We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Again”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Stay Again”
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I stayed at the Aqua Palms in late August along with my travel companion. We booked two of the superior deluxe rooms with diamond head/ocean view (more like glimpses!). We shopped around online and found the best rate, then rang Aqua Palms and they beat it by 10% We ended up paying around $126 per night, with the fifth night free. Fantastic value! Our check-in experience was not the best - while the majority of staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful, we found ourselves at the mercy of an older woman with glasses who didn't dein to look up and answer our rquest to check in 30 minutes early. She simply walked off into the back room and said "they're not ready yet". The rest of the experience was fantastic. The room was spotless, and the decor, while typically bright colours, was first rate. There is a TV/DVD player, small bathroom, kitchenette with minifridge. Our breakfast pastry was just fine, although it tended to be the same thing every day, which was no bother. We only had the 2-foot lanai but in truth it's so warm and the street below busy, you will not want to be sitting on the balcony below. The proximity to the beach is excellent, a 5 minute walk through the Hilton. The trolley to the Ala Moana mall (do not miss it!) stops right outside the hotel, or would be a 10 minute walk. The location is nice because you are just that little further out of the craziness of the main strip, whilst everything is in walking distance. Most days we walked to the other end of the beach and the surroundings are so nice, it's not a hassle at all. I would definitely go back if I could get a similar deal to previous. I have also recommended the hotel to others.

  • Liked — Price, Cleanliness, Quality of Room, Location
  • Disliked — A bit noisy (road noise, rooms are very quiet)
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around, then call direct for a 10% discount!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mall_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    781
    349
    100
    51
See reviews for
393
795
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Prior to taking an inter island cruise, we spent three days/two nights in Honolulu. We went with friends who stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, which was more than we wanted to spend for beds and showers for two nights. The Aqua Palms is directly across the street and for a lot less (especially with the AARP discount we received). We needed two room, since we were traveling with our adult daughter and teen age son. We were able to get two great rooms with refrigerator and micro wave for less than one room across the street. The rooms aren't anything fancy, but good sized, very clean and comfortable and the balcony view on the 8th floor was fantastic. The front desk personnel were so friendly and helpful. And we received a discount at the 24 hour coffee shop next door which has the best pancakes ever. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Honolulu.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sweetkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Great value! Booked on Expedia and read many reviews before choosing. Location was good, close to beach and Ala Moana Center. View of beach is blocked from construction, road noise is noticeable but tolerable. Great city view and view of Diamond head. I loved the fridge, microwave, and plates and silverware. Very clean and we got a free upgrade to a oceanview room! Didn't even have to ask! We got there early and they called us at 1pm telling us our room was ready for check in! All the staff was very nice and they have a convenient Expedia activities desk! Numerous restaurants and shopping are around. Moped and car rentals are within 1 block. One thing I didn't like was how the hallways were always hot. Rooms and lobby were always air conditioned though. We got a couples massage at the Aqua Spa and it was great! Very small and intimate, great price! Included a foot soak with hot stones and flowers! There is a coffee shop next door that is 24 hours and Aqua guests get 10% off. Parking is 15.00 a day. Check receipts upon check out because I caught a charge for a car I didn't rent! They fixed it quickly. I do recommend staying here overall!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Hot hallways
  • Tips/Secrets — Utilize and tip the Expedia activity desk personnel!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank islandgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Sausalito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

The traffic noise is intolerable

There are better hotels in the price range.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RileyAccounting.Net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

wonderful, cheap bargain hotel, right opposite Hilton village and beach, very clean, nicely decorated, and the lobby guys are incredibly helpful with anything from cheap taxis trips ect. Bargai hotel of Hawaii at the moment.....Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Of the three places we stayed at in Hawaii (two in Maui and the Aqua Palms) this place was my favorite! Ok, so I know it's got the cheesy Hawaiian decor, but TRUST me, when you get there you'll love it.

The bed was super comfy, the staff SUPER nice and helpful, and the view was great, too. We called the hotel after browsing online for the cheapest rate ($113/night for the studio superior at [--]) and the hotel matched it.

From our room we could see Diamond Head peaking out from the hotels and the ocean (not the beach, just the water) behind the Hilton. Our lanai was small but nice. Same with their pool.

We did find tiny ants on our night stand if we left food there, but it wasn't a problem at all, and I hear that happens everywhere in Waikiki. Overall, it was a great deal!

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Tiny ants.
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip the free breakfast, it's not worth it.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

I stayed at the Aqua Palms and Spa in September this year. The location is great, at the quieter end of Waikiki. Really close to the beach.

The staff are very friendly. The pool is a little small and the breakfast is basic however my room on the 11th floor was great. Comfortable bed, clean and modern bathroom with a good hairdryer. TV if you want to watch was fine. The Laundry room is also handy to have available at the hotel.

Recommendation: - If you don't want to take an organised tour of the Island take TheBus. It's a great system, you can buy a four day tourist pass or $20 or $2 a trip ( pick up a transfer if you get off). Also pick up a schedule from one of the buses or call their hotline to check bus numbers to different locations.

Over all I had a great experience

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa_Cronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing