We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki Bargain”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked this hotel based on good reviews and was not disappointed. It's across the street from Hilton Hawaiian Village and a short walk to Waikiki beach. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the bathroom had been updated with tile and granite. The staff is super friendly and helpful. They have beach towels and chairs to loan at the front desk. The pool is basic but with a world class beach nearby who cares. It was good for a refreshing swim before dinner.

Check out the 24 hour Wailana Coffee House on the corner. It's a full service restaurant which gives 10% off the already reasonable prices to Aqua Palms guests.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Ala Moana Blvd have a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenBusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Aloha DenBusdriver:

Mahalo for you review!

I'm delighted that previous reviews are what helped you select our property!

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I flew over from Maui to attend a wedding and made a little weekend of it. I got a great deal at the Aqua Palms through my work, and figured it'd be a run-of-the-mill Waikiki budget hotel. Boy, was I wrong! We had a HUGE room, with a luxurious king-size bed that I did NOT want to leave. Not to mention, it's within walking distance to EVERYTHING-- we burned off our Ihop breakfast with a brief stroll to Ala Moana. The entire staff was friendly, and the room was completely spotless, bright, and charming.

The search for my go-to Oahu hotel has ended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorMuscleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Aloha Doctormuscleman:

WOW, what a great review!

I'm delighted to hear that we are now your go to property in Waikiki!

Please be sure to contact me directly for your next visit so that we can be sure to keep you coming back!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am a Defense Contractor and travel extensively for business. I find myself in Hawaii every couple of years and usually my trips are planned in advance so that I am in a Hilton property where I have Diamond status. This trip came up at the last minute and there were no Hilton properties available at the Government rate which I qualify for. With all of that being said I was booked into the Aqua Palms which is not affiliated with any points system that I am a member of. None of this is the Aqua Palms fault.

The staff was pleasant and professional. Check in and out was breeze. Parking was $20 per day and convenient; the spaces are tight so you are better off with a small car, but full size will fit.

The room I was given (1010) was spacious and had a good view of the Hilton Hawaiian Village property and probably had one of the better ocean views available here, but its still a partial view. The furnishings had seen better days, but were not bad. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. The LCD TV was fine and the free internet access was adequate. The AC worked very well also which is important to me.

The rate I was given was actually lower than the Gov't rate and reflects that this property is geared more for the discount Hawaii tourist. The location is very good for Trolley and bus service and it is s short walk or ride to the huge Ala Moana Shopping Mall.

I am a spoiled business traveler, but after I got over the fact that I was not getting my usual perks I found that I really enjoyed being here. You get 10% discount at the iHop on the ground floor next to the lobby and a short 1 minute walk down to the corner will find you at the Wailana 24 Hour Coffee Shop and Lounge where you also receive a 10% discount on food with your room key. The lounge offers Karaoke and is where the local condo dwellers congregate. I was here for three weeks and got to know a few of them. You cannot beat the prices and value at the Wailana. If I found out that I had to stay here again I would have no problem.

Room Tip: Room 1010 had about as good of a view as you will probably find at this property. Make sure to chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Aloha mstud21:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to see that you were able to enjoy your stay even though we don't have the perks of the Diamond Club at the Hilton.

As you mentioned our location is very central and has easy access to all areas of the island.

All of the staff and managment of the Aqua Palms hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This wasnt the most elegant of hotels by far, but it was convenient, clean and relatively quiet. I had a partial view. When I first checked in I was early and they sent me to a room that had the partial view, but no balcony. So I went back down and asked for a balcony room. I had to wait a bit but they sorted it out and over the course of my stay I was glad that I had pressed the issue.
The partial view was nice even though it had big buildings in the middle of the views! The biggest problem is that the street below is very busy so I found myself keeping the door shut to keep the noise level down. The bathroom was small but the bed was comfortable and staff was very nice. We did go to the manager's evening reception with music and drinks and it was fun. The location is great; within walking distance of the beach and all that there is at the Hilton across the street as well as walking distance to the convention center, which was my purpose for being there.

Room Tip: The partial view rooms are nice, but noisy as they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Aloha MelindaN:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to see that we were able to make the change so that you could have a full balcony/lanai during your stay.

It is great to see that you were able to join us for our Weekly Manager's Reception that is held every week.

All of the staff and management hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are looking for a huge full service resort then do no go here, you will not be happy. But if you want clean rooms, great service, nice decor and good proximity to the mall and beach, stay here. Its a close walk to the Hilton lagoon and beach there. but for the shallow popular waikiki beach it is a little jaunt, but who cares, its hawaii! And this is an easy walk to ala moana mall which is huge and a great food court. we loved this hotel. pool is kinda pathetic but come on, the ocean is right there! the exercise room is small but has all you need for vacation workouts.

Room Tip: higher floors were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherandJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Aloha ChristopherandJenn:

Mahalo for your review! Yes, we are not a full service resort but as you said, we do have everything you need!

All of the staff and management are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will afford us another opportunity to serve you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great place to stay for the money! Close access to the beach, Waikiki strip, and Ala Moana Mall and Ala Moana Park. Convenient parking, refrigerator and microwave in the room so you don't have to spend a fortune on eating out if you don't want to. I have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the last 3 years for work and pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view of Hilton Hawaiian Village and the ocean if you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Aloha Richard L:

Six times in the last three years, that is AWESOME!

We must be doing something right if you keep coming back!

Please be sure to contact me on your return visit, we want to make sure we take good care of you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you don't need a fancy lobby and room service this is a great place to stay in Waikiki. It's at the beginning of "The Strip" closer to the Ala Moana side and right across the street from the Hilton Hawaiian Village complex. The front desk is nice, and I feel safe there because there is always either security or someone at the front desk. There's an IHOP downstairs and a 24 hr coffee shop on the corner. The rooms are clean and have big scren TVs and mini refrigerators and microwaves. All you really need in my opinion! The pool is small but with the beach just a 5 min walk away (go through the Hilton lobby, past the pool and there it is! Nice beach to watch sunset). There's also free local calls. There is a bus stop right outside so it you are patient, you don't even need to rent a car. Oh, one thing about parking there. The parking fee is $25/night and the turn into their driveway is easy to miss off of Ala Moana Blvd.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pintofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Aloha Pintofish:

You described our location and surrounding areas perfectly!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
Gneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
1,555 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,537 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,667 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $133 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing