We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They try hard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“They try hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Small hotel just across the street from the massive (Really, it's huuuge) Hilton. Diamond Head view rooms (it's far off, but yes it's there) have nice clear open views with no buildings really blocking. The manager reception once/week was lovely. The tiny lobby hosted a Hawaiian trio and there were a few snacks and a homemade pineapple cocktail. We never used the pool, but we saw a few others there. Small, but could be OK. The workout room is very small with a machine or two. The room was a nice size, with a large balcony, and we didn't have trouble with noise or anything else really. The biggest con for us is location. You've got to walk several long long blocks to the beach (about 15 min) or into the heart of Waikiki. Nt really near places we wanted to eat (Outback, Red Lobster) either. It's not a dealbreaker, and, of course, that's why it's cheaper. Depends on what you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha mosthecat:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay but unfortunately did not like the location.

Many guests find our location ideal. Close to the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. These are all within walking distance and our property is right on the main bus line which takes you to almost anywhere you want to go.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope you took home fond memories of your stay in the islands and will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    777
    339
    97
    51
See reviews for
385
789
205
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed 17 days starting january 9th 2014.
Decent rooms. Comfortable beds, good size TV, Internet included with good signal strength. Location excellent 5 minute walk to the mall. some of the nice restaurants and food pantry is in that mall
Negatives - Construction next door so noisy after 7am. Bath tub very small. I have never seen one this small.We had no water views
I would stay there again

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masakazimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha Masakazinny:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last month.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've got no complaints about this hotel at all. Clean room, very comfortable bed, shower worked well and was hot (only small sized bath). We booked one of the cheaper rooms and you can not actually go out onto the balcony, but since we stayed one night only and we interested in a cheaper room rate, that posed no problem to us. Pool was small but nice. Helpful staff and held bags for us till later and allowed us use of wifi after check in. No complaints. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniStubbs-Thrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha Joni Stubbs-Thrush:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Comments of "perfect" and "5 stars" who could ask for anything better than that!

All of the staff and management are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit. Hopefully for a longer stay.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockeport, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have absolutely no complaints about our stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. The hotel was clean; the bed was very nice; the air conditioner worked fantastic; the balcony was perfect; the front desk staff were efficient; the valet was extremely pleasant and helpful; the cleaning lady was very friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect - close to several restaurants, Waikiki Beach and ABC Stores. It's hard not to be close to an ABC in Honolulu but it is possible. We were less than a five minute walk from everything.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room on the 9th floor. Very nice view. Quiet inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Aloha Joyce Y:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that the staff was very accommodating and helpful and that you enjoyed the location of the property and its surroundings.

It's great to hear that this was your vacation of a lifetime!

All of the staff and management hope to see you again on a return visit in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

this is a small boutique hotel with out all the resort facilities and a massive pool (why would you need a pool when in Hawaii?!).
The hotel is very clean and features a great & friendly staff. The views are of Diamond Head and the Ocean. Rooms are spacious and offer all that one needs, including mini fridge & microwave. The proximity of he hotel to shopping and beach are outstanding. Also, bus stop are outside the lobby of the hotel, or a short walking distance.
A very frequent business traveler here (this was a vacation / work trip) . . . and have been to the best and the worst. This is a good hotel and a great value for the money.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shlomo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Aloha Shlomo K:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I am pleased to hear that the staff treated you with the true aloha spirit for which we are known and that you enjoyed the location of the property.

What's a better place than Hawaii for work/vacation trip!

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

On numerous trips, I have noticed that this hotel was one of the first stops for the airport limousine bus. It is great when you are tired from your flight. I appreciate being able to walk to Ala Moana shopping center and Hilton Hawaiian village. It is a short walk to Hard Rock Cafe. You can catch a bus across the street from the hotel which will take you a few short blocks to Waikiki shopping. I was offered a room upgrade for an extra $25 and accepted. I had done this on a prevous trip and was able to experience the Pent House suite. It was very nice, separate bedroom , living room, full kitchen (complete with stove, microwave, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, plates, cups, silverware). The kitchen came in handy to reheat my leftovers from Wailana Coffee Shop. On my last trip, I was given a room upgrade that included a large living room area, king size bed and 2 sets of sliding glass doors with a fenced in patio area adjacent to the swimming pool. On previous trips, I have stayed in standard rooms and they are comfortable and good size for 2 people.

Room Tip: I usually pay for an upgrade in order to get a room with a partial view of Waikiki and Diamond head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Aloha Fred6301:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is nice to see that you have stayed with us many times and continue to come back.

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 1/9-1/13 on a solo trip to Hawaii. I decided on this hotel because it fit within my budget and based upon positive reviews from Trip Advisor, it did not disappoint. I immediately felt welcomed, safe and the staff always offered suggestions and were always smiling. And two of the hotel employees (Gennifer and Stephanie) hooked me up with champagne and chocolate on my birthday which was delivered to my room and that was just so sweet and thoughtful of them, and really made my day. This hotel is great for singles and it happens to be on a major trolley and bus line, I never waited no more than 5 mins for a bus to the busy Waikiki area or a trolley. Its also directly across the street from HHV if you want to hang out there for awhile.

Room Tip: I chose the City View room. I had no issues with construction noise and had a great view. Do stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha MJ3282:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Happy Belated Birthday! I'm glad to hear that Stephanie and Gennifer were able to contribute to the happiness of your day!

We look forward to to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
WIth Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing