We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice Hotel, Close to the Beach"”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks when we first moved to the island at the end of December 2012. The hotel is in a great location in that it is in the heart of the tourist area without all of the hustle and bustle of the larger hotels. It was a 5 min walk to the beach. Towels and beach chairs were provided as well. The housekeeping staff was great and the hotel was very clean. Our room had a small refrigerator and microwave which was just enough for us. Not to mention the fact that there was an IHOP in the lobby of the hotel. Also the shopping mall, Walmart, and many restaurants are within walking distance. You can also take the trolley for two dollars.

The only two downsides to the hotel is the location of the hotel in which the noise on the street down below is one issue. We had a Diamnondhead view which faces the ocean as well. The noise from the cars was so very loud. The second is the parking lot. Parking is in a structure but it is up a very steep hill and hard to maneuver in and out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingNurse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Aloha TravelingNurse12:

Mahalo for sharing your experience at the Aqua Palms in December of last year.

Unfortunately being in the city does have its downside with traffic and street noise. Hopefully with the tinting of the window that we recently completed will help buffer some of the noise as well as the heat from the direct sunlight.

All of the staff and management hope this finds that you and your husband have settled into your new house and are enjoying island living.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Palms Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were in Honolulu the night before our cruise so we wanted something clean and reasonably priced; no frills; and that's what we got. Aqua Palms is in a great location across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village so you can just walk across the street to those shoppes and beach. It's also across from Ft. Derussy Park so it makes for a nice walk. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean and had everything we needed. Yes, the hallways are pretty worn, the patio chair was pretty beat up, but from our 11th floor room, we could see the ocean and Diamond Head and for under $200/night, that's a good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wudy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Aloha wudy77:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought it was a good value.

Selection of corridor carpeting is currently underway and we hope to have it installed by the end of the year. New lanai furntiure is arriving mid-June.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your cruise and in particular your stay at the Aqua Palms.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Aqua Palms while I was attending a conference. We chose this hotel because of price and proximity (10 min walk) to the Honolulu Conference centre in which the meeting I was attending was being held. The Aqua sits at the Ala Moana end of Waikiki and it is an easy 20 minute walk to all the action on the Waikiki strip. However, if you like to go swimming, the beach in front of the Hawaiian Hilton across the road from the Aqua Palms is far superior in our opinion and with far less people. The hotel is good value, the staff friendly and the rooms clean and reasonably spacious and include coffee and tea making facilities, bar fridge and microwave oven. The rooms also come with free wireless internet. Only negative for us was the traffic noise below our 7th story room that looked out onto Diamond Head and Waikiki but faced the busy Ala Moana Blvd. All in all, very good value and fine lodgings that we would have no question in recommending.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ala Moana Blvd can be quite noisy due to road traffic below.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Aloha lain C:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

We are a property of choice for convention attendees due to our proximity to the Convention Center and value prices.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us to others.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were looking forward to celebrate hubby's Bday here again and we were pleased. Our stay here was inviting and we were surprised with Bday note, bubbles, chocolates, and cake! The parking lot is still challenging and the elevator waits gave us time to mellow out. We overlooked the worn furniture, bathroom, armoire, single 3 drawer bureau, and difficult patio door because the cleaniness, service, and location are more important to us. We're city folks so we adapted to traffic/night noise. Housekeeping has some kind of "ESP" to attend our room because it was refreshing to return "home" after traversing the island in the heat. Thank you to Patty, her cordial staff, and the Birthday surprise was touching and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napavalleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Aloha napavalleygal:

It is always a pleasure to see our return guests continue to enjoy their stay with us!

I hope that you were able to get that much needed relaxation and enjoy hubby's birthday!

We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

nice hotel, friendly, clean. walking distance to beach, near shopping and restaurants, very good price value,secure parking, good clean pool, we were there for three days and would good back when returning to the area

Room Tip: ask for diamond head view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Aloha MarkH:

It is always nice to read that our guests would come back and stay with us again!

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding the Aqua Palms.

Please don't hesitate to contact me direct for your return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have just returned from Honolulu after 8 nights & was more then happy with the hotel.Good budget hotel, location was good, 10 mins easy walk to Ala Moana Center Mall & about the same to Wakiki Beach. Rooms were clean although a revamp on its decor would be nice but the staff were friendly which made the holiday very enjoyable,will recommend hotel to family & friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Aloha Jake59:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you will be recommending us to your family & friends!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted an affordable and comfortable place to stay near the beach and we got it. A great bonus was a wonderful team of helpful staff who made our stay enjoyable. The location was also within walking distance of great shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrmaMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Aloha Irma MacDonald:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that the team treated you with the true aloha spirit for which we are known.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
503 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $125 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing