We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is just steps away from famous Waikiki beach and we certainly loved going into the hussle and bussle of the Waikiki shops, restaurants and bars and still have a quiet hotel to return to. Staff was very friendly and helpful, so no objections here. The room is a bit smaller but comfortably and effeciently decorated. Cleaning lady was also very friendly, but certain spots and stains were never cleaned during our week long stay (even things that could be easily solved by just using a vacuum cleaner or a mop). The breakfast area in the lobby was really nice with a choice of different types of fresh fruit, muffins, cereals, slices of bread and coffee/tea/juice. The hotel had a newsletter with everything that was happening that week and even organized a cocktail evening during the film festival.
So I would defenitely recommend this hotel for its value for money and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Front Office Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Saskia_8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay here at Hotel Renew. Your willingness to share your experience goes a long way toward helping us improve upon our property and the services we offer. With that said, it's truly a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location. Being just steps away from a world-famous beach certainly has its perks, and I'm thrilled that you were able to take advantage of that. But of course it is our service that we really pride ourselves on here at Renew. Please know that your kind words regarding the friendly and helpful staff will be passed along to each and every member of our team.

In regards to your concern above, I'd like to offer my personal and most sincere apology. Please know that cleanliness and comfort is of the utmost importance to us here at the hotel. Rest assured that we will be sure to review our housekeeping procedures to ensure that all guests rooms are serviced properly and to the highest standards.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your thoughts and we hope to serve you in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
D. Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    684
    151
    47
    25
See reviews for
280
1,308
144
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel staff were friendly and provided great service. My husband and I stayed at Hotel Renew four nights. We liked the modern look of the hotel. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is two blocks to the beach. The hotel provided beach chairs and mats. A continental breakfast was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel is exactly what I was looking for in terms of cost for service recieved. The staff were excellent and friendly, the cleanliness was very good, the hotel was modern and provided the exact product I thought I would get after reading the other reviews. If you are looking for a less expensive alternative to the big chain hotels on the strip you have found it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValleyBoy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Hotel Renew was an awesome little hotel with fantastic staff. The doorman Paul was so knowledgeable and always had a massive smile on your face. Always looked forward to seeing him when we got back to the hotel. The hotel was perfectly located right next to a major bus stop for all the attractions and right at the beach! Loved Hotel Renew and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateMiller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

6 Friends and I stayed 9 wonderful nights at this magical Boutique hotel. From the moment we arrived, Paul and Grace welcomed us and checked us all in early. Every staff member from front reception to cleaning staff were friendly, helpful and I even recieved a fruit platter on my birthday! Thankyou Hotel Renew for making our holiday so memorable!

Room Tip: the single room has a king single bed,it was adequate for a small person. Those who require more bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymdabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We returned to Hotel Renew because we had such a great experience in January. We are pleased to say that everything remains the same - excellent staff, great location and a comfortable room. As a boutique hotel it's hard to imagine anything better. The staff is really exceptional and if you want to get the lowdown on where the locals go, sit at the bar during Happy Hour and have a chat with the bartenders - they are so helpful. Lastly, having a car in Honolulu can be a real pain, but I have never seen better valet service than that at Hotel Renew. I don't know why there are negative reviews - we have never experienced any problems!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a great time in Honolulu and this was also thanks to Hotel Renew.
Great location: just one block away from the beach and reasonable walking distance to the shopping sites
Great hospitality .... The staff is really nice and helpful
Rooms are nice and confy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing