We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice, very close to the beach”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great choice, very close to the beach”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this property a lot. We were welcomed with a glass of fresh-squeezed juice and cool washcloths at check-in, and the staff was wonderful. Extremely helpful and attentive.

Lots of beach amenities - chairs, towels, body boards, etc - and a block from the beach make this one a good choice if you want to be right in the middle of everything.

The room was a bit on the small side and the lighting wasn't particularly good, even in the bathroom. Actually, the whole property was pretty dark which was a bit strange. But the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bedding was nice and soft. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway so those things didn't matter much in the grand scheme. Breakfast didn't start until 7am which meant we sometimes missed it (we headed out early most days), and it was limited to tea/coffee and pastries so if you want a more substantial breakfast you'll have to go elsewhere. I appreciated the fact that they had hot water and ice water 24/7.

We were able to get a fantastic price on this room - look online for promo codes before you book - but even without it would have been a good value given the location and in comparison to other nearby hotels. Independent hotels can sometimes be risky since we can't rely on brand recognition, but this was a decent choice. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    698
    152
    48
    27
See reviews for
284
1,332
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb and enjoyed our stay. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are very friendly and helpful, which was much appreciated when we needed to arrange transportation to Pearl Harbour when we realised it was some distance away from Waikiki!! We arrived early in the day and were given a room right away, which is worth its weight in gold after a long flight!

Other reviewers have also mentioned the noisy AC and street traffic, which we found to be the case as well. It didn't bother me, but my husband couldn't stand it, so we asked to be moved to another room which the hotel arranged without any problems. The free breakfast was a nice touch and came in very handy!

In all, I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for somewhere nice and clean to stay with friendly service without breaking the bank. The location is great as well.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on a higher floor - our first room on level 3 had noisy AC and lots of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoosieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our six nights were delightful in this stylish alternative to the surrounding mega-hotels. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast pastries were varied, fresh and tasty; the coffee was good and plentiful. A bonus was having beach towels, mats and chairs available on demand. No need for an air conditioner at this time of year; simply open the window to enjoy the soothing tropical breeze.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my parents in an ocean view double-double until 19 Feb 2013. I requested a high room floor and was pleased to know we were on the top floor in 908 with beautiful views of the ocean. The room was a good size and didn’t feel too cramped even between the 3 of us. The large plasma was great and the beds were comfy with the fluffiest quilts I have ever used, heaven! Air Con was a bit noisy but didn't have any problems sleeping with it on.

The bathrooms have been remodelled and made a bit more modern. Good towels/robes/iron/ironing board provided. Little fridge was handy and enough space for our 3 suitcases. Amazing ocean view and good shutters to keep the room very dark when the sun came up.

The pineapple juice and cool towels on arrival was a nice touch. All workers were friendly and reception were so helpful photocopying things for us for no charge and providing towels, beach chairs and a bottle opener for the wine we took up to our room. The iced lemon water/hot water was a bonus in the lobby too.

The night we got there was their special cocktail night so we all got a free cocktail and free cheese/biscuits and salami which was lovely. Other nights they had happy hour $6 cocktails and cheap beer. One night even after the bar was closed a girl named Kasi stayed behind and made us cocktails/served drinks and bar snacks until well after closing time! She was so friendly and gave us a good overview of the island and interesting facts. She is an asset to the hotel and made us feel very welcome!

The free breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice and sweet pastries and muffins. It would be 10000x better if they provided a bit of fruit/cereal or yoghurt instead because the pastries etc. were way too sweet and doughy! Can’t complain for a complimentary service though. The young girl serving there was also lovely too and always having a chat to us. Our room attendants were all VERY friendly and so kind and genuinely interested in talking to us. Rooms were always VERY clean!

ABC store right next door for any supplies needed and a 10-15 min walk to Safeway supermarket up the road (near Leonard’s bakery). Out of the hussle and bussle of Waikiki too.
I will definitely be staying here next time I’m in Waikiki – great value and a nice modern small hotel to stay – less than a minute walk to the beach , right off the ‘main’ avenue. Perfect spot, very impressed.

Pros – free brekkie, free paper, beach towels and chairs provided, small hotel bar, daily housekeeping, good priced rooms, friendly workers, great spot, nice views, FREE Wireless internet, very clean hotel
Only cons- shower didn’t go that hot & a doughy sweet breakfast… but hey, it was free

Room Tip: upgrade to an ocean view, well worth the money. Ask for the 9th floor (top floor) for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent 3 days at Hotel Renew on a stop-over in Honolulu. Good location at the far end of Waikiki. Short walk to the beach and the hotel gives you beach towels, mats and chairs. Rooms are well maintained but the decor is dark. A/C was our biggest complaint. Very old and noisy.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Complimentary continental breakfast is basic but can't fault it. Great coffee including decaf.

If you want to get away from the huge hotels in Waikiki then Hotel Renew is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foulaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Renew for several days prior to a cruise in Feb, 2013. We don't usually stay at boutique hotels but were impressed by the excellent reviews and a reasonable price. The reviews were right on. Convenient location with knowledgeable and helpful staff; the woman at the desk (didn't get a name) was especially helpful. On our last day after checking out, they took care of our bags while we walked around Waikiki; the Marriott across the street was not as accommodating for our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Renew for 3 nights while in Hawaii for a wedding. Every member of the staff that we interacted with was fabulous. The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and took care of any request that we had efficiently. The valet was always very quick with our car which was especially appreciated when we were pressed for time once or twice. We passed the man who was cleaning our room early one afternoon and he asked if it was okay if he went to lunch before cleaning our room...definitely wasn't necessary for him to ask, but gives you an idea of how much the staff wants to ensure that you have a perfect stay.

I normally look for a hotel with more of a restaurant/bar/outside patio in a location like this, but we really barely noticed as there is so much to do so close to the hotel. The location was really great for our purposes.

The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and definitely large enough considering that we were there to be outside enjoying the sunshine. I will agree with other reviewers who mentioned that the room is a little dark as there were times I was digging through clothes looking for a pair of black socks, etc. and found it a little difficult. Definitely wasn't a huge deal, though.

I definitely appreciated the complimentary wireless internet, cold lemon infused water, breakfast (the hotel's website clearly states that includes coffee, tea and choice of pastries so I did not have expectations beyond that as some reviewers had) and beach gear. The valet parking isn't cheap, but we were doing a lot of in and out driving to Diamond Head, snorkeling, North Shore, etc. so for us it was worth it.

I would absolutely recommend Hotel Renew to others traveling to this area of Hawaii.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mau_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,273 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,400 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing