We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
califonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for the family”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My family of 4 as well as my father n law stayed at this hotel. Before i left on my trip i read the reviews about the hotel and not all were good. Well the people who left the bad reviews must be used to staying at the ritz carlton. This hotel was fantastic especially for my 2 boys. We had a deluxe ocean view studio. It had a kitchenette, nothing big but had the necessitys like a micro,fridge and even dishes. The room was able to connect to my father n laws room whos room was a bit smaller than ours but was just fine for him since he was alone. The view from the balcony was great the beach was literally right there. The beach was only 1 block away and "hawaii" blocks are small. ABC stores on every corner which made it great to pick up snacks on the way back from the beach. Pacific Beach hotel was across the street, That is where most of the touring companys pick up so that was very convenient for us. Overall the hotel stay was great and if you are traveling with kids and are on a budget this is the place to stay without having to worry about a run down hotel. There was flat screen tvs in our rooms as well. Ask for a corner room facing the beach or else you might get stuck in the middle and have to stare into the hotel across the street. Great hotel will definetly stay there again!!! We didnt even have to rent a car we were in the middle of everything!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no free internet :(
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank princs916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    678
    268
    82
    28
See reviews for
548
591
110
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

The lighting in the room was "Very Poor". The bathtub was half the normal size. There was no coffee pot, too much street noise, a dog barked ALL night, the garbage trucks woke us up at 5:00am every morning, the doors slammed upon closing, the pillows were too thin and felt like jello, the blankets were thin, the beds were not Queen size as advertised. People were smoking in their rooms, but we were in a non-smoking area. The bathtub backed up, the refrigerator was worthless. I felt like bugs were biting me all night when I slept and when we arrived home all of us had bites all over our bodies. We observed the laundry area when leaving and returning from the parking garage and NEVER saw the blankets, covers and bed protector being washed. The front desk did not tell us the parking policy $18 dollars a day; we had to force the information out of the desk clerk. The parking meter kept taking our validated parking slip. The neighbors children kept slamming the doors and running through the halls yelling and screaming; we had to call security. The older man that stayed in the same room came back at 1:00 am and began yelling at the occupants through the door. We will NEVER stay at the Waikiki Resort Hotel again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renegade08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I booked a "mini economy room" at this hotel, and it was unbelievably small. I'm from NYC, so I'm used to small hotel rooms, but it was not only extremely small, but it was very very outdated and rundown. We considered switching hotels until we talked to the front desk and we were told that we could upgrade our room to a larger ocean view room for an additional $30 a day. Since we already got a good deal through expedia, we decided to take the upgrade. The larger room was much better, since the beautiful ocean view makes anything better. However, it was still very rundown and in great need of remodeling. The walls and furniture have smudges on them, the wall paper is peeling, the showers are tiny and old, there's no room service or concierge, the beds are old and uncomfortable, and everything looks like it hasn't been updated since the early 90's. All this said, however, it has a very convenient location, right by Waikiki beach, it's in a safe neighborhood, they have their own parking lot, their free shampoos and soaps smell nice, and if you're in to Korean food, they have a great Korean restaurant in the hotel that serves good Korean food for all three meals a day. Also, it is affiliated with Korean Airlines in some way, so if you have Korean Airlines mileage, you may get a discount, and it's very Korean friendly, with the Korean speaking workers and the Korean restaurant. I probably wouldn't stay here again for vacation purposes, but if you want a good deal for a very average room at a hotel by the ocean, and you don't care about any luxury amenities, it's fine.

  • Liked — location, korean food
  • Disliked — the outdated accommodations
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThetravelsofCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalllas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day stay that was a combination of a business and pleasure trip. This hotel hit a home run in both ways. They were undergoing a renovation to correct past shortcomings and to get more up to date, but there was very little inconvenience other than one of the 3 elevators being worked on while we were there. One renovatation was the addition of a nice large flat screen TV on the wall that added lots of room to the average size rooms. We got an oceanview room that had a partial view of the ocean and the surfers on the beach. It was great to go out on the lanaii to have a morning cup of coffee and to watch the city wake up to another day in Paradise. cities are by their nature busy, but Honolulu is probably the most laid back city I've ever been in, so the crowded Waikiki area isn't as bad as you would think.

What made the hotel one of the best I've stayed in was the staff. They were smiling, friendly, and genuinely wanted to be of service and to please. We noticed the heavy Korean influence in the hotel and found out it was Korean owned and had just hired an California based management company. The large numbers of Koreans and the presence of a Korean Airlines office made for a nice experience in a hotel that was full of guests. The staff was so service oriented and anticipated our needs that we almost forgot we were in a nearly full hotel instead of being the only guests in the hotel. We especially liked the 2 restaurants, one an upscale Korean/Asian one and the other a Hawaiian/American style one. the food was top notch and the service was sparkling.

The half block distance to the beach and closeness to the middle of Waikiki's shopping and night life make this an excellent choice in a headquarters for a visit to Oahu. All the tour busses stop there and they have an underground parking floor in the basement with an elevator that goes straight up to your room. Also, good deals can be had on rental cars and my advice is to take your GPS system with you or rent one. They are great and take a lot of stress out of driving in an unknown area with long and hard to pronounce names!

The Waikiki Resort Hotel made us very happy on our trip and I highly recommend it to others who want a good value hotel near the beach.

Tha Laird

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach, great value, and the great Staff.
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Just returned from Waikiki and would definately recommend this hotel. Our room hadn't been renovated yet, but it was still clean and comfortable - we had a deluxe suite, which came with queen bed, double pullout and mini kitchen (sink, microwave and fridge), which fit our family (myself, husband and 11 and 13 year old girls) just fine.

Staff were friendly and accommodating and you can't beat the location for the price - a 30 second walk to the beach, close to everything!

We lucked out and were given an ocean view room, which really set the tone for our stay - would highly recommend that the ocean view is worth a few extra dollars! Was great to drink morning coffee on the "lanai" and watch the surfers! The pool was also nice and never too busy.

  • Liked — Location and view from room
  • Disliked — Early morning street noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeinMcDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

we just got back from waikiki and we stayed at the waikiki resort hotel for 2 1/2 weeks. This is our third time here and it has just been renovated. The room we were in had new carpet, new king size bed, new paint and it was great. It also had a new flat screen tv that was on the wall and freed up the counter space. I love the location of this hotel. It is so close to the beach. The staff is very friendly and always have a smile for us. We will be going back there next year for sure.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — elevators
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wecmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Very nice hotel, very well located (2 min walk to the beach). It is highly recommended to book the room with the sea view as it is really worth the money. The view from the balcony is fantastic.
The rooms are quite small but cosy and nicely decorated in hawaiian style.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IBFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,836 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,369 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
476 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing