We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing atmosphere, excellent location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, excellent location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights Feb 2 , through feb 5, 2013. Room 906 was very nice. Great view of Waikiki Beach, and view of Diamond head from the balcony.
The room was cleaned daily. We felt like the only people there is was so quiet.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or restaurant, here, but restaurants are next door. Perfect location at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean77705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    689
    151
    47
    26
See reviews for
281
1,315
145
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've had a great time in Oahu and wouldn't have had such a great time if it wasn't for the staff of Hotel Renew! From arrival to departure they were all very helpful. They pointed out good spots to have food; be it lunch, dinner or even some casual drinks. The staff were more than happy to confirm our tours and activities for us, recommend other things for us to do and see and assist us with any queries. The rooms are lovely and serviced daily which was nice. The beds are amazing - the pillows not so much. Hotel Renew is in a good location being a 30 second walk from the beach and an easy walk to great shopping! Kasi - the bar tender- was especially awesome. Not only does she make wicked drinks she helped us locate a shop we didn't know was on Oahu and pointed out places and stuff to do on the second leg of our trip in Maui. You should let Kasi rock her Mohawk , its an extension of her personality and it's pretty and pink. The only negative side of Hotel Renew was the Continental breakfast, there was too many sweet options and not enough savory things. All in all we had a great time at Hotel Renew and would recommend it to family and friends and would stay here again when we return to Oahu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel with helpful and polite staff. The rooms are functional and clean.

The hotel is located at the far end of Waikiki which was fine for us since we liked to be a little off the big buzzle but still be in walking distance to the main strip – and the posh shops on the other end of Waikiki are definitely not our taste.
As already mentioned by other reviewers, the surroundings can get a little noisy during the night or early mornings. We were already jet lagged from our trip and therefore this was not such an issue for us.

The included breakfast is convenient but don't expect much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceansize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved Hotel Renew. They great you at check in with fresh towels to freshen up and lovely pineapple juice. I am craving the juice to this day! I picked the hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor and was very happy with our hotel. The staff was fabulous. They delivered our luggage to our room. We loved our location, right across the road from the beach. Everything was in walking distance. We had a rental car to go to the North Shore and the Polynesian center. The valet parking was nice. I didn't have to worry about the car. In our room rate we were given beach mats and beach chairs. The room was set up well. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. This was a great little boutique hotel, if you are looking for big name this is not for you. I loved it! I look for boutique hotels first, now every time I travel thanks to Hotel Renew. I love the little things, like the lobby bathroom was so modern and unique. We had 2 rooms and they accommodated us and gave us rooms across the hall from each other. The only problem we had was air conditioning in one room not working properly at first called the desk and maintenance was sent to the room in under 5 minutes. There was a little wear on the carpets. The humidity is wreaking havoc, but this was true in another hotel we stayed at as well. Because it is a small hotel there is not a view. The big chain hotels block the view. If I ever get back to Hawaii I will stay at Hotel Renew for my entire visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtrvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This isn't your typical "Hawaii Location" and it's not on the beach.....But what it is, is a great location to get in and out of Oahu without all the traffic, a friendly, helpful staff accompanied by stylish, comfortable rooms. It's a lovely small boutique hotel at the end of the Waikiki Beach. Minutes away from; Ala Wai Golf Curse, University Farmer's Market, Zoo, Diamond Head Crater Park, Leonard's Bakery home of the delicious Malasades and Bailey's Vintage Aloha Shirts!!! Only one very short block from Waikiki Beach and LuLu's is right around the corner, get your Loco Moco on, perfect for after a night out! They have many amenities as well. Go, relax, enjoy being away from the tourist filled hustle & bustle of Waikiki Beach Central.

Room Tip: Higher up and facing Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbarbaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel which is at the park end of Waikiki about 1 minute from the beach but still only a 5/10min walk to the centre of the strip. The hotel had complimentary beach towels and seats available from the front desk which we used regularly - a nice touch. If you want to get The Bus to Honolulu or Diamond Head there are plenty of lines just a short walk up the road but beware they can be very busy.

We booked an ocean view room which was exactly what we got. We could watch the glorious sunset from our room if we were not still on the beach. The room itself was small by US standards but perfectly adequate for two people who were out most of the day. The TV was huge, great to watch the surfing channel on. The bathroom was modern and clean if again a little small. There was a little fridge we could put some drinks in to keep them cool. We slept well.

While there is a complimentary breakfast it was all pastries which won't suit some but there are plenty of options within a short walking distance. I would have liked slightly stronger coffee as well. I had a great Mai Tai in the bar one evening.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would certainly consider staying here again if we are lucky enough to get back to Oah'u.

Room Tip: The Ocean View from the eight floor was great although it also over looks the pool/breakfast area of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Renew for the first two nights of our trip to Oahu at the end of January (we moved to a beach rental on the windward for the remainder.) Prior to our arrival, it was suggested that we consider switching hotels to be a bit closer to the center of Waikiki. I am so glad we didn't heed that advice! The Renew was perfect in every way: price, size, location and service. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. Service was friendly and attentive.

As for some of the negative comments:

-Noise: the street noise was indeed loud. I definitely heard the garbage trucks in the early morning but because of the jetlag coming from NYC, I was already up and didn't mind it. Perhaps, if you are sensitive to noise, you may want to bring ear plugs or consider a different hotel.

- Location: I'm not quite sure what people mean by the "seedy" area of Waikiki Beach. The hotel may be closer to the Burger King than Bvlgari but it is by no means in a less than desirable location. I for one like being a little more removed from the crowds.

- Breakfast: In the US, I never expect breakfast to be included with the daily rate. It was a pleasant surprise that the hotel provided coffee, juice and assorted pastries each morning. Were the pastries delicious? No, but they served a purpose.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Renew. I will take excellent service over a free breakfast any day!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing