We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Kew
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I used to use this place every time I was in Hawaii.

I'm thinking I'll change.

Rooms are spacious in comparison to many in Waikiki. Location is good for a 10 minute walk to the Ala Moana Mall. But it has dropped a couple of the more personal touches and is now just pretty bland. Prices also not particularly cheap.

OK but not excited anymore.

Room Tip: Try for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha Clare L.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm disappointed to hear that you are thinking about where you stay when you stay in Waikiki!

Please don't hesitate to contact me and let me know what personal touches seem to have gone. It is extremely important to me to have guest feedback so we know where we can improve.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    780
    348
    100
    51
See reviews for
392
793
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

But wait there is more: At the quieter end of Waikiki (a relative term) this is a medium size hotel that tries harder. Accomodating staff from top to bottom, they make your stay pleasant. Lots of city buses, trolleys, tour buses stop right in fromt of the hotel. Close to the Ala Moana Shopping Center and across the street from the Hawaiin Hilton Village. No in room wifi but fast wifi in lobby.Excellent free coffee in the lobby. You are near the widest beach in Waikiki.
The came with a view of Diamond head and a truncated ocean view. The bed could have used a newer mattress and the sofa was dated. Still we enjoyed our lanai and the rest of the amenities. The pool is small but there is a good coin op laundry. 55inch flat screen in room and free daily paper in lobby. A great spot to enjoy Waikiki and the fabulous museums and historic buildings of Honolulu.

Room Tip: Go for 6th or above partial ocean and/or Diamond Head views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Bill K:

Mahalo for writing about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

You have summed up our location and the property quite well. Wi-fi is in the process of being installed in all of the rooms and should be available for guest use mid to late April.

Property upgrades will be happening throughout the year, including corridor carpeting, lobby upgrades and room renovations.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and in particular the Aqua Palms. We look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We returned to the Aqua Palms for our second visit and appreciated it just as much as we did on our first visit. We were instantly made to feel welcome and our return patronage very much appreciated. The box of chocolates provided to returning guests was a lovely touch as a welcome gift and the upgrade to the same room as we had enjoyed on our previous visit was an unexpected surprise.

Once again, we enjoyed many of the special touches that make this boutique hotel stand out from the others and the location at the quieter end of Waikiki and close to the best beach area works well for us. There are many great restaurants and small grocery store within easy walking distance and the hustle and bustle of central Waikiki is a pleasant stroll away.

We're hoping we have the opportunity to return our Hawaiian home away from home, the Aqua Palms, again this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha VictoriaBlu:

It is always a pleasure to have repeat guests and I'm glad that you feel as if you were at your home away from home.

All of our staff do everything possible to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and especially like to go out of their way for returning visitors.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed on the 9th floor, we had a balcony and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even had a bottle opener for us to borrow so we could open a couple Kona Beers to enjoy on our balcony. The traffic is crazy on the street by the hotel, but it didn't bother us. It was a reasonable place to stay, only a 10 minute walk to the beach. Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: High up, with a balcony is best. It's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Mel E.

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I find this hotel and chain to be the best in Hawaii. The location, the Staff, and the cleanliness are among the finest that I have experienced. I would not consider staying elsewhere. You are within walking distance of Waikiki as well as the Ala Moana Shopping center. Public transportation is right at the front door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha dbloss:

Mahalo for your kind review.

I'm delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the Aqua Palms at Waikiki but that you endorsed the Aqua Hospitality Brand!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I never know if I should rate a hotel based on its star rating or in comparison to a hotel with a higher star rating. Somehow it seems rather unfair to compare an apple to an orange, so note that I am rating this hotel in comparison to what I would expect from a 21/2-3 star hotel. That being said, there were definitely some issues that you will want to consider while you are looking for a place to stay.
These are the cons:
1) Firstly, my room had a "city" view and the street noise was rather loud. One morning there was some sort of race going down Ala Moana Blvd starting at 5 am so there was a lot of loud cheering. There seems to be no noise insulation at all. Luckily, I was already awake because I was still on California time. I am personally not sensitive to noise, but in reading many hotel reviews over the years I recognize that some people are very sensitive and will want to consider this.
2) Also, my room did not have a balcony, more of a 1 foot ledge. Although I noticed the room next door to me did. If this is important to you, make sure you book a room with this option.
3) The pool is small and shallow (3-4ft), so if you like a nice pool, you may want to look elsewhere. However, why would you want a nice pool when there are beautiful beaches all around you?
4) The hotel restaurant is an IHOP. I am not a huge fan of IHOP food, so this was a con for me, but do note the location is great and there are plenty of other places to eat.
5) Finally, the rooms are somewhat outdated, but not horribly so.

Now to the pros… I will honestly say there were definitely more pros than cons.
1) Price -Although this hotel may not be cheap compared to other locations in the US, for Waikiki it is very affordable. I was here for work and since I work for a non-profit the budget was tight. This was the only hotel within this price range in Waikiki that did not have horrible reviews with multiple complaints.
2) The staff was very kind and helpful and everyone always had a smile and was willing to help in any way they could.
3) The rooms were clean and well kept.
4) The hotel has beach towels and beach chairs for guest use.
5) There is parking available (con is that parking cost $20/night).
6) The location is terrific. You can walk to Ala Moana and to the main strip in Waikiki. The Beach is close by as well. The location for this price is an outstanding value.
7) There was a refrigerator, microwave and safe in the room.
8) There is an affordable restaurant on site (but as stated above it is IHOP).
9) Rooms are good size.

You can see, the pros outweigh the cons. Most of the cons were not even cons for me personally. For a 21/2-3 star hotel this is a good buy in my opinion. If I had reason to stay in Honolulu in the future, I would definitely stay here. This is my third visit to HI, but my first time staying in Honolulu because I was here for work (for vacation we've stayed in Lanikai). But if you are looking for a place to stay where you can be part of the action in the heart of Waikiki I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pay for Ocean View if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumla0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Sumla0509:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms.

I'm delighted to hear that the pro's outweighed the cons!

Room renovations will be started by the end of the year. Corridor carpeting will be replaced and lobby will be redone as well.

It is great to hear that you were treated with the True Aloha Spirit for which we are known.

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we booked the room for double occupancy, instead of two beds,there was one bed and one musty old sofa bed. they said basicilly too bad.so here is a warning for ohers.
otherwise tbe bathroom was clean and location was pretty good.










.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susankb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Susankb:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms.

I'm disappointed to hear that you were uncomfortable on the sofabed. Bedding is on request and we do all possible to honor everyone's request and I apologize we were not able to accommodate your durig your stay.

All of the staff and managerment hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing