We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!!!”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2006

The location was perfect. Probably about a 15-20 min into Waikiki and the Ala Moana Shopping Center. Continental Breakfast is a little more than a child's snack pack (Danish, Warm Juice, Yogurt). Eggs 'n' Things is about a 5-10 min walk. Great food, good prices, you can't go wrong. When we first arrived, we were given a room that wasn't cleaned properly, so we were promptly accomodated to a different room. However, the room we got was adjacent to the elevators which kept us up all night. Not what you expect especially since we arrived a few hours prior. In the morning we complained again. We were moved to a lower floor, but the room was much better, clean, and spacious. If you plan to rent a car, don't bother renting from the hotel agent. We were able to find much better rates just outside Waikiki (Enterprise rent a car on Ala Moana Blvd. near the Honda dealership). Parking will cost you $15.00/night. Take your time manuevering through the lot and parking your car (very small and easy to hit something). All in all, great deal for the price. Staff is quite friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shaq&ani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    781
    349
    100
    51
See reviews for
393
795
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

Thanks to reviews on this site, we chose the Aqua Palms for our first trip to Waikiki Beach April 27 to May 4, 2006. The furnishings and decorating are premium, different, and lovely. The beds are extremely comfortable. We loved our lanai with a view of Diamond Head, as well as the beach [looking between two buildings]. I used the clean laundry facilities. The staff was greatly accomodating. As mentioned in previous reviews, the bathroom and closet are small, but the bathroom is quite elegant. We dined twice at the Walilana Coffee House next door. They have a nice, small salad bar, and the food was excellent and reasonable. There is a Subway and a McDonalds just down the street. If you are budget travelers as we are, you will like Long's Drugs in the Aloa Moana Mall. Go there first for groceries. For souvenirs, we shopped at the Swap Meet, as well as the International Marketplace. We used The Bus extensively for $2.00 each way with a transfer to get back.

Helpful?
16 Thank Revuguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2006

I wasn't sure what to expect, but it exceeded all my expectations. The rooms were very clean, the location was great. We had a view of both Diamond Head and the ocean from our balcony. The staff was great and upgraded our room when we told them it was our honeymoon. There were many resturant options within walking distance and it was great having the Hilton Hawiian Village across the street.

I was concerned when a reviewer said that he couldn't adjust the room temperature, but we had a thermostat by our bed that worked perfectly. No problems with the toliets or the magnetic card.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2006

We liked the Aqua Palms. The hotel's within walking distance of the beach in front of the Hilton Hawaiian and about 8 blocks from the Ala Moana shopping center. The rooms seem to have been remodeled within the past few years and were in good shape. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

Each morning, the hotel delivers to guests' doorsteps cans of guava juice, yogurt, and pastries for breakfast. The hotel is next to a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is average and Denny's-like in variety, but it's reasonably priced.

Parking is $15.00 a day, and be sure to rent a small car since the garage space is tight. There was a woman who sat in the parking lot all day in a folding chair checking license plates. Please wave to her--her life must be hell.

Recommended for location, amenities, and cost.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank Rebemdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 10, 2006

The hotel was very nice. Nicely decorated. Across from Hilton. This hotel was in walking distant of so many things, it worked out well for me and my 2 friends. We didnt mind walking, but there are always cabs. The hotel was such a good deal, and everything turned out great. Would defintely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Aqua Palms May 1-8. I extensivley researched to find a decent hotel for a resonable price, and for the most part Aqua Palms fit the bill.

First of all, some of the pictures on various websites are misleading. They make the lobby look big and spacious, however this is not the case. It's not a cave or anything but it is snug. The parking garage is a tight squeeze you might have issues if you're driving a bigger SUV. We had a honda pilot and managed just fine. There is always a parking garage attendant in the parking garage that checks you in and out each time, it's a bit annoying but worth the extra security. Parking is $15.00 a day, but seems about average for Honolulu. The people at the front desk were nice and extremely accomadating. We had searched for the lowest fare on the internet and found it at Tripres.com When we called the Aqua Palms they matched the price and took an extra $15.00 off. It get's better, a few days before our scheduled trip I checked the prices online again and saw that they had dropped even more. When we went to check in my husband showed them what we had found, and although they didn't match it they took another $60.00 off the price and threw in free breakfast. (Some people get offered breakfast others don't, I'm not quite sure their policy on this) We ended up paying $87.00/ night before taxes and surcharges we're added on. Breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but it is free. You get a danish, yougurt and a juice. The juice was always room temperature, but it was enough to get you going in the morning, but you could not survive on it alone. Another perk, you get to choose what time you want it delivered to your room. The elevators in the hotel are a NIGHTMARE! We would sometimes wait 5 minutes for the elevator. They have 3 elevators, and while the hotel has undergone extensive remodeling the elevator system has not. We were on the fifth floor and opted for the stairs most of the time. We were a little worried when when we got off the elevator the first time, the hallways were stifling! They were so hot and humid and I started second guessing our hotel choice. Once we got in the room though doubts vanished and we were fine. The rooms are comfortable and bright. Everything looks brand new. There is a mini fridge, microwave, and a few plates, cups, and utensils for your use. The rooms also have a tv with a built in dvd player. Everything in the room is extremely modern and up to date. The bed was extremely comfortable not to firm or soft. The bathroom has granite countertops and they have your basic shampoo, lotion, and soap. Housekeeping always got to our room in a timely matter and we never felt worried leaving anything valuable out. They do have a free safe in your room if your worried about that sort of thing. This hotel is close to lots of shopping and restaraunts. The beach is very close and you just have to cut through Hilton Hawaiian Village (Be careful or you will have hotel envy) The beach adjacent to hilton is not all that, if you want a good beach go down further toward diamond head and you will find waves that are rideable. Because of the Aqua Palms location it's alot easier to get in and out of honolulu. You're not in the thick of the city but close enough to enjoy all it has to offer, bring your walking shoes! If you want a good restaraunt reccomendation ask the front desk and they will give you an honest opinion. They even offered us a free coupon to the place we were going to. Another note, I didn't see ANY children here, I don't know if there really wasn't any or if I just didn't catch them. Never had any problems with noise from neighbors. Noise from the street was a different story. I don't know if Ala Moana (the street the hotel is on) is popular for street racing but you could hear it going on at night. We were always so tired it didn't really bother us much, if you're worried about ask to stay on the back side of the hotel that faces residental housing. Stay with your laundry if you use the laundry room. Some guy got his jeans stolen out of the dryer (at least they left his underwear!) and wasn't too happy about it. All and all we had a nice stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Rebley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikiki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Aqua Palms is a rare breed of hotel now a days. I have worked in many hotels and it is one of the finest and best priced I've seen. Depending on which room you choose the Aqua Palms includes many of the extras that other hotels no longer offer. For example they have complimentary coffee in the mornings, free internet service, free local calls, a spa and much more! Also the front desk's staff and travel desk is incrediably friendly, knowledgable and ready to help. The best part is that it is priced less then other hotels that offer much less. It has also been recently renovated so the decor is lovely. It is one of the best deals in town, that's for sure!

Helpful?
20 Thank Rikkie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing