We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel!”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We had a wonderful visit. The hotel was beautiful, and the service was excellent! It exceeded all of our expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a beautiful place to stay while on vacation in hawaii.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808333nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights recently. A friend of ours was getting married in HI. To be fair, the pros are: 1. Location - very convenient. if you take the shuttle from airport, you will get here must faster than other hotels, which is awesome if you fly in from the east coast, it's also walking distance from the mega mall Ala Moana Shopping center which has a Walmart right next to Nordstrom; 2. parking - cheaper than most Waikiki hotels. But you have to ask for the special for $10 when making reservation; 3. super friendly & knowledgeable staff - I found the male staff are more helpful than the female ones... the girl with glasses & dark hair was quite snappy. 4. The free high speed internet is fast & awesome. 5. The pillow top bed is surprisingly comfortable. It reminds me the Westin Heavenly bed, OK, maybe that's too far a stretch, at least Sheraton beds. BUT, here comes the killer: 1. Cockroaches!!! In your face!!! I know they have IHOP right downstairs, & having lived in NYC, I'm pretty used to seeing these little suckers in any condo or coops, cause whenever you have restaurants downstairs, you will have cockroaches running up the pipes. But for a hotel - any hotel has restaurants, I've never seen these in a Westin or Sheraton or a Hilton or Marriott?!! Anyway, that was a big disappointment; 2. the SMELL!! URGH!!! Every time we came back to the room, it was like walking into a garbage dump. We had to blast the A/C to get the smell out. URGH!!! 3. The room condition - don't get fooled by the website picture. It's called Photoshop. Big time. Mega amplifying the brightness. Most room decor is the cheesy blue aqua palm tree looking style. The furniture are all very old & worn out looking. I know cause I went to quite a few rooms. The closet hangers are covered with rust & dust. I had to put tissue over them to hang my dresses... Just not very clean feeling. The carpet feels grimy & dirty. They still use glasses - Do not use those cause Dateline had a report showing how maids in Sheraton cleaning them using household chemicals, or worse yet, spit... cause they were too lazy to send them to dishwasher... 4. Noise level - if you get any even # rooms, they are so called "ocean facing rooms" which means you are "boulevard facing" too, so be prepared for early morning buses noises. It didn't bother us too much cause we were jet lagged the entire stay & ran out early in the morning for sunrises... 5. FIRE alarm - in the middle of the night... it was a false alarm but Waikiki FD must be the slowest FD in the nation cause it took them FIFTEEN minutes to get to the scene after all of us exited the building. I know Hawaiians are very relaxed in general, perhaps a little bit too relaxed? Had it been a real fire, people would've been roasted already... Anyway, the bottom line is you get what you pay for. For the price, had it been no cockroaches nor stench, I would've been OK with it. If you can tolerate those, you can't beat the Aqua Palm's price in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elzny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalms, Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2010

Aloha ELZNY,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent visit with us. We appreciate the positives that you have noted and regret the negatives. We have identified which room that you have stayed in because you also sent us this same feedback directly. What you have described is completely unacceptable conditions and while we did not find the room in that condition upon inspecting it after receiving your feedback, we did still have our pest elimination service provider treat the room as a precaution. We have an ongoing pest elimination program which includes monthly servicing, however there can be break through activity due to the room balcony doors being left open, leaving the room exposed to "unwelcomed guests".

I cannot confirm or identify the cause of the "sewage smell" that you commented on as it was not there upon our inspection nor have there be any further comments by guests whom have occupied it since. Nonetheless, we apologize if there was something that caused this during your stay. We will be continuing to monitor the plumbing in that room to ensure that it was an isolated incident. In regard to your comment about the glasses in the rooms, the sanitizing method that we use is the one that has been provided and approved by the Hawaii Department of Health.

Thank you for your cooperation with the unexpected fire alarm. Our guest’s safety is our absolute first priority and this is why the evacuation was done immediately rather than waiting for the fire department to show up. I am sure it felt like an eternity while you were waiting outside, however the fire department arrived within 7 minutes of the alarms sounding. While there was no eminent danger in the end, we will never sacrifice our guest’s safety to avoid inconvenience and appreciate that everyone evacuated as requested.

We thank you again for sharing your feedback and for the opportunity to respond using this forum.

Kahealani Doss
Hotel Manager
Aqua Palms & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Pros:
1. Very clean and nicely appointed rooms.
2. We took the Junior Suite with the view of the Diamond Head and it was located at the topmost floor. The room was spacious and with very nice pieces of furtinure.
3. The tolieteries kit was of high quality.
4. The view from the hotel was nice with a beautiful sunrise from the back of the diamond head.
5. The check in and the check out was fast and the helpfullness of the staff is worth a mention here. The air bed which we ordered for our 6 yr old daughter was brought in within minutes and set up promptly.
6. The proximity of the IHOP and the free breakfast there was an added benefit.
7. Many options for shopping and restaurants were available within walking distance
8. If booked in advance you get good rates and which provide value for money.
Cons:
1. The location is not near Waikiki beach so if you are looking for that dont chose this hotel since you have to either take a bus (which plies right infront of the hotel) or drive.
2. There are not much decent night life options around if you are looking for that.
3. The swimming pool is pretty small and its more like a tub hence if thats on top of your agenda then this would not be a place for you.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I have stayed at many hotels on the island and I have to say that the Aqua Palms & Spa and its staff has made me feel like a million bucks. Most of the reviews I read must have been from years ago because the elevators are NOT slow and the rooms are newly remodeled and very comfortable. I could not believe how nice and comfortable the bed was. I learned from my many trips to the island that I am hardly ever in my room and to book an expensive oceanfront room is a waste of money. Go down to the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort just across the street and spend the money you saved by staying at the Aqua Palms & Spa on rented a umbrella and comfortable beach lounge chairs. My advice from my experience.
Anthony M. - Portland Oregon

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aminotti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We booked this place because it's away from Wakiki. They claim they're in Wakiki but it's a bit of a walk. The room was VERY small and the floor uneven. We put a can on the floor and it rolled down the room. The hallways were also sloped. It looks like the place was remodeled on the cheap. There is no where to park to unload or to register. You just park on the sidewalk. The staff are fairly unhelpful. Price was cheap but there's a lot of good hotels to choose from. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom and tub were sized for midgets. Tub slanted as well and a full grown person couldn't fit in it. Not bad but not good either.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank augustwest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I stayed for 4 days with my friend for a bit of r and r on the way back from a conference. We found the hotel to be well located between Waikiki and the Ala Moana shopping centre, which was great for us, but it is about 10 - 15 mins walk to each so if you want to be closer to Waikiki then it's probably worth spending the extra to be closer. Right opposite the Hilton village too, which has plenty of shops/restaurants/beach facilities there.

For what we paid, the hotel more than delivered. Very comfortable and clean. The pool was great too, and there are day spa facilities but we didn't use them. Staff were co-operative and friendly - we had no complaints about anything really.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The stay far exceeded expectations.... expected good...got great. 5 day stay with 5th night free. Requested room away from noise of busy street with lanai. They gave me a wonderful room on the top floor with partial (very partial) views of ocean and of mountains and didn't have to upgrade from basic room. Mahalo!!

The bed was ultra comfort! The TV was huge...you don't go to sit in your room...but you do go to sleep and wake up there!

Very close to beach...the amenity of walking through the Hilton Village for beach access - over the top - flamingos, penguins, amazing flora and flauna...and music!!

Would totally recommend and stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSP_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
1,555 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,537 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,668 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $132 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing