We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Muddy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoa Falls

Manoa Falls
Book In Advance
$57.59*
and up
Manoa Waterfall Small Group Adventure
Ranked #17 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Muddy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'd say the hike would be easy, except it's really muddy after the half part of the trail. It was just drizzling on/off when we went, what more if it was really raining! A lot of the hikers already went barefoot, but I don't know if it makes it easier? So make sure you wear shoes that you don't mind getting real muddy! I enjoyed it though, I went with my family and my 3-year-old nephew made it too! and he really enjoyed playing in the mud puddles. It's also good that there are 2 water hoses at the start of the trail to water down all the mud off your shoes. It might be good to bring slippers too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    829
    211
    34
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great falls and lush scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Advisory: There is a 3/4 hike from the main entrance up to the falls going uphill. However its all paved, wide. Like a street wide.
You can $8 round trip to take an electric golf cart up to the falls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You have to check out waterfalls in Hawaii, you cant avoid going to visit here. The island is so small I highly recommend visiting as many as you can.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pitiful waterfall, beautiful forests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Ithe trail to Manoa Falls was muddy and challenging at times but the scenery is fantastic. you can go on past the falls and continue upward on more trails and see more amazing scenes and vistas. The falls are a bit of a letdown but good company and sturdy hiking boots made it a great day followed by lunch at the restaurant at the trailhead.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Javamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Long walk for a swim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Older and infirm visitors need to make ue of the buggy carts.
Some taking the walk ended up hitching a ride. The pool looked a bit muddy it the water must have been quite 'refreshing' being fed from the waterfall

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rippo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Manoa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing