We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mahalo Management And Staff Waikiki Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mahalo Management And Staff Waikiki Resort”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Looking for the best kept secret in Waikiki? It is on Koa street and one block from the beach. This fine hotel has a management team that is second to none and their staff offer the best that they can which is an expression used in conversation with anyone associated with the hotel. We do our best is exactly what you will hear from staff daily when guests take the time to compliment them on their effort. If you need anything at the Waikiki Resort just ask and they will do what needs to be done to fulfill your wish. We had the good fortune to have an ocean view room and the view early mornings was spectacular as were the sunsets in the early evening. Along with the comfort of the room there was nothing left to ask for. The breakfast buffet daily was most enjoyable and the staff made us feel like family. Mahalo to Mr Vergara and his team at the Waikiki Resort for their warm aloha and kindness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    656
    253
    79
    27
See reviews for
519
573
108
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thank you Waikiki Resort for a wonderful holiday. This was my 1st time in Hawaii & I just loved it. Stayed for 9 nights in late March in a part ocean view room, weather was perfect. I visited Pearl Harbour, drove right around Oahu taking a swim at all the beautiful beaches, climbed Diamond Head, Surfed Waikiki, ate, ate & ate, & shopped till I dropped.
The hotel is in a great location, less than 2 min walk to the Duke Statue on Waikiki Beach. Staff were very friendly, room kept very clean. After very busy days I looked forward to their comfortable bed each night. Staff in the Hotel Restaurant are great & they welcomed us every morning for breakfast, loved their coffee. Also, thank you to Tim who helped us with booking tours & rental car. Tour to Kualoa Ranch was a great day, well worth it. We did the ATV (quad) bikes.

A few people on trip advisor seem to comment on the bathroom, shower too small etc, I didn’t have any problems, I actually enjoyed my showers. If you want to spread out & do “laps” go to the pool !!
Public transport is very organised & cheap, all just 1 block from hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint is that I didn’t stay longer! Oh well, next time. Mahalo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We got an ocean view room on the 17th floor and it was stunning. Showers are not great though. Bathroom is poorly lit and shower curtain does little to keep the water in. Every time we showered, there was water all over the floor. Also, I swear that at booking this room was labeled as 2 QUEENS and it was actually 2 doubles so it was a bit of a squeeze. But at the end of each day it was so nice to fall asleep with the balcony door open listening to the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our first time at Waikiki resort and from the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted by Dave and he went out of his way to accommodate us with our room that we booked through hotels.com. They didn't quite have our reservation correct but Dave rectified the situation. The room was clean we got everything we needed and Branden was also very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You can ask to see another room if you aren't comfortable with what you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eloise1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I staying here at the end of October 2013. We were originally thinking of staying on the beach at an outrigger or the banyan, but I'm really glad that we decided to stay here. We had an ocean view room and it was great to sit on the lanai in the morning with our coffee and look out at the ocean. The money that we saved on our hotel meant that we could rent beach chairs on the beach ($30 to $40 per day for 2 chairs and an umbrella depending on who you rent from)- a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The beach chairs were well worth the cost.

The rooms were fine - nothing special, but basic and what I was looking for definitely. The hotel was very clean and we had no complaints there. You get what you pay for in this hotel - and you are for sure paying for location. I would stay here again if I had the same budget that I was travelling with. The location was superb and the staff was great.

Get the breakfast at the outdoor restaurant at the hotel across the street - super delicious and very cheap! Also, there was a farmers market just down the block from the hotel at a little outdoor mall that we went to which was a great place to get fresh fruit!

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taryn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have just returned from a two week stay at this Hotel. I travelled with my husband and six year old daughter. We opted for a corner room to give us slightly more space and also a microwave. Bed was very comfortable and there was a sofa bed for my child. We had a good size bathroom with a bath although on the small side. There is a guest laundry in the basement which was very handy. Staff were friendly, complimentary breakfast was a bonus (although after two weeks it was a bit boring).

Room Tip: Go for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hi we stayed here while we were in Waikiki both before & after our cruise and loved it. Our rooms were big clean & had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Only seconds from the beach & main shopping streets we were able to walk to and from everything. The staff were friendly and always smiling, June on the reception counter was so helpful and smiling everytime we had a question. We will be back for sure and will definatly stay here again :) thanks for an amazing holiday stay (Maryanne ) Anna & Scott Duncan

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annascott_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing