We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All that we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew to your Saves list
Hotel Renew
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book With Us and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“All that we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights the end of November. The hotel provided exactly what we were after. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. Location-wise near the beach and a convenient bus stop. Only criticism would be that breakfast was very 'stodgy' and heavy as it was only pastries and coffee. The addition of some fresh fruit would have been appreciated! But overall couldn't really have asked for more as we're not into all the frills associated with most hotels and found everything we needed in this small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hong Kong Rats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    643
    140
    45
    22
See reviews for
261
1,242
137
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Alberta,
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We first stayed at this Hotel in January 2007. It's rating then was only a 2 Star Hotel, but what made it stand out then, was the excellent Customer Service provided by Head Housekeeper Leonor Wong. Sadly, Leonor left this hotel 2 years ago, but her training of the Front Desk staff is still very much in evidence. Special mention this time to Chris & Adam, who were just super friendly & helpful, but Kudos must go to Jackie, who bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable in our room, found the best places to eat, went on the right buses to go to the Mall & just generally made any question we had, no trouble to find the answers.
The rooms have certainly changed since 2007 with some nice renovations to them, also the front lobby. My husband & I were on a cruise to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary & then stayed 3 nights at the hotel after the cruise. The Management acknowledged our special occasion, by sending a small plate of cheese, meat & crackers to our room.
Apart from the great customer service, it's the location of this hotel to Waikiki Beach. It is less than half a block & is quite reasonably priced, I imagine. I have to admit, I liked the prices in 2007 better. And as mentioned by others, the Continental Breakfast is really just juice, danish & sweet rolls. But, a great bonus as before, we were able to have our luggage kept secure for us by the Hotel, while we spent our last day in Honolulu & then were given the use of a room to shower, change & get ready for our late night flight back to Canada. Would I still recommend this Hotel? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with glass doors for showering!!! We were given a room like this to change in for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I use trip advisor for all of my hotel bookings and decided on Hotel Renew based on the positive reviews. I was not let down and was extremely happy with this Hotel. It is in an excellent location that is close to The Zoo and is a less frantic than the heart of Waikiki. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel as an example. The Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. Hotel Renew is a half block to the beach and is closer to the beach than a lot of hotels nearby. The hotel serves a basic breakfast of coffee, tea, pineapple juice and pastries which is perfect to get you started. The hotel is almost next door to an ABC Store where you can buy all your basics. Next to this hotel are the bigger hotels Aston Waikiki and Waikiki Beach Marriott. There are some good restaurants with entertainment and a nice vibe such as Tiki's bar and grill at the Aston Waikiki and Lulu's Waikiki which is in the same block. The food at the Wolfgang puck express below the the Aston was not good and I would avoid it if you can. All in all Hotel Renew was perfect as it was close to everything, the staff were friendly and they would provide you with beach towels and mats for your day on the Beach. I would definitely return to the Hotel Renew.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

WOW! I loved everything about this hotel. From the complimentary pineapple juice upon arrival and the relaxing/modern rooms, I couldn't have asked for more. We stayed in room 805(corner room) and I prefer them over any other room. We didn't have an ocean view, but they city-view kind was just as nice. We were in Hawaii and it was enough. The beds were beyond comfortable and I really enjoyed them. If I ever come back to Hawaii I will return to hotel renew. There is no doubt in my mind :) loved you guys so much!!!! So friendly!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
205 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here on the second part of our vacation. We've been to Waikiki and stayed in larger hotels. Renew was great because it did what was simple and dud it very well. There is no catering on site except a continental style breakfast but with so many restaurants in Waikiki it's not a worry .

The staff really made our vacation great and efficiently dealt with any request we had. Only negative j can think if was the shower in our room wasn't too strong but that is a minor issue.

We missed the shuttle for one of our trips and when the company called out hotel looking for us the staff knew exactly show we were and were able to say we had headed out for trip with towels etched. The matter was quickly sorted and our shuttle came back to the pick up point. Great service,

We'd have no hesitation recommending this wee gem or staying their again.

We should also mention the girl in the bar at Renew who was great. Her Belfast accent impression was the best we've come across. Don't know her name but she was a big Sons of Anarchy fan!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con_and_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon at hotel Renew and we were really happy with the location as wellas the service and valet parking. close to the beach, located centrally in Honolulu, i would definitely come back here again. clean rooms, friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back, we did have an ocean view, but not really from the balcony. We could howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I returned here on business for the second time this year. Upon arrival, I was reminded why we select Hotel Renew: it's the incredibly friendly staff. Each day of our stay, Adam and Daniel looked out for our every need. They remembered us by name instantly, and made us feel like we never left. And be sure stop by the bar for a drink with Jackie, who provides tasty drinks and great entertainment with her engaging personality. The hotel is everything you'd want from a boutique hotel, but it's the staff that will keep us coming back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,580 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing