We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Only stayed 1 night on the way home to Australia, but I can see why this hotel gets great reviews. They have definitely got great personal services with 5 star touches like cold lemongrass refreshing towels as well as a glass of fresh juice served to you at check in.

Great stylish, spacious rooms, free wifi, and friendly staff. It is a small hotel, which doesn't have that large resort style feel, however it has its own classy style, great modern rooms which isn't easy to find in Waikiki. Great Boutique Hotel in a good location close to the beach.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    684
    151
    47
    25
See reviews for
280
1,308
144
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family. This is a nice hotel for the money. Although the room wasn't really "roomy" (two double bed room), the room was very clean and modern. The hotel offers beach amenities for free to rent (although we didn't use it). The complimentary breakfast consisted of a few pastries, juice, and coffee...so a little slim. The staff is super friendly and offered juice and scented towel to freshen up upon arrival. Parking was $25 a night for valet (no self parking). There's no pool here which is a minus. The location isn't really "central" but close to a few things within walking distance. The location is also a plus since it is away from most of the activity at night (street performers and such). The beach is a block away but at the end where more of the homeless people hang out in Waikiki. There's a crib charge if you need one (I think it was $25 for the stay), but we didn't utilize it even though we could've used one. I would have no problem staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RussRexRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late after a 27 hours journey from Europe and instantly felt very welcome and that our choice had been a good one. The hotel is located a pleasant little distance away from the major Waikiki buzz close to the zoo in the east. However, it is close to a nice beach strip (1 minute) and plenty of shops, 2 abc stores and a number of eating or drinking options. If you stroll a couple of minutes northeast, you enter the less touristic and more 'real' neighbourhood with some interesting eating spots with a more local feel. Our room was nice, clean and well-kept by room service. Being located close to the abc store next door, there was some noise from the delivering traffic in the morning. So, the room wasn't exactly quiet, but quiet enough for a place in the middle of an urban tourist hotspot. We got our sleep whatsoever. Hotel staff was friendly, smiling and helpful. Amenities like free room wi-fi and the lovely little breakfast with a small selection of sweet and salty pastries, muffins, coffee, tea and juice added to the overall pleasant atmosphere of this place. I can recommend this place as one of the preferable Waikiki choices.

Helpful?
3 Thank simon78_says
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I love this place. Corporate travel had booked us elsewhere, a screw-up left us without a room ion a Sunday afternoon. A phone call and a short cab ride later, the smiling faces of the people @ Hotel Renew welcomed us back to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Sea view r rooms have the added attraction of avoiding the early morning wake up from the garbage tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaythfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful weeks at this hotel in 2008 (had to make a new account here..).
First class service, gorgeous rooms and best of all, it's a 30 seconds walk from Waikiki Beach!
The breakfast could be better (I'm used to hotel breakfast being huge), but the fruits, bagels, muffins and juice kept us going until it was lunchtime.
Hotel Renew has a great staff that can help you wiht whatever you need. We borrowed free beachtowels and boogieboards every day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A good hotel within 2 minutes of Waikiki beach. Great friendly staff and location made our stay enjoyable.
The room was nice and cosy and just what we needed for our stay. The views from the room were great, waking up to the ocean every morning.
A special mention to Nohea Pangkee for assisting us with all our questions and making us feel comfortable during our stay.

A great hotel that can fit into anyone's budget and wont disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyMirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Frontdesk was extremely helpful. We had questions, they had answers. They also knew about various trolly routes, public transit, and which one to take depending on our trips. They offered mat and towels for the day, so we idnt even have to buy them from ABC. Yes, an ABC was right next oor.

The complimentary coffee was excellent. Frankly, I was better than the Mona coffee at House without a Key (which we loved the breakfast everyday starting early till 10/10:30am). The pastries were good too. Room was great. Bathroom was clean.

The only drawback: pillows were too soft for me.

Room Tip: We faced the city side and mountains. It was a good view and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing