We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel in Waikiki;”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu,HI
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel in Waikiki;”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great value, location, rooms! Plus a wonderful continental breakfast is included in the bar area!!! Very intimate and quiet and away from the roar of the nightlife which is an easy stroll away; in the center of Waikiki; a block away from the beach; on a quiet side street!!!

Room Tip: off of street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hokua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    703
    152
    50
    28
See reviews for
284
1,341
148
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 3 nights, and the hotel was very nice, although it seems like not much from the outside. This is not a luxery hotel, but it is a good value for money. The staff at the reception and Adam the cute bell boy were super friendly. They have valet parking for 25$ a day, and There is a complimentry breakfast, but expect too much-coffee, juice and some crousnt.
The hotel gives beach mats and towels for free.
Its right near the beach, excellent place!
The rooms are very nice, clean, and bed was large, but not enogh light near the closet and room mirror.

Helpful?
1 Thank OfirA503
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Syracuse, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We checked-in with a very courteous staff, a juice refresher and warm towel. Very friendly and helpful staff, very nice reasonable complimentary continental breakfast. One big pro for me was a mini-fridge for our use - no mini bar. It's not recommended for perishables, because its not really cold, but they note that fact too. That came in handy for buying water, soda and beer - which is available in the 3 'ABC' convenience stores within a block of the hotel. It's in a decent location depending on where you want to be. It's within a 10 min bus ride to Diamond head or a 45 min bus ride to Pearl Harbor. Any of these buses can be reached 1/2 block away. Tour buses and courtesy vans pick-up and drop-off yards away from the hotel entrance. It's 1/2 block away from the Waikiki beach, but personally speaking not the best part of the beach. It is a nice spot to see a great sunset. The room had free wi-fi and cat5 outlets, but I had to have the front desk confirm that because the internet provider listed they could demand fees aside from the hotel in their login terms, but the staff assured me it was totally free. Free toll-free and local phone service, which was nice to confirm dinner/tour reservations. The room had plenty of outlets, which was handy for us. There was a nice size room safe, wide enough for a laptop. Clean room and comfortable bed. There was light dust on top of picture frames and bathroom upper shelves, but that personally doesn't bother me, because unless you're looking for it you would say it's a very clean room (I guess I watch too much Travel Channel's Hotel Impossible). Now... while I would stay here in a flash because of the above mentioned great things and the value, there were things I personally wasn't wild about. The room was kinda dark. So much indirect lighting with dark furniture and dark stained wall accessories. The only chair in the room to watch TV was not comfortable at all. The bathroom had what I guess is called jalousies window, which is a glass shutter type of window. It let in A LOT of alley noise. We had to close the bathroom door to dampen the noise. The room's A/C I think was linked to our physical presence in the room. The room seemed warm when we get in, but seemed to cool down shortly thereafter. I was also surprised there wasn't a bottle opener since you could store drinks in the room...maybe it was somewhere, but I couldn't find one. All in all we liked this hotel very much and would stay there again. When planning your trip budget, be sure to note that there's a 4.712% sales tax and 9.25% accommodation tax too.

Room Tip: Have your own bottle opener/corkscrew handy or buy one at the ABC stores nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

TripAdvisor is always our source for choosing a hotel to stay in whenever my wife and I vacation. These reviews provide opinions from a variety of people with differing views. Choosing a hotel at a reasonable price with a high percentage of excellent reviews has never proven to result in an unfavorable result. In Honolulu we choose the Hotel Renew. It is a block from a Waikiki beach. The hotel provides basic needs for the beach, towels and mats. It has a free continental breakfast. We found the front desk always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and maid service daily provided excellent service. The area has many restaurants at varying levels within walking distance and walking is completely safe. If you are looking for a clean hotel with good basic service at a reasonable price this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAH42881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at two hotels in Honolulu. This was definitely the better value. The room was $100 less per night than the other hotel, and was much closer walking distance to Waikiki Beach with a lovely snippet of a view, as well. The rooms were modern and clean. The continental breakfast was typical, but clean. Frankly, I could go on.... The only drawback would be, though we were near the top of the hotel, you could hear the street noise until around midnight or so when things quieted down. With the exception of window replacement, there really isn't much that can be done on this account, and it wasn't so horrible. I managed to rest well. This isn't a resort on the beach, so don't expect that kind of a setting. But it is a lovely little boutique hotel that works hard to meet and exceed all your expectations. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a view toward Waikiki Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UniqueCritique2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this property a lot. We were welcomed with a glass of fresh-squeezed juice and cool washcloths at check-in, and the staff was wonderful. Extremely helpful and attentive.

Lots of beach amenities - chairs, towels, body boards, etc - and a block from the beach make this one a good choice if you want to be right in the middle of everything.

The room was a bit on the small side and the lighting wasn't particularly good, even in the bathroom. Actually, the whole property was pretty dark which was a bit strange. But the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bedding was nice and soft. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway so those things didn't matter much in the grand scheme. Breakfast didn't start until 7am which meant we sometimes missed it (we headed out early most days), and it was limited to tea/coffee and pastries so if you want a more substantial breakfast you'll have to go elsewhere. I appreciated the fact that they had hot water and ice water 24/7.

We were able to get a fantastic price on this room - look online for promo codes before you book - but even without it would have been a good value given the location and in comparison to other nearby hotels. Independent hotels can sometimes be risky since we can't rely on brand recognition, but this was a decent choice. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb and enjoyed our stay. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are very friendly and helpful, which was much appreciated when we needed to arrange transportation to Pearl Harbour when we realised it was some distance away from Waikiki!! We arrived early in the day and were given a room right away, which is worth its weight in gold after a long flight!

Other reviewers have also mentioned the noisy AC and street traffic, which we found to be the case as well. It didn't bother me, but my husband couldn't stand it, so we asked to be moved to another room which the hotel arranged without any problems. The free breakfast was a nice touch and came in very handy!

In all, I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for somewhere nice and clean to stay with friendly service without breaking the bank. The location is great as well.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on a higher floor - our first room on level 3 had noisy AC and lots of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,384 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
490 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing