We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Waikiki Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel. Location is great, really close to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants. Price was good except seems you should be able to have free internet in the rooms. Rooms were clean, housekeeping was great and they were all so friendly. Room was an OK size although the shower is really small. Had a mini fridge, safe, coffee maker only other thing that would have been nice to have would be a microwave. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had city view on the 18th floor and also had a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your review and for recommending us to others. While some of our rooms do have microwaves and others don't (depends on room category booked), we are considering the feasibility of installing them in all of the rooms thanks to guest feedback such as yours. Should you return to stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask for room with a microwave. Hope to see you back soon. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel has a wonderful location close to Waikiki beach, rooms in good working order, a maid service that is excellent, and even fast elevators in this 19-story structure. Yet, charging almost $11 per day for terrible internet access in the room is a bid downer. Yes, wireless internet is free in the lobby but that's hardly conducive to serious work. Further, the lobby connection was also flaky. Couple that with a colorless restaurant charging $15 for a buffet breakfast and you have a mix of good and bad.
There is one easy alternative to dealing with the hotel's shortcomings: a 24-hr McDonald's that serves fresh food and coffee and offers free wireless.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to serve you on your recent visit to beautiful Waikiki. While it seems you were not displeased with our accommodations, our breakfast product and internet connectivity fell short of your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience and want you to know that it is constructive feedback such as yours which helps us identify those opportunities we should be addressing. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My visit to Waikiki Resort was more than I expected. The resort is clean, well laid out, and has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The front desk staff were very professional and willing to help make my stay an enjoyable experience. They were friendly and courteous to all requests. I would definitely make this my first choice again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for having chosen us as your place of stay. Your favorable commentary was gratifying to read. We certainly hope your future plans takes you for a return visit to beautiful Oahu in which case we'd love to have the opportunity of serving you once again. Again mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Resort, booked it at a good price so for us it was good value. I would not spend 200$+ on this hotel however...

Room was clean, size was fine, although bathroom was absolutely tiny. But location is great, one block from the beach, and that's why we stay there. Service is good and check in was quick. Pool area is fine as well, they have added some nicer lounge chairs which is nice. Overall a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool seem to be quieter than those facing Diamondhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancerPrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We were delighted to have you back again and were gratified that you enjoyed your stay. Although famous Waikiki Beach is just steps away, I see you noticed the subtle pool deck upgrade and glad you liked it. Hope to see you back again next winter. Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. They were very patient with our many questions. Location of the hotel is a block from the beach, walking distance to restaurants,shops. Accommodation was clean and cleaning staff were very friendly also. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Guest feedback is the ultimate barometer for evaluating our product and services and we appreciate them, whether good or bad. More gratifying is when they tell others about their favorable visit to Waikiki Resort Hotel. Thank you for the posting and for allowing us to pamper and serve you while visiting beautiful Oahu. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Doubletree hotel. Booked the hotel at a really GREAT price...better than the team group rate. We stayed here mid December 2013, when my daughter's basketball team was invited to play in the Iolani basketball tournament. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was very convenient to 2 beaches, lots of shopping and restaurants. We would stay here again. Although we did not enjoy paying the $22 a day parking fee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Mahalo for the favorable review of Waikiki Resort Hotel. We'll take the assumption that you stayed with us after having stayed at the Doubletree Waikiki. We're gratified that you felt good about your choice of stay which you credited to our convenient location and friendly service. Rest assured your unfavorable mention of the parking rate is one which we will be giving consideration to. Hopefully it doesn't stop you from choosing to stay with us again in the not-so-distant future. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Waikiki Resort recently, and I had a spectacular time!~

The room was very spacious and comfortable. It had bouncy, comfortable beds and pillows and sturdy tables. Also, in the bathroom there was a 50 inch flat screen TV. There were relaxing massagers and automatic curtains!!! One push of a button, and the drapes go up. Handy bed lights attached to your bed, so you can see things in bed at night.

Kind staff members! The bellboy was very obedient (in a good way). The receptionist was very patient, and she always listened to your requirements. Price was not expensive, not too cheap, but in the middle.

The resort invites you to a traditional luau, and immersed me into Hawaiian tradition. A wonderful, and interesting show of fire eating, and people playing with fire was presented. Waiters served scrumptious roasted pork, and bbq kebabs! (Best Hawaiian meal ever!) Also, for dessert we had lovely cooked pineapple and apples marinated in some sweet sauce.

I loved the fun swimming pool, and had a decorative floor! In addition to that, tanning chairs were placed near the edge of the pool, and towels were in a cabinet next to the chairs, for those who forgot their towels. Very convenient!

The resort had a mouth watering scent to it… The scent of fresh muffins in the oven… Heavenly interior for the rooms. I definitely recommend this resort to others!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for making us your place of stay on your "best vacation ever." We're so pleased you had a "spectacular" time and appreciated your favorable commentary regarding your experience. Please come stay with us again in the not-so-distant future should you and your family come back to beautiful Hawaii. Again mahalo. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,757 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,753 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
778 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $167 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing