We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a drink”

Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 2,357 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For the past 29 years, Island residents and tourists alike have flocked to the Shore Bird, making it one of Waikiki's most venerated institutions. It's the thrill of the grill that has captured guests imaginations and appetites for more than two decades. Shore Bird is not just a place to eat. Shore Bird is an experience where all guests have a lot of fun! Servers interact with our guests and not just serve them. The over all concept is "Aloha". Guests are responsible for for grilling their own dinner entrees but they don't have to be master barbecurers. An experienced grill hand and a large clock help make the process easy. Here's how it works: Steaks and seafood come to the table fresh on a platter with instructions. Guest are able to season and then prepare their entree exactly to their liking . All entrees include the salad bar, which showcases more than 25 items, such as fresh greens, garnishes, fruits, tako poke, rice, bread and pasta.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was staying at an apartment next door to the Shore Bird, so this became the go to place for a drink. Honestly they had good specials throughout the day including mai tai's for $3.50 from 12-5pm. The bar is ocean front so great scenary as well. Night time happy hour includes some good food deals as well. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha dmelo,
Our Happy Hour specials are a great deal! We have $3.50 Mai Tais & Coors Light between 12-5pm. Then we have our Sunset Special for $14.95 from 4-5:30 pm. Its a deal with a view all in one nice seat ocean front ;)

Hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    872
    417
    169
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Steak and Buffet in Waikiki”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After paying $20 for a small plate of BBQ at a Waikiki place the day before (too expensive for what you got), I happened upon this great place when walking along the beach. It was fantastic! Although I was surprised that I had to grill my own steak, the quality was amazing, and the buffet to accompany it was delicious. What's more perfect than an ocean view table with a great meal at a great price? I believe I got the early bird special for $14.99. The server was a little slow and I had to ask for my check, but otherwise, this was the best food find in Honolulu for the Hawaii experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelStarBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha BeckyBrown76,
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful compliments. I apologize for the server being a little slow. I will speak with my staff to be more attentive. We are glad that you enjoyed your Sunset Special steak and salad bar!

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Read this first”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

At the Shore Bird you grill your meat or fish! That's right, it's brought to your table raw and you are directed to the grill with instructions as to how long to leave it on the grill. Once it's done, or while it's on the grill, you go to the salad bar to select perhaps some pasta or potatoes, vegetables and/or salad. Then you take all of this to your table. It was the most unusual dining experience we had on our trip; not the best, but the most unusual. If you get a table near the front, you can get a nice view of the ocean

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kippy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha Kippy37,

Thank you for dining with us at the Shore Bird and giving us a try at the Grill. Yes we are a very unique restaurant. In fact the we are the only restaurant where you grill your own dinner on a barbecue grill in Hawaii. But if you don't want to cook we will cook your dinner for you just let us know.

Besides our dinners, the Shore Bird also features an all you can eat Breakfast, lunch buffet and the best homemade Angus burgers.

Look forward seeing you on your next visit to Waikiki
Mahalo
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant and Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watersmeet, Michigan
Level Contributor
390 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Doesn't Get Much Better”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There was a coupon in one of the attraction magazines for buy one and get the second one half price. We went to the breakfast buffet. The choices were excellent. The view of the ocean was calming, and the service was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeSunseeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast beachside”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Get there early if you want a seat with a view. It is an open air restaurant steps away from the beach. We went for the breakfast buffet. We were slightly disappointed that there weren't the Portuguese sausage and corned beef hash other places have. I really liked the selection of fruits and pastries. The steamed fish was very good. Too bad they didn't have Belgian waffles or an omelette station.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lalaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing