We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Rock Island Cafe

Rock Island Cafe
Ranked #130 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: Step back to a time when Elvis was King, Marilyn was Queen and they both drank Coca-Cola. Rock Island Cafe is Hawaii's premiere old fashion diner, memorabilia shop and bar.Nowhere else can you enjoy an old-fashion milkshake, burger and beer,and then buy unique movie and music collectibles and memorabilia. We hope that you have had the opportunity to experience Rock Island Cafe when visiting Hawaii. If you haven't, please come and see us real soon.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This cafe has so much memorbilia it is definatelty worth a visit. The food was good, a little over priced for what they offer and the service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    132
    53
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LOVE ROCK ISLAND CAFE”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Absolutely loved going to this cafe. It was handy to where we were staying and enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia. We bought a couple of old number plates. The food was delicious specially the banana split which we shared as it was huge! The staff were great and allowed us to take photos inside the place. we will definately go back on our next trip to Waikiki.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidays1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“$10 burger, fries not included, in fact, nothing included.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family stopped in to grab a quick lunch. We were taken in by the great 50's decor and nostalgic look and feel of the place. Tributes to 50's celebrities, as well as to shows that honored the 50's (e.g., Happy Days and Laverne and Shirley). All was good until we discovered that nothing came with anything. $10 burgers, but side of fries or onion rings, an additional $3.00. Crazy prices on Milkshakes, etc. Waters had already been delivered to our table, but we decided against this alluring tourist trap. We walked out and found a local Burger King for same size, greasy type burgers for a 1/3 of the cost off the BK Value Menu. Looks can be deceiving. A basic lunch for six of us would have been close to $100. I Ain't Nothing But A Hound Dog, but I'm a frugal one on the road when necessary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveEB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quirky diner with friendly staff”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed dinner here, burger was lovely as was the generous portion of cheesy bacon fries. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. It was quiet when we were here, but worth a visit. memorabilia was pretty cool too. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailormoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Burger on the Rock”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my Rock Island burger after a long day of deep sea fishing. It is a locally owned cafe by a fellow Rotarian and decided to give it a try verses going to chain burger joint a few doors down. I am delighted to say our burgers were delicious and hit the spot. We will go back again at a later date to enjoy all the memorabilia on the walls and celling. It's a great place to go whether doing take out or just relaxing with the family. It is a HAPPY Place to BE and Dine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JVerschoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rock Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing