We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the Hilton at a fraction of the cost. Bus at the door. 15 minute walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre. Restaurants and shops close by. Beach close by. Tour desk in the lobby. This is a small, manageable hotel with 2 elevators and we stayed a week. Our room was small but suitable to our needs. Our balcony faced a construction site but didn't bother us as we didn't sleep in after 7am and they were gone by 3pm so as we used the balcony after that. We used the pool once - it is small and in the shade. Beds were comfortable. Everything worked in the room and it was quiet. Housekeeping was fine. The room needed updating with more storage and larger bathroom but for just sleeping there it was fine. The welcome party on Thursday was great with snacks, a drink and music and a chance to meet other guests. It is a very nice touch for them to do that for their guests (thank you Patty). Would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Quiet room is away from the city street and higher up.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Aloha Travelbunny09:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Aqua Waikiki Palms.

I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed our location and the Thursday evening Manager's Reception. I enjoyed the picture of the three of us.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Aqua Palms is located in a great area of Waikiki. It's walking distance to pretty much everything and for the price it's definitely good value. There is good car parking though it is expensive at $25/night - but I guess that's a location thing.

The IHOP is handy for breakfast but there are a couple of places just down the road which are better. There's also a little ABC convenience store around the corner which is handy for drinks and snacks.

There's not much to say besides it's good value for money and it's good for what it is. I'd stay here again if I find myself back in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Aloha Twists:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last month.

I'm delighted to see that you would stay with us again.

Our location can't be beat. Short walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Aqua Palms and were quite satisfied. Our party had two rooms on the 5th floor -- one with two queen beds and one with a king bed + sofa bed. Both rooms had microwaves and mini-fridges. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel facing a construction site. Construction began at 7am each weekday; we could hear the noise through our balcony door, but it was not terribly disruptive.

As noted by other reviewers, the hotel's location makes it a great choice for anyone interested in the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We walked to the beach at Fort DeRussy Beach Park and went to the military museum there. We also took advantage of the dining options at the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street.

I was really impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the Aqua Palms. Everyone, from the housekeeping staff to the bell man to the front desk staff, greeted us daily and offered advice when asked. A front desk employee pointed us to the Shore Bird at one of the Outrigger properties for breakfast... It was perfect! A different front desk employee directed us to the beach at Fort DeRussy. The kindness and politeness of every employee we encountered made us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay.

I agree with other reviewers that the parking lot is very tight and a little dangerous (parking was $25/night). However, there are so many buses and trolleys to take you to some of the main attractions that you may not need a car.

I also agree with other reviewers that this is not really a boutique hotel. It is a middle-tier property with a great location. That said, we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and would stay at the Aqua Palms again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Aloha elilip:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki with your family.

It is always enjoyable to read reviews that compliment our location and most importantly our staff. All of our staff try to make our guests feel as if they are part of the ohana (family)!

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

P.S. I bet with all the cold weather you are getting in Chicago right now that you wish you were back in Hawaii! Stay warm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff are very friendly and everything from check in to check out is quick and painless. The hotel is a little dated but the good location makes up for that. Its a 10 minute walk to either Ala Moana mall one way or the Main shopping street at Waikiki beach the other direction. The beach can be accessed thru the Hilton (which is directly in front of the Aqua palms) or a road running right next to the Hilton. It only takes a few minutes walk. The HIltons beach is great with a cove to swim in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Aloha Rainy0:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki with your family.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the staff!

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this hotel for 13 nights at a recommendation from a friend - I'm really glad, it was a great place to stay.

We booked the special Australia rate from the website that got us a discount, so decided to book the partial ocean view room (with booking this room, it also gets you breakfast included at the IHOP next door each day - their options were bacon eggs and pancakes or french toast or porridge)

Checked in at 7am after arriving into Honolulu, our room was ready - yay. Hotel staff were fantastic, giving us tips on where is good to go, providing directions and always able to change larger US $$ for smaller ones.

Room was great, bed was so comfortable, view was lovely. Was so nice sitting out on the balcony each day. Was also good that the room had a fridge and a microwave in it (we went and stocked up on drinks each day at the ABC store, and used the microwave for some snacks that we picked up at Walmart)

Hotel was in a good location, about in the middle from Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Moana Center - we spent lots of time at both so it worked well for us being there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Aloha lozstar:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last November.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed our property and staff.

We all wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to serving you again!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice hotel in a great area. Great staff - friendly and willing to help. Within easy walking distance of the beach and many restaurants and shopping. Loved the lanai and the views of the ocean and Diamond Head.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captjrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Aloha Captjrk:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you not only like our location but our staff as well. I believe that our staff is our greatest asset!

All of us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope you took home fond memories of your stay with us and will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Happy New Year!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great place to stay in Waikiki. Its walking distance to the beach. right across from the Hilton. Also walking distance to the mall and lots of food. Love that it had a microwave and a mini fridge. We picked up breakfast food and ate in our room. Pool was great but didn't spend much time there because we would rather spend our time at the gorgeous Waikiki :) Room was clean and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Aloha Megan B:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is almost a year since your last visit in February 2013. It sounds like it might be time for a return trip!

Wishing you all the best in 2014!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
WIth Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $125 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing