We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for breakfast.”

Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For the past 29 years, Island residents and tourists alike have flocked to the Shore Bird, making it one of Waikiki's most venerated institutions. It's the thrill of the grill that has captured guests imaginations and appetites for more than two decades. Shore Bird is not just a place to eat. Shore Bird is an experience where all guests have a lot of fun! Servers interact with our guests and not just serve them. The over all concept is "Aloha". Guests are responsible for for grilling their own dinner entrees but they don't have to be master barbecurers. An experienced grill hand and a large clock help make the process easy. Here's how it works: Steaks and seafood come to the table fresh on a platter with instructions. Guest are able to season and then prepare their entree exactly to their liking . All entrees include the salad bar, which showcases more than 25 items, such as fresh greens, garnishes, fruits, tako poke, rice, bread and pasta.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from our 9th visit to Oahu, and to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The Shorebird is situated on the beach front at the outrigger and is open to the air. The breakfast is buffet style with plenty of variety. For your first breakfast take a coupon from the book you will find in the reception area of the hotel. This allows to you get 50% off one breakfast on your first day. Following that you should find a coupon attached to your till receipt which will allow you to repeat the offer each morning.

Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha Sue,
We are glad that you could join us again at the Shore Bird!

Mahalo & See you on your 10th visit;)

David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (2,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,463 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We did not expect the do-it-yourself cooking experience of eating at a restaurant. Frankly, if I have to cook it myself, why go to a restaurant? Diners can choose a pork chop or steak, or skewered meat, chicken or fish. The server then puts in the order for the raw meat, and the diners help themselves to the large and varied salad bar. The food from the salad bar was average. When the raw meat arrived, we were given instructions on how long to cook to meats on the grill. A chef is standing nearby for help. My spouse did the cooking and the food turned out fine. We wondered what would have happened if the food was tough or burnt. We also wondered about the liability of getting getting burned or hurt from flame-ups or from touching the grill grates. We did not save any money with this DIY prospect. It went against logic to pay for the privilege of cooking our own meal at a restaurant.

Thank bigmutt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha bigmutt99,

Thank you for dining with us at the Shore Bird and for posting your comments. The popular backyard barbecue concept of the Shore Bird has been around for over 34 years. I'm sorry it did not appeal to you. We do have a chef to assist you in the cooking or if you wish we will do the cooking for you. No problem just let us know. If you over cook your food or if your entree is not to your liking we will be happy to replace your entree and our chef will be happy to prepare you another one and deliver it to your table.
Safety is always top on our list. Our managers, chef and staff are always there to assist our guests and handle any flareups or saffety concerns.
Mahalo and hope you visit us on your next visit.
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant and Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Surprised to learn i would be grilling my own fish in aluminum foil,with other patrons. An upscale restaurant was smallish and full nearby. Limited salad bar comes with meal. Some atmosphere, but not much. This is beachside at the Outrigger Reef. I was in third row from beach,and would not have wanted table rows further back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quasimodo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha Quasimodo47,

Thank you for dinning with us at the Shore Bird, and giving our grilling experience a try. I hope you found the food and salad bar fresh and tasty and the service attentive.
Mahalo
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant and Beach BAr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although the location (on the beach) and the price ($14.95 for early bird special) was great, we were disappointed in our meal. The steaks were delicious, but we had to grill them outselves. The salad bar was limited - just disappointing.

Thank standor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha Standor,

Thank you for dining with us at the Shore Bird. We're glad you appreciated our location and value. The concept of the Shore Bird is the back yard barbecue but if you don't care to cook your self just let one of our servers or chef at the grill know and we will be happy to cook your steak for you. We keep a variety of items at our salad bar and try to appeal to our international clientele. If you have any suggestions to enhance our salad bar please let us know.

Mahalo and hope to see you on your next visit to Waikiki
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant and Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not a fan of "grill your own", but all restaurants full. They bring raw food to your table and you go to work around a crowded grill. Since filet, steaks, and fish take differing times to cook, we were all done at different times. Large salad bar helps. Drinks average. The waitress was having "problems" with all our credit cards. Took her 15 minutes to get that done. Got home and found out I had been double -charged for my meal! Not going back.

Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha Navytravel,

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your experience of grilling along side Waikiki beach. It's not for everyone. The next time you visit you can let your server know that you would rather not cook and we can take care of that for you. We just want you to have a good time on your vacation. I'm are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I would like find out more about your double charge and will be messaging you privately to discuss the matter.

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing