We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Central location, clean, affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Central location, clean, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel for our 3 night visit to Oahu - rooms where small but it's honolulu everything is tight. We had parking during our stay for an additional $22/ night. This worked out well for us as we believed we needed a car to travel around the island, this allowed us to come and go as we please and never worried about parking in this very populated area with almost no place to park. Stayed on the 16th floor - had a nice view of city, diamond head and some ocean view, the room was close to the elevator and thought it would be a problem but it wasn't nor did we hear and street level noise some have mentioned. Beds where comfortable, bathroom clean, one block from the beach - very easy walking to many of the area sites. Felt safe at all times, this was never an issue for us - there was a safe in the room for some valuables. Front desk was helpful, pool was clean, refreshing and fun at night, with pool and beach towels easily available. We spent most of our time our and about exploring so this was a perfect pick for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygilmore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    598
    227
    71
    27
See reviews for
461
520
99
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The location is great and the rooms are comfortable and modern. Would definitely here again.

The breakfast downstairs was average but did the trick when rushing out in the mornings.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I Stayed at this hotel with a friend in a City View Room. Our room was pretty much opposite the lifts. I cringed at the time remembering other reviews about the lift noise. However it did not disturb us. Yes you will hear street noise but I don't think it matters what floor you stay on. We stayed on floor 14 and could still hear it. But this shouldn't be an issue as you don't come to Waikiki to sleep all day :).

Okay the Room. Its basic and average. It does have an old feel to it and despite the hotel apparently having undergone a renovation the only new thing in the room was the TV. An annoying thing was that there was only one mirror in the bathroom, difficult when your trying to get ready at the same time. However the room was clean and suited us as we weren't looking for anything fancy.

The pool was small so I didn't even bother to use it.

The location was great. Its a few minutes walk to Kuhio beach. Its situated not far from Kalakaua Ave & Kuhio Ave where the stores/dinning options and nightlife are.

The is free WiFi in the lobby which is actually an open air Lobby which I actually loved. It felt welcoming.

I would definitely stay here again for the location and price

Room Tip: Free WiFi in Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Izza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights early August 2013. The location was handy and staff were very courteous and helpful. Sadly, however this hotel needs a good makeover. Everything is old. Our room was reasonably clean but the old fittings and fixtures were a bit off-putting. The power socket in the bathroom was loose and partly detached from the wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greathawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very standard 3 star hotel with comfy beds and good service. Best point is location--- worst is the pool -it is a good size , but looks onto the back of other building's, so not a great place to sit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Firstly, the front desk deducted the entire room charge from the credit card I gave on check-in when they were supposedly taking only the $100 holding fee.

Then on check-out they proceeded to charge my other credit card with the full amount again, thus paying twice.

Fortunately I checked my bank records before I left and queried it with the front desk. Unfortunately they had "no record of the double charge" and refused to refund me.

So I am now out of pocket due to their incompetency and forced to reclaim the money through my bank.

My advice: check your receipts!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annanicolaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights, and were very happy with our choice of Waikiki hotel. Being our first trip to Hawaii I researched hotels on Trip Advisor and decided upon the Waikiki Resort Hotel.

The rooms are a little old, but spotlessly clean and spacious. Free wifi in the lobby and 2 restaurants (although we did not dine at either during our stay).

Would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Hawaii.

Room Tip: We paid for a partial ocean view room, and could see a small bit of the ocean, but to be honest we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing