We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unknown tresure”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unknown tresure”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is a little charming hotel that gives you everything you need and more. They treet you like famely and makes you feel warm and safe. It has a perfekt location among restaurants, shops and Waikiki beach. When you pick a little hotel, you get everything you pay for, especially with hotel renew. Highly recommended!!!
A big thank you to Adam, Daniel and Mike. Good people!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolaisen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    696
    152
    48
    27
See reviews for
284
1,330
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Actually i had no idea about waikiki before i flew there, i followed the reviews of tripadvisor. As a matter of fact i was concerned about the reliability of the reviews.. but when i arrived there i realized the hotel was better than the reviews, rooms were better thans i expected (better than travellers photos). The price included free internet and breakfast as i was told when i made the reservation. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly (i mean it). Thanks guys. Me and my family had an amazing time at waikiki.

P.s. : take a room with ocean view.You'll love it.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms really really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed for nine days. And the service from the front deck to the room service was like staying at a five star hotel. The guests are hip thirty and forty something. Which makes Hotel Renew attractive and refreshing. My room was modern and high tec from the lighting to free wifi throught out the hotel. And location,location and location makes it perfect walking distance to almost everything in Waikiki. I would recommend Hotel Renew to anyone,for a perfect stay. It is truly a hidden jewel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seahorse1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Seahorse1718,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Renew for you lodging accommodations during your trip to beautiful Oahu. We are certainly delighted to hear that your time here was outstanding. Our premier location just half a block from Waikiki Beach and complimentary WIFI are just a few of the perks we have to offer, we are certainly glad you enjoyed them. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest Aloha,
D.Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located right at the Waikiki Beach within walking distance of the shopping mile and the beach.
The room was very nice too - surprisingly quiet considering the location.

However, what really annoyed me was the breakfast: There are only a handful of chairs/tables available for all guests. So we had to eat breakfast standing in the lobby, trying to juggle a cup of coffee, a croissant and some fruit. Very uncomfortable and not very relaxing...
They claim they don't have to offer a good breakfast because it's complimentary. But we all know that all of their expenses (including the "complimentary" breakfast) must be covered by their single source of revenue: the room prices...

Would not recommend it. There are a ton of other great hotels along the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnabrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Cinnabrise,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback concerning your recent stay. We always love hearing from past guests, as that enables us to continually improve upon the experience we offer here at Renew. I'm thrilled you were able to enjoy our premier Waikiki Beach location, as we are conveniently situated within walking distance of world-class shopping and dining, and only steps away from the warm waters of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. The quiet serenity within our walls, coupled with the buzz of excitement that lies just beyond is what makes our location so enticing to active travelers from around the world such as yourself.

I'm also happy to hear that you we able to take advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast, albeit in the midst of our sometimes crowded lobby area. We certainly understand your concern, but unfortunately we cannot simply construct an addition to this area. We do however make all efforts to ensure the available tables are continually wiped down as to provide adequate seating for as many guests as possible during the 2.5 hour service window. Of course many guests choose to bypass the lobby altogether, and instead retreat back to the tranquility of their rooms with breakfast in hand.

I would like to be clear though, the breakfast served each morning, together with the complimentary WI-FI and use of beach gear is a free service that we offer to all guests. The cost of these courtesies are not included in any rate or package whatsoever. I believe it to be beyond the scope of this response to go into detail concerning the economics of running a hotel, but suffice it to say that the tons of other great hotels that you mention are more likely than not cutting back on their complimentary services, if indeed they even had any to begin with. Yet these mega-resort properties are still priced inexplicably higher than an intimate, boutique option such as Renew.

Here at Renew, we strive to provide an inviting and rejuvenating atmosphere in which to welcome our guests home at the end of each day. We settle for nothing less than stellar service and sparkling accommodations at all times. Just as importantly, we aim to provide superior value even within the heart of such a high demand location as Waikiki Beach. This is what we term the “Renew Experience.” The majority of our guests appreciate these special touches, though we understand it is not to everyone's liking. We are appreciative of the opportunity to have served you, and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days in Hotel Renew and we loved it. From the moment we entered, the staff made us feel relaxed and welcome (the fresh pineapple juice and cool, chilled towel upon check-in didn't hurt :) ). The staff gave us great advice for parking options, surfing suggestions, etc. We were so impressed with every staff member we interacted with. The rooms are starting to look a little worn, but still extremely comfortable. The highlights for us were definitely the awesome complimentary continental breakfast each morning and the excellent location right off the Waikiki strip.

Room Tip: They have great deals online if you book in advance or are a AAA member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sray216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Renew for 5 days in March on our trip through the United States. From arrival until check-out we were really impressed by the exceptional customer service. We were able to check-in early (8 am instead of 3 pm) after our 14 hours flight and the check-in was fast and very friendly. On arrival we were even offered a refreshing fruit drink. During our stay staff was very accommodating and helpful. They also provided towels, chairs and boogie boards for the beach for free!

The hotel is located very convenient. It is only a 2-minutes walk to the famous Waikiki Beach and there are also many restaurants, cafes, bars and supermarkets in the area. The hotel provided us with a list of things to do in the area which was very helpful and we really liked the Waikiki Beach Hula performance at Kuhio Park, only a short walk from the hotel.

Our ocean view room was very accommodating and nicely decorated. It also offered a comfortable bed, a balcony and a in-room safe which was large enough to fit a laptop and an ipad. We also really loved the view of the beach!!!

The continental breakfast was quite good, offering coffee, juice, cereal, joghurt, toast and sweet rolls, but unfortunately the space was very limited and there were always too many people there at the same time.

We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who likes small hotels with individual + great service and would always love to come back!






The room (ocean view)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuTReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It has been about 1 year since I visited Honolulu and stayed at the Renew. I have to say that this hotel holds warm memories for me even a year later. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who does not care about being directly on Waikiki or having a view of the beach. That is the only drawback. The location however is great and the staff were fantastic - probably the friendliest and most helpful staff that I have ever met. The rooms were perfect although a little small - no big deal. Extremely clean. One our final day, due to the lateness of our flight and the fact that the hotel needed the room for the next guest, they were nice enough to let us use a room for a quick showever after being on the beach all day just before our return home. They also let you use their beach equipment, all free of charge.

For the price and the friendliness of the staff - this hotel is hard to beat! I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,266 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,294 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,394 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing