We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great price, great location, great service but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great price, great location, great service but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

On a lot of levels Hotel Renew does not disappoint. The staff is very polite and helpful, the decor is very clean and modern and the rooms are nice and well designed. The location is perfect; so close to the beach and right beside a major bus-stop area... to say nothing of the close proximity to the Zoo and other delights. The lounge is cute and they pour a decent cocktail and the room they let you stay in after you have checked out while waiting for your flight is a godsend. However, despite what you will read here on Tripadvisor it isn't perfect. Noise comes into the rooms very easily, either from other rooms or from the street. Neither the television nor the AC worked entirely properly during my whole stay but as I could "figure it out" I never complained. There is also a bit of wear and tear to be found in the form of water damage, cracks in the wall and whatnot. Nothing to make you rethink your stay but definately enough so that you do notice it. I would definately recommend this hotel, of course I would, but at the same time it wasn't quite what I was lead to believe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Skilt,
Mahalo for choosing Hotel Renew and thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay to beautiful Oahu.

On one end, I am greatly pleased to read such nice comments about our property and that the staff was accomodating and helpful. Our location is very ideal being just steps away from the sparkling Waikiki Beach and many world class shopping and dining options.

On the other hand, I apologize about the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are constantly in the pursuit of improving our property here and it is with comments such as yours that we can focus on specific areas of the Hotel to enhance guests comfort and relaxation.

In spite of the concerns you had, I sincerely hope your time here on Oahu and at Hotel Renew was a great one. Thank you again for choosing Renew and Happy Holidays to you.

Warmest Aloha,
D.Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    671
    145
    47
    23
See reviews for
274
1,286
140
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I come to Honolulu on business a few times a year and always stay here. Love the boutique NYC hotel feel and the friendly staff. Jackie (sometimes behind the small lobby bar and sometimes at check in) is always so charming and makes me laugh.
The rooms are hip and there's not an ounce of Waikiki cheese, thank gawd!
Always sleep well in the big comfy beds and love the lighting system. (I know, dorky, but I love it.)

Room Tip: Ask for and 09 room, has a good ocean view. So 309, 609, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with this hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was big enough (we had the oven view king). The air con was noisy but didn't keep us awake. The location was central and close to everything, plus the ala moana trolley. If you want to save on parking go to the Waikiki banyan (?) around the corner. The staff were very friendly and helped out when asked. They got us cheaper car rental at enterprise. The breakfast is just pastries (no toast or ceral) so we went to the abc next door and got cereal and milk very cheaply. Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldf1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Waikiki can be so hectic and impersonal. But, not Hotel Renew. From the moment I walk in there is a peaceful, zen feeling. The lobby is well appointed, and actually feels spacious, for what could easily be interpreted as a small space. The red anthuriums floating in a black fountain are always so beautiful to see. One of my favorite things is to be greeted by the warm and friendly staff. All of them are an absolute pleasure. Whether I am returning from a morning walk or a long day of work, I am always greeted by name and a warm smile. The staff at Hotel Renew are terrific. The rooms are also well appointed with a comfortable bed, flat screen, large desk and comfortable chairs. It's modern zen with everything you need. I absolutely love it and highly recommend Hotel Renew.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielPeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We liked it - close to beach, friendly simple service. The room was nice, clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast downstairs was a nice touch - basic but good to have!

No pool - so you really are limited to the beach.. and it's a bit of a walk (15 mins) from main Waikiki shopping strip and major hotel strip (if u need to connect to others).

Overall good value - would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_traveller262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently returned from a vacation/ business trip to Hawaii and Hotel Renew in Waikiki Beach, was by far my favorite, upscale boutique hotel. Hotel Renew is a wonderful alternative to the big box, impersonal hotel chains which are all too prevalent on Waikiki Beach. From the minute I arrived and until the time of my departure, service was prompt, friendly, attentive and genuine. I stayed in an ocean view room with two double beds and an endless selection of TV channels on a widescreen TV. The room was chic and the bed and linens were luxurious and comfortable. The weekly manager's reception is a great way to meet other guests from around the world as well as hotel staff and management--all were more than willing to share tips on restaurants, tours and sites of interest. Given the level of service and the pleasant attitude of each and every staff member, I couldn't help but feel that management not only has the utmost respect for its guests but also for its employees. Hotel Renew has great karma and a wonderful attitude that shines!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a great view of the beach, waves and street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights the end of November. The hotel provided exactly what we were after. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. Location-wise near the beach and a convenient bus stop. Only criticism would be that breakfast was very 'stodgy' and heavy as it was only pastries and coffee. The addition of some fresh fruit would have been appreciated! But overall couldn't really have asked for more as we're not into all the frills associated with most hotels and found everything we needed in this small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hong Kong Rats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,910 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing