We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!!!”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This place is great!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

From the minute you show up to this hotel you are treated like old friends. Everyone at this place goes out of their way to help. Rooms are very nice, the lobby and breakfast are pretty good, but this hotel is carried by it's staff. We had one problem where our air conditioner broke, we told the front desk and it was fixed by the time we got back from dinner (around 2 hours). Really, the staff of this hotel are phenomenal.

Rooms:
Closet with locker, mini fridge, swing out flat screen tv, comfortable bed, nice shoji screens to make the room dark, very nice and modern bathroom. Sure, no pool, but who comes to Hawaii to swim in chlorine.

Lobby:
Pretty small but functional, the bar doubles as the breakfast station. The bar is good, decent prices and really good drinks. Jackie was our bartender and made for really great conversation, she really made us feel welcome. You must try Jackie's mai tai's. We walked down to the Royal Hawaiian to try their mai tai because they are supposed to be so good and the original, that being said after trying Jackie's mai tai's the Royal Hawaiian's tasted like pineapple juice. Breakfast is pretty good too, fresh fruit, muffins, yogurt, and really good coffee.

Parking:
It is 25 bucks a day, which seems expensive, but parking in waikiki is next to impossible, so we found this to be a great service. We never waited for our car, it was always ready, and the valets were always willing to offer suggestions for what to do that day and were genuinely happy to hear about what we did when we got back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank presidentnotsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    703
    152
    50
    28
See reviews for
284
1,341
148
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel was great, very close to the beach, we had room 409 which had ocean views. The staff were really nice, helpful, remembered our names! Breakfast was simple toast, fruit, cereal which is ideal given the food here in Hawaii. Our room was nice, bed really comfy, bar fridge in room. The shower was great, big shower head which I love. When you go to the beach ask for a mat as the towels are quite small. Well located as easy bus ride to Diamond Head and Ala Moana etc. I had read on a previous review that the air conditioner in the room was loud, it wasn't for us

Room Tip: I think because we stayed 9 nights ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovesthesun30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed for 4 days at the begining of June and couldn't have been happier with our choice. One room faced the ocean, the other also included a balcony. Waikiki beach is less than a block away as is a shop to rent bicycles or motorbikes.
Most of the hotels in Honolulu were mammoth skyscrapers. This one has 80 rooms and a staff that were sincerely friendly and helpful. The decor in the room is modern and clean lined. The only quibble I had was the lamps were designed to look beautiful-- not shed light on anything you might need to read with more than a 40 watt bulb.
The breakfast is included in the room price and very good but the limited seating in the bar/lobby area fills up quickly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne Sierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a very good property if you're looking to stay in Waikiki. It's clean, minimalist and no-frills for a nice value.

The service was courteous and the employees seemed eager to help (Adam, in particular) when needed. The room are very well-decorated and have lots of cool touches that add some ambiance to the rooms. We were lucky enough to have a corner ocean-view room that also had a balcony which faced Diamond Head (room #806, I believe).

There aren't a lot of amenities on the property -- it's basically a lobby area with a small seating area for breakfast, then elevators to the rooms -- but that was OK with us. All we wanted was a well-appointed room in a good location and Hotel Renew gave that to us.

I'd definitely stay here again if I found myself back in Honolulu. Mahalo, Hotel Renew!

Tip: Self-parking is available in a garage at the Waikiki Banyan Hotel about a block away for $10, if you're willing to walk a bit and looking to save over the hotel's valet rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaitrucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located at the end of Waikiki near the zoo. Beautiful redesigned hotel/boutique style. Contemporary furnishings from the lobby to your room. Each room is designed well. Most comfortable bed we've ever slept on. Way better than the heavenly beds at Sheraton, Hilton, Hyatt, Omni etc!! Comfort 5 stars, atmosphere 5 stars, decor 5 stars! Price is affordable not steep, but for the cleanliness, comfort and style, I would recommend this hotel beats price, than staying at the Edition (high end style hotel in Waikiki, which was our first choice, but Hotel Renew beat them by price). Though the only draw back for this hotel is that there is no on site pool to lay sexy. I must say, the front conceirge was excellent! They take care of your luggage and transportation so you won't have to worry. They offer many amenitites like free beach mat, towels, tour info, and not to mention upon your arrival lemon fresh face/hand towels and a fabulous drink upon your check-in. One more thing, if you make "noise" in the night, the walls are paper thin... LOL!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliTravelBug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We felt at home at the Hotel Renew. If it was Adam at the Valet, or Daniel, Jesse, or Jackie at the reception, we always got a warm welcome and of course lots of helpful information about getting around the island.
Only 100 yards away from Waikiki Beach, they even supply all necessary beach equipment. Rooms are clean and big enough to accompany a couple. There is no spa or pool, but who needs that in so close proximity of Waikiki?

Room Tip: They have rooms with ocean view, book them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelytraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

LOCATION
Wow, this hotel is definitely value for money. It is well located, and the “Waikiki Trolley” bus stop is only a stone’s throw away – literally 100m from the hotel’s front door step! The beach is parallel to the main road, and again, this is less than 200m from The Hotel Renew. The International Market Place is about a 10 minute walk from this hotel – however, an easy walk, with plenty of things to see along the way.

There are a number of convenient stores within walking distance and lucky enough, there is one next door to the Hotel Renew.

We did choose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and I must admit these are quite genuine reviews. I doubt you will be disappointed, as long as you’re after the key elements… definitely a nice find!

HOTEL
The Hotel Renew is a small boutique hotel. By the end of our 5-night stay, the front desk staff knew our name on a first person basis. There was one person I must commend and her name was Jackie; very friendly, very hospitable, and definitely a nice touch when you feel your stay is just “that little more personal” from them knowing who you are, rather than just another passing guest.

The hotel is modern and unique – bearing in mind, it is small in comparison to the larger branded hotels. Our room rate included breakfast, and this was a light breakfast with the basics; bread, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, muffins etc. The breakfast area is within the main area of the foyer when you arrive, and there is probably seating for maximum 15 guests at any one time. My only tip would be to arrive early for breakfast, because this does get busy by 7.30-8AM and sometimes there is not enough seating.

There are elevators within the property and easy access to your rooms.

ACCOMMODATION
I believe we were staying in a King, City View Room.

Somewhat small, however perfect for what we were after. The room is very modern, and air-conditioning is centralised. The room does have a large flat screen TV, and the bathroom was spacious.

The hotel does offer wi-fi however this is very weak within the hotel. We did have an iPad and the connection kept dropping out when we were trying to search. We did mention this to the front desk, and they assisted by providing us print outs for where we were intending to go. If you do choose this property purposely for the wi-fi, unfortunately for our experience it did not work well for us – but this was not crucial for our stay.

OVERALL THOUGHTS
From our experience, we were more than satisfied with our stay. I had a work colleague whom had stayed here, which is where the original recommendation came from, followed by reading the reviews from Trip Advisor. The reviews for Hotel Renew are all quite similar, and you will know why when you stay… If you’re after a great place to stay and intend to spend most of your time outside of your room during the day, this is a nice, relaxing place, well located, at a very affordable price!

Room Tip: Free beach towels / mats use available at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellojacquelineanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,377 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing