We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best, Easist, Closest Waterfall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoa Falls

Manoa Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Manoa Waterfalls Run and Hike Tour
Ranked #17 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best, Easist, Closest Waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

30 min drive from downtown Waikiki, 45min hike, 50ft waterfall.. You gotta time this attraction right. No rain means no water. To much rain means can't hike. Watch for trailrunners!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fillywonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    932
    230
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good ...but not in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

You can see a fall but not with to much water in winter season... The hike is good, not hard, also you can walk wih your famiy...
You can't swim at the fall... You only could see it... At the top there' s not too much space to stop and see the fall

Helpful?
Thank Aantouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scary yet fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are adventurous and daring, this hike is totally for u.
Initially I was so nervous. I just did not want to go.
The tall trees and slippery trail.

After reluctantly going forward, we came across two really excited kids jumping across the muddy stream. And I just followed them.

The water fall as such is a thin stream. The trail back was so much fun for me. There were lots of people and did not seem that creepy.

Proper footwear and sun protection and insect repellant is a must!

I was so proud of myself after the hike. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akhila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great Hike With Family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Manoa Falls was an amazing hike. We went without a tour guide and it was worth it. I think the hike with a guide would be a waste. The trail was slightly challenging as we had hiked between scattered showers. The trail was really muddy and slippery. Don't wear new or white shoes on this hike. It is doable to wear with sandals but not reccomended. For those who wore sandals, they ended up just going barefoot in the mud. Caveman style! Suitable for young children! On our hike, we even saw an owner with his dog tackling this hike. Because we went in the rainy weather, the waterfall was not disspointing at all. However, the the other reviews seemed to say the hot weather would deprive the waterfall of its water.
The bus ride was tedious since we had to transfer buses from Waikiki to Ala Moana to Manoa Falls. From Ala Moana, take bus 5.
on the return ride, the bus was delayed so it was a waste of time waiting.
It was definetely a different view from downtown Honolulu or the beaches of Waikiki. It is it's own little paradise. Definetely worth to check it out.
Fee: free admission; but $5 for parking;

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissTraveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manoa Falls hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hike, slightly challenging, great tour guide, awesome scenery. However, if you've been to Niargara Falls in Ontario Canada, or New York USA, this waterfall is somewhat disappointing. We were there during a dry spell and the waterfall was just a trickle into a small pool. Not really a hike you need a guide for $50 each for, better to go it on your own and save money. Parking at the bottom is $5, didn't see an entry fee of any kind. Allow an hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank briandebL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Manoa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing