We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent value for money”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Hawick, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent value for money”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of December 2012. As the hotel was so cheap (approx. £60 per night) and was rated 3 star, I wasn't expecting anything special. On arrival, without our asking, we were upgraded to a Diamond Head view room at no additional cost. Room was spacious, well appointed, clean and a great little balcony with a view of the pool, diamond head and the sea. Room was still fairly quiet considering it was street facing. Great location, with Ala Moana shopping centre and Waikiki beach both within 10 minutes walking distance. Wifi in reception worked well, and staff were very helpful in arranging late checkout and airport transportation. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha Joanne1984:

Mahalo for a great review!

All of the staff and management of Aqua Palms Waikiki hope you took home fond memories of your stay and look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    784
    355
    101
    52
See reviews for
401
800
209
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed here for 12 nights this time around - we've stayed here once before and will stay again when/if we return to Waikiki. I would recommend to anyone looking for a decent hotel at a reasonable price (I researched other places and this seems to best value for $).

I'll start with the positives

Great location - very close to Ala Moana mall (10 minute walk) and the main center of Waikiki (10 min walk). Also Hilton complex is just across the road (many places to eat and hang out, huge fireworks show over the beach on Fridays) which offers easy access to nice part of Waikiki beach (plus hotel offers beach towels and chairs).

Rooms are spacious, clean and pretty much match what you see in the pictures. Bathroom was a bit 'cozy' as the door almost hits the toilet but we managed. Bed was very comfortable. AC worked just fine and TV offered wide selection of channels. microwave and small fridge made eating in easy as well. Lanai (patio) is small but i spent almost every morning out there with coffee and the paper.

No wifi in the room but they do have a data cable (old school). i've heard they are looking at updating so Wifi will be available in the room. We connected using the cable and it was slow - you won't be able to stream video or Skype. So basic internet browsing is about it. My father had his iPad and used the WiFi in the lobby - always very slow as well.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I won't get into all the examples but i'll say we never had a problem and in several instances they exceeded my expectations.

The pool was being renovated while we were there but, hey, who goes to the pool when you have such a great beach across the road? Ok, I can see that some like to use the pool but it's good to see that the hotel is renovating stuff (they also were painting hallways) - they have to do this stuff sometime.

other things of note - room key gets you 10% off at Macy's and IHOP. free newspaper. manager reception on thursday evenings with some food, drink, and music. great little Italian restaurant around corner on Ena Rd (Davino). Food pantry for groceries about 5 minute walk.

No real huge negatives but you will need to be aware that any rooms that face the ocean also face the main road so are noisy. This is simply a function of the hotel being located on a main (busy) road and the amount of activity in the waikiki area (sirens fairly frequent and, i guess, trucks are allowed to use engine breaks in town...odd). This is probably one of the loudest locations I've ever stayed. Don't let this deter you, if you are a very light sleeper, bring ear plugs just in case. The hotel has done a decent job of insulating against the street noise. Or, ask for room at the back of the hotel, much quieter.

Room Tip: we had 10th floor to try to avoid the street noise. it's still loud with window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha Trav11er:

Mahalo for being a repeat guest!

I'm delighted to say that we just increased our bandwidth speed so internet in the rooms is much faster. We also just received approval to install wi-fi in the rooms and hope to have that complete in the first quarter of 2013!

All of the staff and management are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you on a return visit!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We searched for months to find a nice hotel for our family coming to Hawaii from 5 states! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Thurs night Managers cocktail hour and music was great - and free! Room service was great, and the beds were very comfortable. We were close to everything [designer mall, restaurants, and beach]. I Hop right next door was excellent too. Special thanks to Larry, Venus & Gennifer for making our 7 day vacation fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms here are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chyrisse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha Chryrisse L:

How exciting a family renunion in Hawaii!

I'm pleased to see that our staff was friendly and accommodating, especially Larry, Venus & Gennifer!

We hope your family made memories that will last a life time!

Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

As a Hawaii resident, I make frequent trips to Oahu, usually once a month. The only hotel I consider is the Aqua Palms! From check in, Larry always greets me with a wam and inviting smile. The rooms are comfortable, clean with useful ameneties; mini refrigerator, complementary Kona coffee and large flat-screen cable tv.

Being that it's in the "edge" of Waikiki, the location is ideal. It's easy to get in and get out of the hotel without dealing with traffic or tons of people.

For convenience, IHOP is on the ground floor which make breakfast simple (just get there early).

Room Tip: Parking stalls are small and narrow for $20/night... As with any hotel, rooms next to the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kona-kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha hona-kauai:

WOW! First and Only choice in Waikiki! That is awesome!

Mahalo for your business and please make sure that you say "Aloha" the next time you visit!

Warmest Holiday wishes to you and your ohana!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Palms Waikiki for nearly two weeks and had a great stay. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Proximity to the beach is great considering it is not a beach front hotel. Took me 8 minutes from the time I got on the elevator in the hotel till I set my beach chair and towel (provided free from hotel) on the beach.........would have been a bit longer if the only traffic light wasn't green. This end of Waikiki Beach also seemed less busy as opposed to the other end with all the high end shopping, which I found more relaxing. Waikiki is a bit of a concrete jungle except for the beach, so it is what it is.
It's very close to all kinds of places to eat and drink. From the crazy expensive to the cheap and cheerful, all within walking distance. The trolley stop is right out front of the hotel if you don't feel like walking at all though.
If you want to surf the net in your room you'll need to bring a laptop or something that hard wires into the internet. WiFi is free but only available in the lobby.
The pool was being renovated when we were there, but I didn't travel all the way to Hawaii to sit by a pool anyway. Saw them painting our hallway baseboards which to me didn't look like they needed it, so I think the overall hotel condition is good.
Room to room noise is better than average for a hotel, but the street noise takes a night or two to get use to and the traffic is quietest between 11pm and 7am. I think a better seal on the balcony sliding door would help that just a touch too.
They also have kitchenette suites which from a couple we met there said they were happy with as well. I would consider that option next time because I would have not problem staying at the Aqua Palms again.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room etc. Inquire about the kitchette rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBay-ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Akloha TBay-ON:

Mahalo for your kind and lengthy review! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property!

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms hope you will afford us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmests Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was very nice for the price, great location for the beach and downtown honolulu.
The local restaurants were excellent for value and quality.
Very close to the Ala Moana Mall.
The staff were very friendly.
Unfortunately the pool was under renovations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha patecake:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms.

Unfortunately no time is a good time to do work and I'm sorry the pool was closed during your stay.

The pool came out beutifully and hopefully you will be able to come back and enjoy it some day!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

According to booked price I was affraid that it will be a budged hotel, but certainly it is not. Located near great beach, many shops and restaurants around. You can easily walk to Ala Moana shoping center. Bus stop in front of the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean, with nice bathroom. Wifi internet is only in the lobby, but wired internet is in the rooms. Litle bit noisy because located at the busy street.
.
Great stay at great place in a great hotel. Recomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Aloha TiborBA:

What a great review!

I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our property was better than expected!

Please be sure to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,644 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing