We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fruit and meat”

Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 2,420 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For the past 29 years, Island residents and tourists alike have flocked to the Shore Bird, making it one of Waikiki's most venerated institutions. It's the thrill of the grill that has captured guests imaginations and appetites for more than two decades. Shore Bird is not just a place to eat. Shore Bird is an experience where all guests have a lot of fun! Servers interact with our guests and not just serve them. The over all concept is "Aloha". Guests are responsible for for grilling their own dinner entrees but they don't have to be master barbecurers. An experienced grill hand and a large clock help make the process easy. Here's how it works: Steaks and seafood come to the table fresh on a platter with instructions. Guest are able to season and then prepare their entree exactly to their liking . All entrees include the salad bar, which showcases more than 25 items, such as fresh greens, garnishes, fruits, tako poke, rice, bread and pasta.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent dinner with amazing atmosphere!! The food is so fresh and delicious here. We have had dinner and breakfast several times here and we have never had bad food. This restaurant is right on the beach and the view is AMAZING!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelinggears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Aloha travelinggears,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our readers! We are glad that you enjoyed dining with us. See you on your next visit!
Mahalo,
David Nagishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,457)
There are newer reviews for Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,037 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have eaten at the Shore Bird many times over the past 15 years, since my first visit to Waikiki. Cooking your own dinner on the grill isn't everyone's idea of a good time, but we have always met fun people around the grill and enjoy the activity.

On this visit, we brought our children (ages 11 and 13) for dinner. We had just arrived in town, it was late and everyone was hungry. We were seated right away (at 9 pm) with a table right in front of the window. Even though it was dark the views and trade winds were beautiful and we couldn't have asked for a better table. The staff here is always so friendly and service is great, this visit was no exception.

The salad bar is pretty basic, but there are enough options and it's perfect if are grilling something as well. Drinks are always good here (whether in the bar or at the table) and we all left full and happy.

I'm sure we'll be back on our next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rokkahulababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Aloha rokkahulababy,
Thank you for dining us on your visits to Hawaii! The grill is a lot of fun and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on you next visit!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Unfortunately, the breakfast buffet was horrible! The food was cold and the trays were often empty! You would be better off going to starbucks for the price of this buffet and how undesirable it is!

Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Aloha Teresa,
We apologize for the cold food and empty trays. Thank you for bring it to our attention. We will discuss your comments with our Chef.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

but pricey entrees. I had the salad bar as I am not a good cook and did not want to grill my own meat for dinner. For those prices, I want someone to cook my entree for me.Ate dinner once, would skip it next time.

Thank NewJerseySharon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Aloha NewJerseySharon123,
Thank you for giving us a try. We appreciate your feedback, we are more than happy to cook your meal for you. On your next visit just let your server know and we can take care of that for you. We just want you to have a good time. We would also like to invite you to try our sister restaurant, The Ocean House, you can just relax there and they will take care of everything. Hope you will give them a try.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we advised our daughter was a celiac the wait staff appeared very informed and in fact a chef was brought out to show us what "buffet" / Salad bar options were 100% Gluten free. Really excellent service and gave us huge confidence to dine here.

1  Thank nurdsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Aloha nurdsens,
We are glad to know that you felt safe dining with us. We put a lot of effort and care in creating a comfortable environment for guests with food allergies and sensitivities. We appreciate your feed a back and thank you for sharing it with us and our guests. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing