We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Waikiki Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Family of eight, including 1 year old and 2 year old stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel over Christmas for four days prior to joining a cruise, then returned for three more days after.. We booked connecting rooms and ordered cots for the boys which helped with the sleeping arrangements. All the staff were very friendly, kind and efficient, always keen to make our stay a welcome experience. The hotel was less than a minute walk to the Waikiki Beach, the shops and restaurants. The Hotel restaurant provided a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Waikiki Resort for two nights prior to Cruise. Would stay there again as it is a great location for the beach and shopping in Waikiki. Ate three meals in the restaurant which has an excellent breakfast buffet. The staff at the front desk and restaurant were very polite and efficient. The rooms are just average, but we were not there to spend time in the room. We got a good night's sleep and a hot shower in a clean room. Surprised that we had a balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very well appointed not far from the beach, rooms very spacious and all the mod cons, we were on the 24th floor, only downside was the constant noise of the lift shafts up until midnight. Staff very friendly and helpful, tour buses pick up from the hotel, i do recommend this hotel for your stay

Room Tip: Not above floor 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DelRob013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel had a great price over Christmas. We were in Waikiki for 3 weeks, and spent 2 weeks at the Aqua Waikiki Pearl (highly recommend) and 1 week here at the Waikiki Resort Hotel. When we checked in, about 12pm, 3 hours earlier than the normal check in time, our room was available and the lady at reception was nice and polite. We had a ocean-facing room on the 18th floor (room 1817) which I do recommend. The 19th floor is the penthouse rooms. From the balcony, I had great views over the ocean and beach, and could also see Diamond Head. The room was on the smaller size (but still manageable. Everything was clean and the beds comfy. There was a letter in the room saying that there would be pest control on 3 floors in the hotel the following day which included our room. The room was sprayed while we were out. We didn't see any bugs before or after the spraying. There's 3 lifts in the hotel and they are super-fast, no hanging around waiting for lifts at this hotel! I didn't use the swimming pool (looked nice) or restaurant. McDonalds is just around the corner, and so is Waikiki Beach, from door to beach, about 1-2 minutes walk, great location. Check-out is 12pm, we were able to check-out at 1pm for no charge. Anything later would incur a charge. The hotel has wifi but you have to pay, it's free in the lobby though. I think all hotels should include free wifi in the rooms! I think it costs $10 a day, $70 a week (no discount), but I searched around for wifi services elsewhere in the room and found skywave(?) which was about $8 a day, $24 a week, and about $32 a month. So better to use that than the resorts own wifi.
This hotel is fine and what was expected, next time I may try somewhere else.... although not sure if there's anywhere cheaper or the same cost that is closer to the beach, so I'll have to decide later.
PS - Daves Surf Shop is just a few doors away (turn right out of the hotel), I highly recommend him for surf lessons, outrigger canoe rides etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gary_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent 8 nights here at 2 different times. Each time they let me stay longer than the regular check out time. The location is fantastic, only one block from the beach. The tour buses pick up right outside the door or across the street. Their breakfast buffet is more for Asian people but was adequate. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: The higher up the better as the street noise can be quite loud in the mornings with trucks backing u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Waikiki Resort hotel was fantastic! We stayed for 7 days. The front desk was friendly and knowledgeable - even though our flight was very late and we arrived after midnight, the man checking us in was still friendly and not grumpy (we were the last to check in for the day). Anytime we saw hotel staff in the elevator or hallway they greeted us with a warm Aloha. Our room was clean, and cleaned daily (including free coffee refills) and had everything we needed. If you are booking for this hotel, do not expect a 5 star hotel - it has the basics of what you need - and that is exactly what my husband and I wanted. The decor was dated but we didn't care about that. It would have been a little more convenient, had the wifi worked in the hotel rooms but we did have wifi access in the lobby no problem connecting there. No regrets, would absolutely stay again, only a 3min walk to the beach!

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the beach and is on a high floor (so you can see the ocean). Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Waikiki resort for 3 days before our cruise around the islands. We loved it so much, especially the staff that we returned for our last day as our flight did not leave until 11:30 pm. We were treated like royalty and everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We can hardly wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barbbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,711 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,711 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,604 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $171 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing