We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are pleased with this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We are pleased with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our son and his family stayed at this place which I booked during our family reunion at the end of December. They were pleased with the location of the hotel, the friendly staff as well as the spacious and clean room. The only inconvenience was not having internet access in the room. They needed to come to the lobby to get internet access. In the lobby, there is complimentary coffee and free apples at the reception desk. Overall, we made a good choice in booking this place. We would recommend this hotel to those who want to stay at a nice hotel at a convenient location, with good value. We would come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha humadian:

Mahalo for booking your son and his family at the Aqua Palms Waikiki and sharing their experience with us.

We currently only have hard wired internet in the rooms and wi-fi in the lobby. We are in the process of installing wi-fi in all of the rooms and hope to have this complete by the end of next month.

We are delighted to hear that you would come stay with us again and look forward to the opportunity to serving you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    777
    340
    97
    51
See reviews for
385
789
206
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice Hotel. Convenient to ABC shops for essentials. Transport to all major shopping, & tours from Hotel front. IHOP for eating out at Hotel, & other restaurants just steps away.
Only complaint I have, The curtains in my room were very grubby, other than this, all good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha jumorl:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Yes, we are very conveniently located with ABC stores close by, Ala Moana Shopping Center just a few blocks away and all the shuttles stop right in front of the property.

I'm disappointed to hear that your curtains were grubby and will definitely make sure that if it hasn't already been taken care of that it will be.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. I found the staff friendly and helpful and the amenities clean. We had a good sized fridge and microwave which allowed us to save money on meals. They also have a BBQ on the pool deck which they will fire up, so we enjoyed that also. The only thing I missed were utensils and dishes. The location is good, you can walk to Ala Moano Beach Park which has a nice beach, or the lagoon by the Hilton Hawaiian Village. There is a great massage place right next door that was well priced. The pool deck provides no shade which was a problem, an umbrella would have been nice. All the buses go right by the front door, and there is a Hertz car rental in the Hilton Hawiian Village next door (book ahead for best rates). Beds were very comfortable, though shower blasted a little too strong!

Room Tip: I liked the rear of the building, very quiet and no direct sun so you can enjoy the lanai anytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathyarmstrong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha cathyarmstrong75:

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and in particular the BBQ grill. Paper plates and plastic utensils are available at the front desk upon request. I'm sorry you were not aware of that during your stay.

The pool deck is sunny almost all day. Unfortunately due to the high winds we sometimes have we are not able to have umbrellas pool side. I appreciate your input and will look for an alternative solution.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and we look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had great service from the bellhop (luggage storage before and after check-in/check-out is free) and the front desk. Requests for extra towels and blankets were immediately fulfilled. Loved the use of beach towels and beach chairs, which were light enough to carry to the closest beach. Shopping and beaches are less than a 10 minute walk, and there are several good restaurants close by.

The pool and pool area is clean.
Laundry facilities available.

Room Tip: Street noise was a bit much when we stayed on the 4th floor. Much better on the 5th floor, where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marajoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha marajoke:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki!

I'm dleighted to hear that you found our staff helpful and accommodating.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary beach amenities during your stay!

We look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

this place is NOT as advertised. We checked in with 7 people in our party with reservations for two double rooms. They gave us two singles with broken pullout sofas, yes both rooms had broken pullouts. They said that's all they had and the reservations did not gaurantee what type of room. They generously ha ha offered rollaways so we could all cramm into the dirtiest of hotel rooms we've ever stayed at in a civilized country. At $269 per night per room it was a disgrace.
The best part of this hotel is leaving it!
Do yourself a favor and avoid the temptation, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exptravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha exptravelor:

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that we were unable to accommodate your bedding requests.

Please accept my apologies. We are currently working on a renovation program for later in the year and hope to be able to change some of the rooms to be able to offer more two bedded rooms.

All of the staff and management of Aqua Palms hope that you and your family were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just out of the bussel of wakiki, about a 10-15min walk but close to conveniance stores, some good restuarnts and bars. its also only 10 mins from ala mohana shopping center.
The beach at this end of waikiki is also much nicer, with some nice grass areas behind the beach, and less of the anoyances of waikiki.
Rooms are well appointed, (for this level of hotel) clean and well kept by the cleaning staff. Most rooms also have balconies, the beach side has the better views.
The staff however were hit and miss. Some were very helpful while others were abrupt and a bit rude.
However il definatly stay again, just to good a location and great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha paulyMelbourne:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but am also disappointed to hear that our team members were hit and miss. Usually our employees are mentioned as the highlight of our property.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope that you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I am a former local who had to spend a few days in thos hotel while visitong family. ive stayed in several hotels and properties on the island and hotel is the best in terms of value. It is clean and conveniently located on the Ala Moana side of Waikiki. The beach is a short 10 minute walk from the hotel. Parking is reasonable too, but the garage ( like most in Waikiki) is tight so if you rent a large SUV or van it will be a problem for you. The hotel is close to inexpensive restaurants (try Wailana coffee house!) Our room had a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave which is nice if you have kids! Self serve Laundry facilities are available. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiefrenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha janiefrenzel:

Mahalo for sharing your recent exeperience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. We really appreciate your kind words and hope that you enjoyred your visit with your ohana!

Please be sure to let us know when you are returning so we can take specail care of you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing