We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service!”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great service!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a blast here. The rooms were nice, the location was just a couple minute walk from Waikiki beach, and the staff was helpful. Best part of the hotel was actually KC, the bartender. She pours a good drink, is super friendly, and we chatted a long while as my friends and I sipped some wonderful drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayTOOLfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha gayTOOLfan!

Thank you many times over for your energetic and glowing endorsement! We’re thrilled to hear you had a blast at the bar with KC (Kasi), as well on the sands of Waikiki Beach just a half block away from the serene atmosphere of Hotel Renew by Aston. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to creating more memories with you in the future.

Mahalo,

Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    700
    152
    49
    27
See reviews for
284
1,337
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to Hawaii on recommendation of friends and family and could not decide on a hotel as there are so many. Not being a lover of great big hotels we came across Hotel Renew! What a find. two minutes from the fantastic Waikiki beach and a lovely short walk to the heart of Waikiki itself. The most amazing hotel ever, friendliest staff always willing to help, booking last minute trips and printing out the receipts for us too. The amazing room was so clean and beautiful, so much so that we often missed breakfast to stay in the super comfy bed!!!
The breakfast was great (when we made it down!), nice pastries, great juice and beautiful fresh fruit, just enough to get you started and wonderfully fresh.
The whole stay was just fantastic and we WILL be back as there is still so much to see and do!
Thanks you to everyone at the Hotel Renew, we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you want ocean views (which didn't bother us) ask for higher floor l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinziminzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha Jinziminzi,

Wow, what can I say? First of all, thank you! We are truly humbled to receive such high praise. As you discovered, Hotel Renew by Aston is a small boutique property at the quieter end of Waikiki Beach. Step inside and you are whisked away to a tranquil oasis amidst the buzz of the surrounding excitement. Each and every one of our helpful team member strives to foster this environment of rejuvenation for the comfort of our discerning guests. Pair this with our signature offerings such as beautifully designed rooms and fresh continental breakfast each morning, and you have what many of our guests refer to as the Renew Experience.

Please accept our most sincere thanks for taking the time to share your story. We look forward to welcoming you back for round 2!

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here during our recent 2 night visit to Oahu following 8 relaxing days in Kauai. Our visit to Hotel Renew lived up to the reviews and we had a great time. Yes, the hotel is not ocean front and does not have a pool. The city view rooms look out onto a hostel where people sit on the balcony a lot so if a view is important then you should get a ocean view room. The view from our room was incredible.

The room was very retro modern and beautiful. All the lighting, bedding, fixtures and furniture was updated and very modern. The room was on the small side, but we knew that going in. However, there is a large closet and bench for suitcases. The lobby is beautiful and relaxing. I never heard any noise from any other room and the hotel was full that weekend, so the rooms must be very sound proof.

The location was perfect for us, it is on the quiet side of Wakikki, but close to everything. The hotel gives complimentary beach chairs and boggie boards which was a great perk. Also, we really enjoyed the breakfast of pastries, croissants, bagels, fruit and ham/cheese rollups. No, it's not a hot breakfast, but we knew that going in. My kids are still talking about the croissants at the hotel.

But what set the hotel apart for us was the service we received. The bellhop was probably the most helpful person we have encountered in 20 years of traveling. He was so responsive, friendly and knowledgeable. Every staff member was very nice and went out of their way. Our air conditioner broke on the first night and the maintenance was in our room four minutes after we called. They actually replaced our entire until while we were at dinner.

Note that they use an air freshener in the air condition units that gives off a strong smell and was bothering my asthma. When I mentioned this, they removed the scent and recleaned the room. If you have having breathing issues, ask them to take the air freshener out.

For those looking for a modern and trendy feeling hotel, I highly recommend Hotel Renew.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha jenniferg72,

Thank you for the extremely thorough and candid review of your recent stay here at Hotel Renew by Aston. I am happy we lived up to the expectations you held prior to your arrival. Here at Renew, we strive to provide top-notch service to every guest that walks through our doors. I’ve shared your kind words with our bell and maintenance staff, and all have asked that I express their appreciation for you taking the time to write a review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed all of the many small things that make Renew such a unique experience. From the bedside lighting controls and fabulous ocean view, to the assortment of beach amenities and fresh breakfast to get you started each morning, every touch is designed with our guests in mind.

We are honored to be in a position to share in the rich memories of your family vacation here along the shores of picturesque Waikiki Beach. We realize there are many options when it comes to hotels in Honolulu, so to be chosen by you really means a lot to us. Until we meet again, best wishes and much aloha.

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a nice boutique hotel that has very pleasant service and pleasant rooms (though a touch on the dark side with their decor) but you want to be on the 5th floor or higher. And you have to be on the right side of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're in the rooms ending in -05 or -06 you have the catering supplies trucks banging in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_VTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha Pete_VTauranga,

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Hotel Renew by Aston.
Your honest feedback is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and accommodating team members. As you noted, we do offer lovely ocean views on the 5th-9th floors, and are well-positioned between the surrounding properties to take in the full glory of the beautiful Pacific. If your future travel plans include returning to Waikiki, please reach out to us. We would be honored to host you again and ensure that you are able to enjoy our ocean views from the property.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Wakiki is overcrowded with homeless and tourist, but hotel renew is probably in the best spot on wakiki. Tucked away yet a short walk to the beach. My stay was pleasant, friendly staff even recommended a cheaper parking than their own a short walk away. Clean room, ac worked great. My one abd inly complaint wiuld be the amenities fee upon check in. $15 a day to use another hotel's pool, should be able to opt out, I mean who uses a pool in hawaii? Other than thst great place...in wakiki.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoBrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello HugoBrutus,

Thanks for your positive assessment and recommendation of Hotel Renew by Aston. Being in the midst of a bustling, urban seaside area can certainly prove to be exciting at times. That is of course what makes Renew so desirable; the strategic location just a short walk from the heart of it all, yet seemingly a world away. Additionally, I’d like to clarify that the daily amenity fee also includes daily continental breakfast, wireless internet, an in-room Keurig coffee machine, unlimited DVD rentals, as well as a host of other conveniences.

Once again, we thank you for your honest feedback and review. We look forward to creating another memorable experience with you in the future.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was a very pleasant experience. It's very central, good price, very clean and comfortable and the staff are very polite. As soon as we arrived they offered an amazing pineapple juice and whenever we went to the beach they offered towels.

We were celebrating our 7th anniversary and they were very kind to send us a bottle of champagne.

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha Talita. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 7th anniversary with Hotel Renew by Aston. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your thoughtful words and we’d love to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location was excellent, as you are only a few mintues away from the beach and shops. The staff were friendly and very accomodating. My room was clean and spacious. The bathroom came with complimentary shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. Fresh towels were supplied daily. Continential breakfast consisted of croissants, pastries and coffee. This is a boutique hotel, so there is no pool or fancy dining areas. The bed was very comfy. I had no issues with noise from outside. Renovations were being done outside, but only during the day when I was out.They ceased in the evening. At night I was not disturbed by any noise at all. I have no complaints and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha Candace. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Renew by Aston. We appreciate and welcome your kind words. While there is no pool on property, we offer our guests convenient access to a full-service fitness facility and two resort pools nearby, and there are numerous casual and fine dining restaurants located just steps away. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing