We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, clean and affordable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and affordable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for anything you'd want to do around Waikiki. It's looking a bit dated and the decor inside of the rooms is in need of a modernisation. But it's clean, the staff are helpful and friendly and the location is great. Aside from the dated decor, the double room we stayed in was spacious and clean. Showers are very basic though and shower/toilet area of the bathroom is small. If you're just looking for a base to explore, then this is ideal and an affordable option in an area where accommodation can be expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    614
    234
    74
    27
See reviews for
480
536
100
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lobby was quiet when we checked in - we asked where our room was, hoping for a "high floor" with perhaps a bit of a view. We were on the sixth - we asked if there was anything higher and something possibly with a kitchenette. We were SO lucky to get upgraded to the 17th floor...we had a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette and a view. The decor was lovely and we had lots of space to spread out plus 2 balconies, one off the living room where the sofa bed was and the other off the bedroom. My only negative (if you can call it that) about the room was the size of the bathroom sink and counter area - it was super small. There wasn't a spot for cosmetic bags or anything like that.

We looked down over the pool and several time thought we would go down and lay there as the area was very inviting BUT the window of opportunity for sunshine must have been small. It seemed to us that it was in shade all the time or at least every time we looked - I guess from the surrounding buildings. So we spent all our time at the beach.

Our only other issues were that there was wifi in the lobby but while we were there we had trouble connecting a number of times...which is frustrating. One time it was not available until the following day. Our flight did not leave until late in the evening and we asked to leave our bags with the bell concierge - we were charged to do that. I have never paid to leave by bags at any hotel and was surprised.

The rooms were super clean and the service the front desk provided was great. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momsandsons8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is fine. Clean with good facilities. The beds were comfy and very large. Rooms also large and well appointed. We liked it. Only draw back lacks its own bar, although there is one in a sushi /cocktail bar in the foyer. Good breakfasts in the hotel lobby although not cheap. In fact we found food was on the expensive side in Hawaii. The hotel has a pool but it is in shadow for most of the day at least when we were there October. The hotel shop is good value. Lifts are fast and clean. I would recommend this hotel only 2 minutes from the famous beach.
The car park under the hotel is readily accessed and easy to use, down there you will find a launderette which is good value. Get a good map of Hawaii, it is quite confusing. The north east and north have the best beaches, in our opinion. Waikiki is overrated and too busy. Hotel staff v friendly and helpful. Macdonalds close by, if only they would sell an acceptable breakfast for the UK pallette.

Room Tip: Three couples all had good rooms. Sorry I cannot help further
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffreykenward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel has a good location. DO NOT try and check in Early. They always take care of the Airline Employes that stay there ( And there are a lot of them ) first. I di not think the frint desk staff was as helpful as they could have been in geting me into m room. I had to wait in the lobby for 4 hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horses3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was average but considering how close it was to everything in Waikiki it's a pretty good deal. The rooms weren't as clean or updated as I'd like but they were acceptable. The city noise got kinda loud at times. It's a budget hotel that's worth trying. The breakfast buffet wasn't anything special but it was there for a quick bite before heading out. The parking is limited so if you have a car it's first come first serve but we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel offered location, service, amenities, views (we had ocean view Junior Suite) for a very reasonable price. Very happy to have chosen this hotel. Did not try the hotel breakfast as numerous coffee shops, cafes and bakers located nearby. The staff is very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was my first stay at Waikiki resort hotel. The rates were fair and the rooms were clean, yet nothing fancy. The beds were comfortable, and I was able to get a good nights sleep. The Jr suite is the way to go as you get a mini fridge, microwave and bar sink with utensils, plates, bowls, coffee cups etc. the only drawback to the location is Koa Ave is the major tour bus stop and buses are coming and going very early in the am if you chose to sleep with the balcony door open, it gets loud quickly! Overall the hotel was a great base camp for my visit to beautiful Oahu

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katgpdk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing