We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - no complaints at all”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed March 4, 2009

The hotel is great - the staff is so nice, the rooms were very clean - decorated nicely, big flat-screen tv with cable. We were upgraded to a Diamond Head view on the 10th floor - really beautiful. We didn't have a walk-out balcony, but it was nice to open the blinds and have the sun and fresh air come in. The air-conditioning was nice & cold when we needed it. The hotel is in a great location - near shops and restaurants, and a short walk to the beach. Bus stop close by if you need it. All the complaints about the elevators are exagerrated - in 7 days I think we waited twice - and our wait was less than 5 minutes those times. They addressed the fact that the elevators are being upgraded, too. Wednesday nights from 5-6 pm they have a nice cocktail hour with wine and their signature drink - also some nice appetizers. We got an amazing rate and the hotel was worth way more than we paid. Very nice place - we loved it. We were really happy and would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJGirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

The Aqua Palms is a budget hotel meant to capture guests who otherwise would stay at the Hilton Village or the Ala Moana Hotel. Those visiting Oahu for the first time and looking for a more "tourist" experience should stay at one of the many Waikiki hotels.

In response to the Manager's posting. The Aqua Palms staff are extremely friendly and responsive. However, they should fix the elevator and remove the insulting placard from the broken elevator. There is no excuse to make guest repeatably climb stairs instead of waiting in long lines, sometimes extending into the lobby, in order to ride the elevator.

There is no indication that the hotel has any intention of fixing the problem. To add to the insult the hotel posted a placard on one of the broken elevators partially indicating that climbing stairs is a healthy alternative to taking the elevator. Thanks for doing your guest a favor.

This insult places your hotel service at the industry bottom. Nice job!

Another good alternative for potential guests, choose another hotel from the 100 other choices.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaMan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalms, Hotel Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2010

Aloha AlaskaMan2006,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay with us in February 2009. We regret that you were affected by our elevator re-modernization project that was in progress during your stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that you did not find the information within the content of the placard that you referred to which explained that the elevators where undergoing a complete and total renovation. It was never stated that they were "broken". We did indeed include in the letter that the stairs were also available and could be a healthy alternative for travelling short distances and that it may be quicker at times during the renovation process. Many guests were unaware that the stairs were available and appreciated the tip. We regret that you were insulted by this information and thank you for shedding light on your perception. We will keep that in mind going forward.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that you enjoyed your time in beautiful Waikiki.

Thank you,

Kahealani Doss
Hotel Manager
Aqua Palms & Spa
kdoss@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed there for 3 nights. First things first, I really liked the room, it was clean and we upgraded to a lanai for only $15 extra a day, we had a view of the ocean (from the bed closest to the window) and Dimondhead. the TV was fantastic and even though no HBO, there were plenty of channels.

The people were very nice but late check out would have cost and additional 1/2 day. The parking is $20 a night. When we walked in there was a special for an hour long massage at $65, and we took them up on that! Nice.

The lobby area is small, and looks like its had too many coats of paint over the years. The parking was treacherous and cramped and there was one elavator that was fast and old, and another that was slower and newly renovated.

The pool was tiny! The continental breakfast was pretty simple, but there is an IHOP just opened up next door and the Wailana coffee house, was fantastic, best pancakes I have ever had, try them with the Coconut syrup and cinnamon!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klc312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Continental breakfast was great every morning. Staff was oustanding! Gave overall amazing service. Rooms were great and versatile!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUNNA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed from Feb 10 to Feb 14. Found the rooms to be tastefully decorated in island decor and even had a real bonsai plant on the table. Huge flat screened tv, comfy bed, AC worked great. We overlooked Ala Moana, enjoyed the view, and didn't notice the street noise, if you kept the sliding glass door closed. We noticed some ants on the counter, but one call to the front desk, and a guy came immediately to spray. Didn't have any more problems. The room came with a small refrig, microwave and coffee pot. Room service was terrific. So was the continental breakfast provided by the pool each morning. Coffee, tea, two kinds of juice, two kinds of muffins, croissants, bananas, oranges and apples. What more could you ask for? Met lots of nice people each morning and shared tips on where to go for the day. One of the three elevators was closed for renovations, but the wait wasn't bad. Chill out. You're on vacation. We chose not to get a rental car this trip and tried doing the island by city bus. Parking is a problem every where and very expensive. We took the Roberts Shuttle from the airport ,because you can't take more than a small carryon bag on the city bus. You don't need a reservation and just hop on the Roberts Shuttle outside luggage claim at the airport. It costs $9 one way or $15 roundtrip (good for 1 year) compared to $35 each way for a taxi. Bought a 4 day city bus pass at ABC for $20. The city bus stop is right outside the hotel and you can navigate the entire island easily. Bus drivers were friendly and helpful, as were the passengers. Aqua Palms is within walking distance to the beach, shopping, ABC, Food Pantry grocery store, park and many restaurants. Go to the Aloha Bowl Swap Meet for great deals on souveniers! We had a great trip and many adventures. Will definitely stay at the Aqua Palms again and do our next trip by bus!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Merrykays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Palms. Hotel was perfect. The service was beyond our expectations! Our room was spacious, clean and very modern. We loved watching the sunrise from our balcony daily. Great bed and TV. I travel for a living, and I will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Oahu. The staff was even better than the accomodations! We met the staff at the 'meet & greet', and they were fabulous! We are going to be back in Hawaii in March, and we will ONLY stay at the Aqua Palms! A special thanks to "Kovy"...you are the BEST!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank empresskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

upon booking had requested 2 double/queen beds...we were given a queen bed and a hideaway sofa bed. Would not check us in, even though it was only a few minutes before 3...where to park while checking in was not clear, hotel on very busy Ala Moana Street, so could not park on street. Ended up parking in delivery area, was told to move immediately. Cannot stress enough that customer service was non-existent! There was no ice machine on our floor, no parking access, had to make sure that we parked on the Ala Moana side of the parking structure or would have to traipse around with luggage. Room had ants, very tiny bathroom. The ONLY nice thing I can say about this hotel is had a large flat screen TV (and believe me, that is not enough to ever go back). The parking garage was so narrow it was extremely difficult to get into the parking spade and I didn't have a very large car, plus it cost $20 a day to park there. The swimming pool looked very murky, not clear...would not have gone swimming in it.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathieEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalms, Hotel Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2009

Aloha CathieEugene,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Aqua Palms & Spa. It appears that we feel short of your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were anything but satisfied. I am very surprised to hear that you felt the customer service was non existent. This is an area that we pride ourselves in and I am truly disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in this area the most. My personal phone number is placed in every single guest room should a valued guest ever need further assistance during their stay. I would have loved the opportunity to address your concerns while you were still with us, and to have been able to better accommodate your needs.

Thank you for sharing what you felt were challenges with the arrival experience and parking areas. We appreciate your comments and will certainly take them into consideration as we further discuss how to improve these areas. Should you wish to share any additional feedback with me, I welcome your comments via my email at rdoss@aquaresorts.com. Thank you once again for your time.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Kahealani Doss
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $128 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing