We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent burgers and grill.”

Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For the past 29 years, Island residents and tourists alike have flocked to the Shore Bird, making it one of Waikiki's most venerated institutions. It's the thrill of the grill that has captured guests imaginations and appetites for more than two decades. Shore Bird is not just a place to eat. Shore Bird is an experience where all guests have a lot of fun! Servers interact with our guests and not just serve them. The over all concept is "Aloha". Guests are responsible for for grilling their own dinner entrees but they don't have to be master barbecurers. An experienced grill hand and a large clock help make the process easy. Here's how it works: Steaks and seafood come to the table fresh on a platter with instructions. Guest are able to season and then prepare their entree exactly to their liking . All entrees include the salad bar, which showcases more than 25 items, such as fresh greens, garnishes, fruits, tako poke, rice, bread and pasta.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers and grill.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to beat the view from the Shore Bird. The waitstaff were attentive and efficient. We enjoyed burgers (including gluten free) and drinks. Once done you can walk right out onto Waikiki beach!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha CaptAmazing!

Thank you for joining us for lunch! We are glad that you enjoy the view, we do too;) It's so nice to look out into the ocean and relax with a great burgers and an ice cold drink.

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    887
    423
    172
    105
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, OH
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Deal on the Beach!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The early afternoon / sunset special is a great deal - 8 or more ounces of sirloin and an all you can eat salad bar (with a few additions) - $14.95. This is Waikiki remember ... steak is brought out raw and you proceed to a large grilling area with a great view of the beach and the Pacific. Plenty of seasonings and expert advice are provided. If you prefer not to be bothered cooking, you probably need to find someplace else. From what I could tell this process is not limited to the sunset special. The steak was a good cut, juicy and flavorful. The salad plus bar was loaded (try grilling a few pieces of the fresh pineapple) with lots of options. If this had not been about as far from our hotel as we could get (a mile walk each way), we would surely have been back a few times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mforkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha mforkner,

We are glad that you were able to join us for the Sunset Special, it is a great deal on the beach. I could not have described it better myself. Grilling along side Waikiki Beach with the sunset on one side and famous Diamond Head on the other. We hope to see you on your next visit! Thank you for the great review!

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Good Value, Cook Your Own”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is one of the most affordable places in Waikiki. Food was very good, but you have to cook your own - not that I mind being at the grill, but just a warning to those who prefer not to. Staff is very attentive and instructive in terms of how long to cook your steak/fish. Went for the sunset special - $14.95 1/2 lb steak and an all-you-can eat salad bar. Salad bar had many choices, and steak was tender and wonderful. Had a nice view of the sunset. Would not hesitate to go back and would recommend to anyone who wants good food at reasonable prices. A great value in Waikiki.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeLep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha JoeLep!

Thank you for joining us for the Sunset Special available daily between 4p.m. and 5:30pm. We hope to see you again on your next visit at the grill ;) You have now been a "Chef" at the Shore Bird on Waikiki!

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but a little pricey”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate breakfast here. It is a buffet and there is a large variety of choices. You can go back and fill up as many times as you want. The price is a little high but we had free coupons. THe food is good and fruit is fresh. The carved ham at the end of the buffet line is very tastey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WILLS340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha WILLS340,

We're glad that you were able to enjoy breakfast with us on your visit to Waikiki! We have many deals out in books around Waikiki. We have a coupon for 50% off your second meal or entree with a purchase of one meal or entree in This Week. We try to keep our prices affordable for all out customers. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to the island and I'd love to meet you, hope you will say "Aloha" the next time your in town.

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Shorebird”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family went to the Shorebird for our 25th Anniversary and had an amazing time! The staff was very friendly and they handed drink special coupons at the entrance from the beach which helped out on the bill. Ryan our chef where everyone cooks their own main course on the open grill was a great help and a great guy. All in all we had a very enjoyable time and we will be going back just as soon as we get back to Waikiki.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Jeff S.
Happy 25 Anniversary! We are glad that you were able to celebrate it with us, and make use of those fireworks drink coupons. Were you able to catch the fireworks show too that night? We look forward to seeing you again at the grill! ;)

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing