We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Waikiki Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waikiki Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Everyone was friendly, courteous, and helpful.
The hotel was clean and housekeeping was great. The entrance to the hotel was breathtaking. The view of the ocean was super.
We were in walking distance to everything: food, gifts, drinks, swimming, ocean.
As this was our first trip to Hawaii, we were very pleased with our choice of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erouzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    559
    219
    67
    20
See reviews for
433
469
96
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our second stay in two years and we returned because our first experience with Waikiki Resort was GREAT! The front desk and bell personnel were EXCEPTIONAL with over-the-top service and helpfulness. The Housekeeping staff was awesome also. The rooms were very clean and made us feel like home. The location of Waikiki Resort is THE BEST - being within walking distance to everything. As I was the only smoker in our group, hats off and thank you to Waikiki Resort for having a smoking area conveniently located for their guests! We Will Be Back and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shearon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room was beautiful with a great Ocean view and tended daily by room service. Fine quality and product. Very satisfied with all amenities including swimming pool, American Breakfast buffet, and internet availability. Very close one block walk to the Sea and all local attractions including free nightly Hawaiian Cultural show on the ocean front and torch lighting. two blocks to bus that services the entire island and /or local tour buss's and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddeiter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel in Waikiki, and I was pleasantly surprised to see they have renovated and updated the rooms. They are still pretty basic, but nice and comfortable. I liked the free wifi in the lobby, but having it in the room would have been a great plus. The rooms are clean and I still like the hotel, however, don't expect any help from the front desk:
My main complaint is - We desperately needed to rent a car one morning and woke up very early to do so (we had to get to the north shore by 9:00am but it wasn't until that morning we'd realized our tour was on the North shore, we were originally planning to take a taxi. Yes I know, bad planning on our part but still...) So we called down to the front desk and asked if they could recommend a nearby rental agency to us, and they said, no problem, we have a car rental service on site, but, they don't open until 8am, don't worry none of the others do either. We thought "ok, that seems the quickest thing, we'll just get a car here". So we waited patiently until 8am, then the car rental desk opens, we discover that the agency is not onsite, it's just an expedia booking desk! So we pay for a car and then still have to take a taxi all the way to Ala Moana Discovery centre to pick up the car. Upon arrival, we see that there are actually 4 car rental companies all located in the same building, and they all opened at 7am! This caused us to miss our scheduled time and we had to wait all day to be fit into the schedule again (we were skydiving, in case you are curious). If the front desk guy had only just told us to go to the discovery centre - where all the car rental places are - we never would have been late. Or if he had even been helpful enough to call one of the agencies to see when they open instead of just taking the lazy way out and assuming they are closed. Anything to make a commision I guess, sad.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall very pleased with our stay at the Waikiki Resort, 10 days in January 2013.

PROS:
Location is GREAT, near the beach and shopping/restaurants.
Room was large and clean, functionnal bathroom and balcony. Large pool area with lounge chairs and tables, very few people ever using it. Staff was polite and helpful, check-in was quick. Free wifi in the lobby. We didn't try the restaurant on site so can't comment on it.

CONS: street is very noisy with tour buses and emergency vehicules going by, decor is somewhat outdated.

Bottom line: very good value for money, would book it again. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DancerPrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location and the rooms were in standard condition, what you would expect. Staff were friendly enough. What it needs is in-room wi-fi. It was annoying having to go down to the lobby each time.Other than that, the location was the best thing about the hotel and it was only minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

the room was ok....clean, queen bed...it was close to everything...walking distance to the beach. only could use WiFi in the lobby...had to pay for parking. We stayed only 3 nights and really did not use pool...but they did have one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladibug888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#35 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,626 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing