We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stayed at the Aqua Palms over spring break with two of my children. I had done a lot of research and was looking for a decent place for a reasonable price. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the price. It is right across the street from the Hilton Village (beach access), close to shopping and bus stops, and a car rental agency is right down the street. The concierge was knowledgeable. The room was always clean and the bathroom had granite counter tops and was also clean, though small. I would stay here again if going to Waikiki. The continental breakfast wasn't great, but yes, free. Ask for a room on a higher floor if you can. The hotel is right on Alamoana, so you are going to hear some road noise--hard to get away from in the area. The bed was decent, but the sofa sleeper was tough to sleep on. I would ask for a rollaway, they are often better than the sofas. Staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms were small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank salster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    783
    354
    101
    52
See reviews for
401
799
208
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Highly recommend this hotel. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, and nice, clean rooms. Our first night we were low and at the front, which had an awesome view. However, the front has a busy noisy road, but this was OK because the parkade below buffeted the noise. After our cruise we stayed three nights, this time at the back. It was very quiet, with a nice balcony, and even had a half decent view. Pool is tiny, but with the beach so close, who cares? Will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Swimming pool tiny
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed at Aqua Palms for a 3 day layover in Honolulu on our way home from Kauai.

The hotel was a good place to chill out for our short stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The king size bed was extremely comfortable! Overall - we were very happy with this hotel and found the employees to be very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home.

A tip: the hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast as part of your room price – but do not expect "breakfast" - more like a very light snack to get you through until you can go out and get a real breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trinigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

The Aqua Palms is offers a good value basic hotel on the edge of Waikiki. Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March / beginning of April 2007 as part of a vacation in Hawaii.

Paid $182 per night for the room.

Location is at the western end of Waikiki, on Ala Moana, which is one of the main roads through the area. It is not on the beach, which is a walk of a few hundred yards either through the Hilton Resort opposite or through the local Park. Buses run to central Honolulu, Pearl Harbour and other areas of Waikiki from just outside the hotel - the 4 day bus pass on the local buses for $20 is a good buy if you want to visit places around the area.

Location is good for shopping - the huge Ala Moana shopping center is 1/2 mile to the west, plus the Waikiki shops are an easy walk in the opposite direction.

Room we had was a good size, with a separate small area for coffee and with a microwave. Nice balcony, though this was overlooking the main road, which is noisy during the day. Also there is building going on at the Hilton Resort opposite - again only during the day and it did not disturb us.

Facilities at the hotel are limited. There is a small swimming pool - fine but can get crowded very easily. Our deal included a "continental breakfast". This is VERY poor - served in the reception area on the ground floor, the food is very limited and of poor quality - bananas/apples plus croissants & muffins. Croissants were small and squashed flat and were served without jam or other accompaniments. There is very little space to sit in the reception area.

Fortunately there is a nice 24-hour diner 50 yards up the road from the Aqua Palms, which serves a good breakfast. We used this most days.

So, if you are looking for a good low-cost hotel option which is away from the noisier parts of Waikiki this is likely to be OK for you.

  • Liked — Location, size and comfort of the room
  • Disliked — Breakfast, slow elevators
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We traveled as a family of four. I always check out the internet and trip advisor to get the real scoop on any hotel or resort we plan on staying.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and service of this moderate hotel.

For value and location you can't go wrong. You're right across the street from the beach access from the Hilton Hawaiian Village and right next door to a 24 hr cafe with decent quality food and price!

We rented a car and used it every day to go to the other sites..I recommend it even with the parking fee of $15. It rains occasionally and we were in complete control of our outings.

The rooms (we had 2) were comfortable and functional. New mini fridge, microwave, and tv's....with guest bath robes and ironing boards in the closet.

Bathrooms were in good condition with nice toiletries.

The continental breakfast was decent but not great...mini muffins, mini croissants, and freash whole banana's, apples, and oranges...OJ, coffee, and tea...anything else is extra.

The kids enjoyed the pool along with other guests....small but it made sense since it is a boutique hotel....

They will also give you complemetary boogie boards for the kids and beach mats....great friendly service...if you want more then this you need to pay to stay at a luxury hotel....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a/c
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wappr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

This place is an incredible value for the money. We booked a standard room on Expedia. When we checked in, I found the room we were given to be small but impeccably clean. There was only a shower in the bathroom and the window (not lanai) overlooked a parking lot and the roof pool of a nearby hotel. Still, you don’t come to Hawaii to stay in your room! When we returned from sightseeing on that first afternoon, management informed us that they needed to do unscheduled maintenance on our room and would we mind moving? Since we hadn’t unpacked yet, this request didn’t faze us a bit, and they moved us up several floors to a very large room with ocean views. Would I have paid more for the ocean view given the choice? Maybe not. The view was very nice, but there was some traffic noise even though we were high up. (This never kept up from getting a great night’s sleep, though). I might have paid more for the larger room, but I am not sure that all ocean view rooms are larger.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are nicely decorated with a beach theme, and the granite countertops are a nice touch. Our second room had a good-sized bathroom with a bath. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast served right to your room or available for pick-up at the front desk is a nice touch. Service was always extremely friendly.

The pool is small, but is nice for a quick dip, and the beach is a short stroll away. There is a grill available for use at the pool area. One morning, we picked up fresh shrimp from the seafood market downtown, put them in Ziploc bags with some marinade, and left them in the fridge. That night, we skewered the shrimp and threw them on the grill and picked up some rice and vegetables at the Chinese restaurant next door – a homemade meal at a hotel!

I found the location to be great – just a quick stroll away from beaches and shopping and easily accessible. The coffee shop around the corner is great value, and your room key gets you a discount. When you check in, you receive a coupon book. Check this out – I didn’t flip through it until after I had paid two full-price admission tickets to the battleship next to Pearl Harbor, and the book includes a buy-one get one free coupon!

Hotels in Hawaii are expensive – there is no getting around it. If you can handle smallish rooms and not having the beach on your doorstep, then you will appreciate the great value for the money at the Aqua Palms. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Value! And the friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inseine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

The staff at this hotel are terrific and very helpful. It is on the edge of Waikiki but so close to everything. Almost anything you want to do or see is in walking distance. You can use the Hilton across the street. The bus stops in front of the hotel. The rooms were very clean. Breakfast is fruit and muffins but they are good. Next door is a very reasonable diner open 24hr a day. You can book tours and cars directly from the hotel. we rented a car from Alamo just a 1/2 block down the srtreet which then provided us a free shuttle to the cruise ship. Beach chairs are for rent on the beach. the pool at the hotel is tiny but youy have the beach across the street. We highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — the staff and the location
  • Disliked — Tiny pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank missmetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing