We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely aqua palms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely aqua palms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

wonderful, cheap bargain hotel, right opposite Hilton village and beach, very clean, nicely decorated, and the lobby guys are incredibly helpful with anything from cheap taxis trips ect. Bargai hotel of Hawaii at the moment.....Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    777
    339
    97
    51
See reviews for
385
789
205
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

Of the three places we stayed at in Hawaii (two in Maui and the Aqua Palms) this place was my favorite! Ok, so I know it's got the cheesy Hawaiian decor, but TRUST me, when you get there you'll love it.

The bed was super comfy, the staff SUPER nice and helpful, and the view was great, too. We called the hotel after browsing online for the cheapest rate ($113/night for the studio superior at [--]) and the hotel matched it.

From our room we could see Diamond Head peaking out from the hotels and the ocean (not the beach, just the water) behind the Hilton. Our lanai was small but nice. Same with their pool.

We did find tiny ants on our night stand if we left food there, but it wasn't a problem at all, and I hear that happens everywhere in Waikiki. Overall, it was a great deal!

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Tiny ants.
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip the free breakfast, it's not worth it.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flygurl814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

I stayed at the Aqua Palms and Spa in September this year. The location is great, at the quieter end of Waikiki. Really close to the beach.

The staff are very friendly. The pool is a little small and the breakfast is basic however my room on the 11th floor was great. Comfortable bed, clean and modern bathroom with a good hairdryer. TV if you want to watch was fine. The Laundry room is also handy to have available at the hotel.

Recommendation: - If you don't want to take an organised tour of the Island take TheBus. It's a great system, you can buy a four day tourist pass or $20 or $2 a trip ( pick up a transfer if you get off). Also pick up a schedule from one of the buses or call their hotline to check bus numbers to different locations.

Over all I had a great experience

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa_Cronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

The location, staff, cleanilness, facilities, beds, pool, spa, pillows, view, etc. were awesome! Walk to Wikiki beach, resturaunts, shopping, parks, museums, can't be beat for the price, absolutely not! Brand new everything in our room, we had a new microwave, little frig, coffee maker, oohhh everything was awesome! Great decorations, bus stop RIGHT out front, the staff were SO sweet... don't be discouraged by the hallways, or elevator, they spent their money on the rooms which is MUCH more important if you ask me.

I did laundry for a $1 a load. Coffee house on the corner that was great, Thai place nearby awesome, Todai near as well. Just an awesome location, walked to Wikiki beach in 5 minutes.

The only thing is the pool was on the small side, but who comes for the pool with an awesome beach nearby?? Went to the spa as well.. mmm.. awesome.. can't say enough. STAY HERE!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Loud outside.. but hence the location!
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure to ask for a newly redone room, I believe some where still old.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank E-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

Staying at the Aqua Palms was an amazing experience!

We came for our honeymoon and were upgraded to the deluxe room which had a lovely lanai and a pretty decent view (we were on the 9th floor, so no view of Diamond Head, but we didn't care).

This was our first time in Hawaii and we were happy to see that all of the hotel staff were very very friendly and accomodating at all times.

The room was quiet and very clean, our bed was big and very comfortable, and the microwave and small refridgerator came in handy. We never heard any noise from other rooms and the only time we heard construction noise (they are doing construction across the street) was when we kept the door to the lanai open. Our room had it's own AC control so we could stay as cool as we needed to in our room, but the temperature in the hallways was pretty hot.

The elevators are quite slow, but there are three of them so we didn't have to wait too long to get on one at any point.

The free breakfast of danish, yogurt and juice was a nice touch and we liked the fact that we could either have it delivered to our room or take it "to go" on the days when we were heading out early for various island tours.

The pool was a bit small but we never used it because we preferred to go to the beach, which was a short walk away via the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street (the lobby of that hotel has a lot of cool birds and fish, so it's definitely worth walking though). The front desk at Aqua Palms gave us free use of beach towels anytime we needed them, so that was a great bonus.

The 24-hour coffee shop next door had really great food which was dirt cheap (cheaper than McDonald's) and if you mentioned that you were staying at the Aqua Palms and showed them your room key, you would get an extra 10% off!

We never rented a car, so the bus system came in quite handy for us, it was affordable and it took us anywhere we needed to go.

Since the hotel is located a fair bit away from the heart of Waikiki, we were always either the very first or the very last hotel to get picked up and dropped off from for the various tours and fishing trips that we took (they all provided transportation to and from the hotel).

For those on a budget, there are coupons everywhere! Anywhere you go, you can pick up different brochures with coupons for food, tours and attractions, which come in very handy.

All in all, we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — Price, Friendly Staff, Very Clean and Comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Location was not ideal for pick-ups and drops offs for shuttles of tour companies
  • Tips/Secrets — Make use of the free beach towel service :)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank toheavenlyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

I enjoyed my stay at the Aqua Palms and Spa. For the cost it was well worth it! My room was kept clean, but yes there were some preexisting stains on the carpet and walls. But that is about my only complaint. Oh only other issue is the $15 a day parking but I knew that before I went so I didn't rent a car, I took thebus and that worked out well. $4.00 round trip and the routes run allover the island. There is a bus stop a few steps from the front door of the hotel
The bed was comfortable, view was nice, and I had a basic room...I could see to the Ocean. I also could see the construction. It didn't wake me, nor did I hear much of it untill the beach (see below about that) The breakfast was delivered each morning to my room, pastry, yogurt, and juice. And a paper was offered at the same time (not the Sunday) The room included a microwave,coffee maker, and small refg. They even washed my coffee mugs when they did the cleaning. The bathroom has the curved shower curtain rod to give a more spacious feel, and granite countertops. The shower was clean, hot, and the water pressure was good. The AC worked fine in my room, not too loud, the hall ways are warm.
The front desk staff was great, very friendly! The bell boys were super helpful!
The beach is a short walk, but if you want quiet on the beach away from the construction walk down a little bit further, as the noise it kind of annoying. The pool is on the second floor, quiet most of the time and only 4' deep at the deepest end. I didn't try any of the spa services, and it didn't look like they were very busy.

The hotel in general seemed clean, and they get a B for decor, this coming from an Interior Designer. I think they made a good effort at a resort look. Usually better decor = more costly accommodations, that being said...
I feel they found a good mix for an enjoyable reasonably priced stay. I would defiantly consider staying again.

  • Liked — Cost, Breakfast, location, staff
  • Disliked — parking fees, 4' depth of pool, and stained carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the bus! It's easy, goes everywhere and it is cheap!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank justthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

Nice comfortable clean place to stay. I was here to help my dad in the hospital so I just wanted an inexpensive room that didn't require driving into the heart of Waikiki. I had a queen bed with couch, room also had a lanai, frig and microwave. King size bed rooms don't have a lanai, just a small "juliet" balcony. Couch was a very nice touch, made for a fairly roomy room.

Clean, good A/C, parking lot does have tight ramps and turns but not as bad as the reviews make it sound. All day coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch, I didn't try the room service delivery of continental breakfast. Pool is a joke, so small with very few lounge chairs. Much better to cross the street and hit the beach at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

For the price (under $100) I thought it was great. I wouldn't pay more than that - for over $100 I expect a real pool and poolside service and outdoors restaurant.

Nice short walk to Ala Moana Center, with great shopping, and restaurants where locals go, not just tourists.

Wireless only in the lobby, ethernet connection in the rooms.

  • Liked — price, comfortable room
  • Disliked — small pool and deck, no restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — search for the cheapest rate
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank akimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing