We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average standard hotel”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 8, 2007

we spent 3 nights in this hotel on our 2 month round the world honeymoon - I think we had been a bit spoiled by all the great value hotels we had stayed in on our trip particularly Thailand & NZ, so the room in Aqua Palms seemed very expensive for the money, but sounds like everything in Hawaii is expensive! We had stayed in far nicer rooms for far less money - the room was ok but nothing to get excited about
3 nights in Waikiki was more than enough for us - terribly commericalised, unattractive beach, constant traffic. The hotel concierge was very entertaining & we booked two trips through him - one whale-watching which was quite good and one tour of the island including pearl harbour. Don't know what we would have done otherwise - there's only so much time you can spend wandering around the shops!
(highlight of our stay was the couple next door having a HUGE row!!)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sleepyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

I spent 6 days at this hotel last week and enjoyed the experience immensely - the room was city-facing and did not have a lanai. BUT, it was clean and there was a dvd player available to watch movies when not touring the city. The desk staff were very gracious and the room was cleaned daily.

DON'T depend on the "free" breakfast if this is the most important meal of your day - I'm not into breakfast, so the juice and muffin worked well for me. Wailani Coffee House next door is a good deal for bigger spreads.

DO see Roberto at the Expedia!fun desk for great suggestions for tours - my recommendation to those interested in smaller group tours is Oahu Nature Tours - definately do the 6am hike to Diamond Head for breathtaking views and a fun workout!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MissouriDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed at the Palms for 5 nights in early April and found it to be excellent. When we arrived our room was waiting and was even upgraded to a balcony room with a peek view of Diamond Head. While this is not a "plush" hotel, I would say that it would be comparable to a Hampton Inn on the mainland. . Many have complained about the small breakfast, but there was more than enough to take seconds and thirds if you wanted. The room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast consisted of two different juices, coffee, muffins, croissants and assorted fruit. Certainly more than enough to get you started. I must say that the coffee is terribly strong so unless you like it that way, stay away from the coffee. There is no restaurant at the Palms but you do get a 10% discount at the diner next door however it was truly a "diner" and not to our liking although the service certainly is quick.

The elevators were not slow at all as others stated. Since we were proceeding to cruise for 11 days I needed to do laundry and found the machines and dryers easily accessible and the dryers very efficient as they dried a load with one use rather than twice like some machines require. While the soap dispenser was out of soap, once I reported it, within 5 minutes they came with my choice of soap and even offered to explain how to use the machines etc. which I didn't need. They have 4 washers and 4 dryers but I was told virtually no one uses them and I can see why. When in Hawaii unless absolutely necessary why would you do laundry?

The managers reception is a wonderful time to get to meet others and the wine, entertainment and free massage was fantastic.

As others have stated, it is walking distance to everything and if you didn't want to walk, The Bus stop is across the street by the Hilton. We didn't rent a car and did not feel at a loss without it at all. In fact, most of the locals don't own cars but use The Bus system.

When leaving they called a taxi for us and were so pleasant and kind I would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, those cookies are absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank DeenieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Aqua Palms for 7 nights during Dec/Jan 2007 and had a fabulous time. The amenities that we received for approx $130 per night were outstanding. The rooms were clean & comfortable and the continental breakfast was very good. With the location only about 1.5 blocks from the beach and only 1-2 blocks from the Waikiki Strip, we found it to be the perfect distance to the majority of our wants & needs...

The Aqua Palms staff was helpful and courteous and went out of his/her way to make our stay memorable. One of the employees, Mark, was especially helpful and took his own personal time to tell us about great hiking spots, restaurants, beaches, and special areas of interest. As first time visitors to the island, it was very helpful in making site seeing decisions.

As much as we enjoyed our stay, we did have a couple of concerns to pass on... If you are staying at the Aqua Palms, know the directions to get to it! The parking ramp is steep and located on a busy street (Ala Moana) so a little preplanning will really help out! Our last concern was the laundry facilities... There were plenty of washers but only 2 working dryers for all of the guests. Needless to say, we ended up at the laundromat!

As far as recommending the Aqua Palms, we would definitely recommend it to family and friends - especially when traveling on a budget!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank NEAlohaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed at the aqua palms on two, one night occasions. Both times our experience was excellent. The first night we were upgraded to a suite which opened onto the pool deck. The second night we stayed after returning from Maui we were allocated a PH room on the top floor - which had a great view. Staff were helpful and concierge organised airport transport efficiently. We travelled with a one year old and there was a crib set up for her and the fridge and microwave were very convenient for her milk and food. Location was great even through it wasn't directly on the beach. Access to beach via the Hilton was very close, easy walk into Wakiki and also only 10 min walk to the AlaMoana shopping centre.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maui2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

First time my girlfriend and I visited Hawaii. The staff, especially house keeping (Nola) and the service was excellent. The spa message was amazing. Well worth it all. Would recommend this hotel to a friend and return again. Location is good and off the main street in walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank teresazum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

CLEAN, Friendly & Great Value
We Choice Aqua Palms based on Trip Advisor Reviews and are glad we did. We stayed 3 nights before and 5 nights after a cruise. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful with all inquiries. The Wednesday night Managers Reception was enjoyable with wine and a live 4 piece band. The Hotel itself is very clean and features some nice amenities. Our room had 2 very nice bath robes, shampoo, soap and body scrub with Aqua Spa’s own label. . First 3 days we were on the 2nd floor and last 5 on 10th, both rooms were comfortable with ample space. The pool was clean and well maintained with plenty of lounge chairs. Our view was limited to seeing Honolulu as we opted for a city view instead of an Ocean view, we were there to sleep.
Access to all of Oahu is right at the doorstep with tours or rental vehicles. We caught “THE BUS” Oahu’s transit system and got over to the Arizona Memorial for $2.00 each. Take Bus #42 or #20. Around the corner is Alamo Car rental with cars right on site, no need to go to the airport to get a vehicle. Tours are available right from the front door, we did 3 tours with Oahu Nature Tours booking them on-line before we left for our trip.
At the corner is a fantastic restaurant the Wailana Coffee House- excellent food at a reasonable price. You have got to try their Banana Split. Another excellent spot is the Shanghai Bistro in the same mall as Alamo. The Continental Breakfast at the hotel is very basic but good, juices, fresh fruit, muffins, croissants and coffee. Overall the Aqua Palms exceeded our expectations for the price we paid. If we ever go again Aqua Palms will definitely be our choice.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BarrieRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,589 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,474 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,757 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $132 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing