We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience”
Review of Hula Grill Waikiki

Hula Grill Waikiki
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,454 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Seaside
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Right on the beach with palm trees swaying, torches flickering and a Hawaiian guitarist playing soft tunes, I thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience. My filet mignon was delicious and perfectly cooked with great accompaniments, husband said his steak was great, and my three year old ate all her grilled fish, rice and broccoli. I was pleased to see a healthy kids menu at a restaurant for once. Wontons for entrees were also delicious. Service was excellent. Will definitely be going back on my next trip to Hawaii.

Thank Antz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Hula Grill Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Antz18,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Hula Grill Waikiki. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive dinner experience you had. We hope that you come visit us again soon on your next trip to Hawaii from Australia! Don't forget to come and check us out for breakfast too, a great way to start off your day with the family!

Aloha,
Ashley Tesoro
Breakfast Manager


Stay up to date on Hula Grill Waikiki:
Facebook at HulaGrillWaikiki

Twitter @hulagrillwaiks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,987 of 3,213 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have previously eaten in Hula Grill on Maui and were eager to return to Hula Grill as we loved it. The Waikiki restaurant didn't disappoint. As always in the US, they really look after families with young children. The food was excellent. Between 4 of us and two visits, we tried a lot of the options on the menu. Highlights being the Poke Tacos and the pot stickers. Happy hour is good value, both for food and drinks and the service is good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Hula Grill Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Deefly ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Hula Grill Waikiki. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. It's so great to hear that you had the opportunity to eat at the Hula Grill Maui and that you enjoyed our poke tacos which is also one of my personal favorite appetizers. We hope that you come visit us again soon and don't forget to join us for breakfast to try our seared peppered ahi benedict, another great fish entrée.

Aloha,
Ashley Tesoro
Breakfast Manager

Stay up to date on Hula Grill Waikiki:
Facebook at HulaGrillWaikiki

Twitter @hulagrillwaiks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

great food and especially great and friendly service. totally exceeded expectations.

we are local residents living in Hawaii Kai and were enjoying a stay-cation in Waikiki. we (i dined with my wife and teenage son) arrived 15 minutes before our 645pm reservation, but were promptly seated at a table on the lanai with a perfect view of Waikiki Beach.

rib-eye special was perfectly cooked. the crab and mac nut won tons were out of this world. kalua pig potstickers and short rib were great too. to top it off the creme brûlée served inside of a sliced pineapple was an excellent way to end our meal.

we took in the world class view while sipping mai tais and lychee martinis. this was my best Waikiki experience and i would highly recommend enjoying a sunset dinner at The Hula Grill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FrankieG808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Hula Grill Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear FrankieG808,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Hula Grill Waikiki. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. It's always nice to do a little stay-cation in Waikiki which I've done myself too since I'm from Kaneohe. In case you haven't heard we do offer parking validation (free on the weekends at the Ohana East Hotel) so feel free to visit anytime! You should also join us for breakfast and brunch if you haven't had the chance too where we offer half-off passion fruit mimosas on Saturdays and Sundays. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Aloha,
Ashley Tesoro
Breakfast Manager

Stay up to date on Hula Grill Waikiki:
Facebook at HulaGrillWaikiki

Twitter @hulagrillwaiks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went here s couple of times while on our vacation. It is s very busy place and we setteled bith times to sit at the bar to be served our dinner. Food was fantastic both times and we were treated to full service even sitting at the bar. Top notch. Get there before 4 or plan to wait onany ebrning if you want a table. I am not certain if they take reservations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoyceW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Hula Grill Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear JoyceW50,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Hula Grill Waikiki. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. We're happy to hear you were able to find a spot in our bar and that you found our food to be fantastic. We hope that you come visit us again soon on your next trip to Hawaii!

Aloha,
Ashley Tesoro
Breakfast Manager

Stay up to date on Hula Grill Waikiki:
Facebook at HulaGrillWaikiki

Twitter @hulagrillwaiks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere along with great service makes this restaurant a must while in Waikiki! Macadamia encrusted Mahi Mahi was delicious as was the roast pork & kalua pig pot stickers! To top it off get a piece of Hula pie for 2, you won't be disappointed! Breakfasts are also fabulous featuring signature omelets and a local favorite called "loco moco" which is a hamburger on rice with a fried egg on top and gravy on top of it. Don't worry it Really does taste good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lonerider123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T, Manager at Hula Grill Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Lonerider123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Hula Grill Waikiki. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. We're glad you were able to join us for both breakfast and dinner. We hope that you come visit us again soon on your next trip to Hawaii and when you do come back for breakfast, you should definitely try the loco moco with our local style fried rice (my own personal favorite touch to the loco moco).

Aloha,
Ashley Tesoro
Breakfast Manager

Stay up to date on Hula Grill Waikiki:
Facebook at HulaGrillWaikiki

Twitter @hulagrillwaiks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing