We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Addison, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Aqua Palms before heading to Kauai. We especially liked the location, as you can walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The concierge directed us to a small cafe close-by where we could get breakfast (not a chain). We found the bed/pillows very comfortable and the room a good size, as we were out most days sightseeing. We loved the ice water in the lobby after being out in the heat. We found the Aqua Palms a good value.

Room Tip: We were on street side with no problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Cheryl120:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Palms.

Our staff and our location are two of our best selling features and I'm delighted to hear that you were pleased with both.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    727
    312
    90
    47
See reviews for
359
738
200
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My stay at this facility June 7-9 was the first stop on a multi-island vacation. My vacation started off well. The staff was very helpful. The view was incredible. I'm looking forward to my next trip and I'm sure I will be staying at Aqual Palms Waikiki when I return to Oahu.

Room Tip: Stay on the penthouse floor if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Nancy W:

How exciting, we were an excellent start to your multi-island vacation!

I'm delighted to hear that you will stay with us again on a return visit! Until next time...............

Me ke Aloha Pumehana
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for just one night pre cruise, was handy location with just a short cab ride to the Pier, staff were very helpful and stored our baggage after check out until we were ready to leave, room was spacious and clean with very comfortale bed. Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha caf69:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Although only for a short visit, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your cruise around the islands and that you will come and visit us again soon!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Mo.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Paid to much for this room for 3 people. It had an old pull out sofa bed with a thin mattress for the 3rd person. The lampshade was so old it was cracked. The room itself was very clean. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpipkin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tpipkin2:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I'm disappointed that you felt the room was too small for your party of three. We are currently working on upgrading our rooms and hope to have this project underway by year end.

All of the staff and management hope you will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for our final night in Hawaii after 8 nights on Kauai and the central location was the main appeal of this place. Checked in with friendly reception staff and made our way up to our room. Didn't pay the extra for an ocean view so our view was an unspectacular view of a building site, but since we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room it was fine. Very clean room, and good amenities, and the fact that the location is so convenient for Waikiki Beach and very close to Ala Moana Mall (only 2 blocks away) made this place a no-brainer. Checked out the next day and the staff stored our baggage until 7.30pm when our shuttle to the airport arrived. IHOP in the hotel lobby is a convenient spot for a big breakfast. After a long day of shopping and exploring in Waikiki we arrived back and reception staff very kindly gave us a key to a casual shower in the pool area so we could freshen up before our flight which was much appreciated. Overall a great location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Not a luxury spot but realistic expectations will reward.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tashandbradworldwide:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. I'm just disappointed to hear that you were only with us for one night.

Yes, location is one of our main selling points. We are close to the beach, restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance yet we are just outside the heart of Waikiki.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope that you will be able to return and stay with us a little longer on your next visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been here before. The hotel is exactly what you expect for the price your paying. It's a great deal, and I would definitely recommend someone to stay here. But they don't have any designated smoking areas on property. and if you do smoke on property, you are fined $500. But other than that, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinTroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha RobinTroche:

Mahalo for being a returnee and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are a smoke free building and have a designated smoking area outside the front entrance to the left of the building. The fee mentioned for someone smoking in the room is to deep clean the rooms to get the smoke smell out of the room, carpet, drapes, etc.

All of the staff look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua Palms in April. The room was very comfortable and even though I did not elect to have an ocean view, I was pleased with the accommodations. The bed was comfortable and I really appreciated having the little mini-kitchen. My room was attended to every day. In my opinion the high marks go to the friendly staff. I really appreciate having the ability to book lots of activities right there on the first floor. The folks that staffed that booth were super friendly and helpful as were all the staff that I encountered. The hotel is located within minutes of a great beach and an awesome coffee shop/restaurant that offers the guests a discount on top of their unbelievably inexpensive prices! One night during my stay the hotel had a major pipe break. While the water was out for a short time, I thought the hotel handled the situation very well. I found out later that they refunded about a nights stay! That was really nice of them. I won’t hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future. Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank takinahike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha takinahike:

Mahalo for writing a review about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Our staff is one of greatest assets at the property and it is always nice to hear good comments about them.

Both the IHOP and Wailana Restaurants offer our guests a 10% discount when they show their room key. On the back of our key cards there is also a discount to be used at the nearby Macy's in Ala Moana Shopping Center.

The water main pipe that broke in front of the hotel did create quite a challenge. I'm pleased to hear that you felt the staff handled it well.

We all look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#62 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#20 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#42 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy guestroom comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing