, sea view and a balcony! I guess that 806 and 906 are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatdoyouknowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha Whatdoyouknowjo!

Thank you for offering such a complete and insightful review of our property. At Hotel Renew by Aston we take great pride in providing the best service possible. We view every arriving guest as a future friend, and it is with that hope in mind that we approach our duties each day. Grace and Kasi will be thrilled to know they had a hand in making your stay so memorable.

It’s wonderful that you were able to embrace our great location which is only a short block off of Waikiki Beach. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our luxurious bedding and signature amenities. We are happy that Hotel Renew by Aston is regarded as the ideal hideaway for travelers seeking a serene and modern escape from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

If ever your journey leads you back to the islands, we look forward to welcoming you home!

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were greeting pleasantly with a congratulations and a bottle of chilled white wine in our beautiful room.

The room was a decent size, with a very comfortable bed and nice linens. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we loved the location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello Kelly K!

Thank you for the kind review of our boutique property. It means a lot that you chose us as your island host for such a special occasion. Here at Hotel Renew by Aston, we strive to provide a memorable experience in an intimate setting. We are honored to receive your compliments about our bedding, amenities, location and especially our employees. Thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you!

Mahalo,

Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing