We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise at a bargain price in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
wegelagerer
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise at a bargain price in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just spend a month at this great hotel. Located just steps from the beach you will not find a better deal in all of Waikiki. The rooms are very modern with big screen TVs and super comfy beds, the free brakfast is great with the best coffee in the world and lots of fruit , pasterys and fesh pineapple juice. They also offer free beach gear (towels,mats,chairs etc.), daily newspaper and free Wifi in all their rooms.
The Hotel is super clean, the staff will make you feel like family and go out of their way to help you in any way they can.
Sure there is no pool , but the greatest pool , Waikiki Beach, is only steps away.
In an month we did not have one complaint or regret and can not wait to be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room on the 8th or 9th floor. We watched whales and dolphins in the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegelagerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    648
    141
    46
    23
See reviews for
265
1,253
138
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hotel is a first rate, hip, boutique hotel, and is located within a 90 second walk of the beach. The staff is very helpful, and the room furnishings appear to be new, and include a gigantic flat screen high def TV. There can't be a better value in Waikiki. There is no hotel pool, but we didn't find that to be an issue, since the beach is so proximate, and the staff even provides (for free!) beach mats, towels and chairs. Continental breakfast is included each morning for no additional charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDiGiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

we stayed 2 weeks on January 2012 here. Cool service, good location, modern furnishings and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zalupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Excellent location, within a block of Waikiki Beach. Environmentally friendly and reasonably priced. Rooms were clean and service was outstanding, a special thanks to Adam and Daniel for great service!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a tough one. It's hard to find fault with a place in such a great location--just a block off Waikiki Beach at the quieter end near the zoo--with reasonable rates, such friendly and helpful staff and very comfortable, stylish accommodations... BUT take a look at my posted photos of the view: tennis shoes tossed over a power line immediately in front of our window and a dumpster-diver and "peepers" at the hostel across the street. We got an Expedia rate and I wonder if discounters get the worst views... ours on the 2nd floor had to be the worst. This was Valentine's Day AND our birthdays, so a view without decorated power lines, an overflowing dumspter and derelicts spying into our room would have added better ambiance!

Now that I got that out of the way, our room was otherwise ideal, with a very comfortable king-size bed, soothing decor, flat-screen TV and a very nice bathroom. And when our free wifi wouldn't initially connect, a technician was dispatched quickly to fix the router problem. The concierge was friendly and attentive, and the desk staff had good advice when all major restaurants were fully booked for Valentine's Day. They also provide towels, chairs and mats to take to the nearby beach.

The cozy breakfast area in the lobby was always packed in the morning, but there is a Starbucks and other options around the corner. Be aware that the Lemon Road side of the building is a continuous block of hostels--some better than others. Some seem to accommodate well-behaved backpacking students, but the one in front of us was populated by older boarders who seemed down-on-their-luck and prone to loud rants and hanging out on the stairs with the seeming intent of spying into the hotel across the street. Oh no, I'm back on the terrible view again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

What this means is a designer experimenting and losing sight of functionality. Sinks that don't really work. Room lighting with dimmers, but they start off dim so you can't read in the room.
The first room we were offerrred was adjacent to a skip removal area of the next door hotel, a change to something half respectable was negotiated with an additional charge of 25dollars a night.
The staff were pretty good but this hotel is definitely 3* max

Room Tip: Insist on top floors with sea view, or better still find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear ynotcracker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with regard to your recent stay here at Hotel Renew. We truly appreciate the feedback provided, as there is no better path to improvement than through the ideas and suggestions of our valued guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly team of service professionals, but I'd also like to address your concerns at this time as well.

It is true that Hotel Renew is one of the few boutique properties in Honolulu. We also enjoy a premier location, just steps away from the world-class destination that is Waikiki Beach. This means that as a guest of Renew you will experience fantastic customer service within a modern and relaxing atmosphere, all within the midst of the electrifying environment that awaits you just outside the doors of the hotel. As with many boutique properties, numerous signature touches can be found throughout. Of course we still aim to maintain functionality, while simultaneously stimulating the senses with unconventional designs. Many of our guests enjoy the adjustable light settings and unique bathroom pieces, so I'm sorry to hear that they were not to your liking. And while we certainly strive to accommodate our guests that desire to switch rooms, we like most other hotels have a modest upgrade fee when changing from a city view to an ocean view room.

Again, I thank you for your thoughts and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
D. Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice hotel, great bedding, and perfect location.
Complimentary breakfast, fresh fruit,toast yogurt, nothing fancy, but certainly sufficient.
Great friendly staff,very helpful.
No pool or place to chill, that was a drawback.
The air-conditioning system is extremely noisy during the night.
Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing