We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki Resort & Hotel”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We traveled in June 2013 to Oahu to attend my youngest daughter's graduation. We stayed at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. It was slightly under $300. nightly and $25. daily for parking. When we first arrived we paniced because there is "a lot" of traffic and congestion and their sign(like all others is tiny. We had to park in front of the lobby and partially on the sidewalk after having missed it 2 or three times even using a GPS. Once we checked in we had to drive a very, very high incline in order to get to the extremely tight parking garage. Parking in and out was very challenging. On one day of our 8 day stay they ran out of water for about 32 hours. We had returned tired and sweaty and could not clean ourselves. In the morning they still had not fixed the water. The rooms were okay and clean but quite older accomodations. We had a small partial view across the street of the ocean and our patio was tiny with one chair missing and fabric on remaining chair worn of sun rot. The staff was fairly friendly. One redeeming value was there were many places nearby to eat and tons and tons of ABC convenience stores. Their pool was pretty small and they have one small barbecue grill. Their exercise room was fair but no fans with one eliptical machine and one treadmil and very limited free weights. If it wasn't that it WAS Waikiki, I would say that it was well over priced but the Hilton across the street is substantially more. If you are on a limited budget this is okay if not, do not go there as you do not get much for your money.

Room Tip: Nothing to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha Manuel S G:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and I apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay.

The water outage that you refer to was due to the repair of a main water pipe for the building. The repairs were schedule for overnight to limit the inconvenience to guests but unfortunately the repair company ran into problems that were beyond their control. This resulted in the water being out for approximately 14 hours.

All of the staff and management hope you and your family took home fond memories of your stay in Hawaii and will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I decided at the last minute to take a trip to Hawaii. Found the Aqua Palms through an internet search for a hotel. Since we have already taken numerous trips this year and more to come I was trying to go as inexpensive as possible. My husband is a bit of a hotel snob and wasn't happy we weren't staying at a resort. He was however happy when he saw the price and went along with my choice. I called the hotel a couple days before and was assisted in making transportation arrangements and planning our trip while we were there. All very easy. After a horrible trip over from Arizona we were so happy to walk into a large, comfortable room. Plenty of space for our 6 day stay. It's right across from a major resort that we were able to take advantage of as if we were staying there. The trolly stops right in front of the hotel for drop off and across the street for pick up. The hotel gave us a map and helped direct us on how to use the trolly which was simple actually. The room is very clean and we actually liked being able to walk out onto the balcony and see all the hustle and bustle. We still had a great view of the ocean and once we closed the door all noise was completely shut out. Every time I called the front desk they answered right away. They give free use of beach towels and chairs which the resort charges a fee for. May need updating in the future, but I think it is fine at this time. We used the laundry facilities while we were there and all was good. Did not use the pool, but noticed many young children there. Ours are older so we hit the beach instead. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend it to those not wanting to spend a lot and still get the use of a resort. The only reason I am not giving this hotel a 5 point rating is that their wifi is horrible. I was not able to use at all. I used my hot spot instead. If this isn't important to you then I would say it's a great place to stay. Aloha!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. We did have a partial ocean view and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha Bernice S:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a nice lengthy review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear that we were better than you expected and that you and your family enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management hope you took home fond memories and will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Hawaii for our 2nd anniversary. We got a great online deal for a Partial Ocean View Lanai room at Aqua Palms. It was the best rate that I found for hotels in Waikiki on the days that we were there! We had a view of Diamond Head and the ocean. Aqua Palms Waikiki is right across the street from the Hilton Village. We were only there for 3 days at 2 nights, but I loved the location. It was about a 7-10 minute walk to the beach and it's far away enough from the night-life/commotion of luxury row and the downtown area (we got great sleep at the Aqua Palms!).

I was impressed with the service from the moment we arrived. Our flight got in from Japan around 0730 and we arrived to the hotel by 0845. Even though check-in isn't until 3pm, our room was ready and we were welcomed warmly. Because we were celebrating our anniversary, we were upgraded to a room on the penthouse floor. It was awesome getting to stay on the top floor! The view was great and the room was very quiet. The Partial Ocean View rooms are quite spacious. Upon entering, there was a little "hallway" with a closet; the bathroom had double sinks and a separate area for the toilet; then another door separated the actual bedroom (which included sleeping area, table with two chairs, small wet bar, and the lanai). The hotel provides towels and beach chairs for guests to use free of charge during their stay. They also provided great maps and recommendations for places to eat and places to visit. After our first day out, we were surprised to find an anniversary gift from hotel management -- chocolate covered macadamia nuts and a bottle of champagne! It was so thoughtful and a great touch. On Thursdays there is a manager's reception with live music, light snacks, and a signature cocktail. We really enjoyed this! It was also a nice, value-add that the hotel has. We didn't have any problem with the wifi connection -- which is always very important! It worked great!

A short 5 minute walk gets you to Hale Koa (the military hotel). The Hale Koa was booked when we were in Waikiki, but it was nice being close to it in order to use the NEX and other military amenities. We went "downtown" for eating and shopping both nights that we were in Waikiki. The walk was approximately 30 minutes, but it was an easy/pleasant walk. We could have taken the bus, but the weather was really nice and the walk is actually enjoyable. If you don't want to make the walk, there are a lot of places to eat and things to do around the hotel.

The reason that I gave a rating of "average" for cleanliness is because we noticed that the floor in our bedroom wasn't cleaned well. When we were making sure that we packed everything, my husband checked under the bed and there was an empty water bottle that wasn't ours. Also, I'm almost certain that there was a piece of cookie or some food on the floor near the table in our room, but I didn't want to touch it. I didn't complain about these small things because we didn't stay long and it wasn't enough to ruin our stay. Everything else in the room was very clean and up to par.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NavyWife11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha NavyWife11:

Mahalo for taking time to write a nice and lengthy review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you were impressed with the service and staff.

Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping challenges you encountered. I will be sure to pass along this information so that it doesn't happen again.

Happy Anniversary and many more to come!

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Room is small but clean and comfortable. Great value for the money especially considering location and price of nearby hotels. Best part is that its quiet. For a downtown hotel I expected to hear noise but didn't. Close to many amenities and a short walk to the beach. Bonus; checkout is 12 noon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57Storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha 57Storm:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully we only had to stay there for 2 nights. The hotel is in a desperate need of revamping. Old tiered furniture and carpet. The pool is a joke. The staff kind and professional.
Location is very good, only a block away from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha TaitianaAbuDhabi:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

Although our rooms may be a little dated, they are clean and fresh and I would like to believe that the staff makes up for what the rooms may be lacking.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spent 7 nights in this hotel from 27 Jun to 4 July. We booked for two queen beds room but we got one queen bed and sofa bed instead. We told the front desk right away and they moved us to another room the following day. The room is clean, thanks to Delia, the housekeeper. During our stay, we didn't hear any noise from the construction although our room is on the 3rd floor fronting the construction site. Great location, near to the beach, 15 minutes walk to Al Moana Center, and lots of restaurants nearby. We had 10% discount for every meal at IHOP and Wailana Cafe, just show your card key. Great smiling staff, friendly and accommodating. We will stay in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha Carolyn N:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review for us regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is nice see that you were treated with the "True Aloha Spirit" for which we are known, especially by Delia your housekeeper.

I'm thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again!

Please be sure to introduce yourself on a return visit. I look forward to meeting you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

OK let me start with the pros....The price of this hotel is half the price of many of the others in the same area. We only stayed here for two nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful when needed. The location is very convenient to the beach, shops and most importantly...Starbucks!! However, the cons are our room was very, very small and though it was very clean it is in real need of updating. There is only one mirror in the room and it's in the bathroom and there is hardly any counterspace. The view from our balcony was a construction site. $20 per day parking seems excessive. There is a grill poolside but they both close at 10pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Aloha Laura F:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Yes, our location is very centrally located with easy access to the beach, restaurants and shops. We offer a great value in Waikiki. The parking rates for our property are comparable or less than most of the properties in Waikiki.

We do realize that the rooms are in need of updating and we will be working on a model room in the near future.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will stay with us again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $126 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing