We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a keeper...a hotel worth returning to!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely a keeper...a hotel worth returning to!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I would highly recommend this place. The people are nice and pleasant. The room is clean and big with plenty of spaces to move around. The bed is so comfy. I was pleasantly surprised that my room has a balcony with a great view. For the price of $89 per night it was more than worth it. The beach is only a block away and so are other places to see. Definitely going back there again next time. Aloha and Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNJADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    674
    266
    81
    28
See reviews for
542
587
110
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

we have stayed in Waikiki many times, This was our first stay at Waikiki Resort Hotel
it's position is excellent, only one block walk to the beach & amenities.
The rooms are nicely furnished, This hotel is also one of the few that have beach towels available for guests to use, (Nice touch)
Easy self car parking (not valet) underneath the hotel, charges are like all hotels $20 per day
there is only wifi available in the hotel lobby (Not BedRooms) not good for ipad users.
This hotel is great we will stay here again on our next visit in November.

Room Tip: ocean views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank katafanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Aug 2010 and I went back in April 2012. It's still a great place if you're looking for a basic, no frills, clean and convenient hotel in Waikiki. It's in a great location.

During my first stay, my room was very close to the elevators, and I found that a bit noisy. This time around, I asked for a room away from the elevators and it was great! No complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel and were very impressed!
It was our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a suite on the 18th floor, It was magical! 2 rooms, King bed,(which was sooo comfortable, also they had like 10 pillows in the room of varrying firmness to suite your needs) fridge, microwave, 2 tV's and a balcony overlooking the mountains. Clean, the cleaning staff were always on hand if we needed anything. They had beachtowels for rent (free) in the basement, as many as you needed daily.The pool was clean and virtually unused by other guests so we were out there most days by ourselves. The hotel is a short 3 min walk to the beach, close to reastaurants, shopping, across the street from a fancy buffet at the Pacific beach hotel. Close to Waikiki beach, where you can catch the trollies for $2. Also about a 10 min walk to the Zoo. Very close to Diamond head.
Our Flight wasn't leaving until 10 pm and with check out at 12 noon, we could check our luggage with them for $1. Peace of mind was great.
The front desk staff always had great suggestions for where to eat, what to do and we were always greeted with a smile. The buffet breakfast was good, $15 each, a little short staffed, but the food was good. We never ened up trying the Korean restaurant tho.
Overall a great place to stay, and WHEN we go back, it will be at this HOTEL! :D

Room Tip: -Tell them you are on your honeymoon and see what they can do to upgrade -a corner suit was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Tired hotel in need of some updates, but can't beat the location and good value. Bed was mushy, tiny shower, and decor did not all match. Parking is very limited. Front desk staff was friendly but clueless as concierges.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aasteve802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was in Oahu last week for my annual vacation. I stayed at the Outrigger Reef last year but decided to stay at this hotel following the recommendations of friends and TripAdvisor reviews and am happy to say that the reviews were correct (great location, value and friendly staff).

First the perks:
Location - it's short block away from the beach, McDonald's and other restaurants are a 3 min. walk.

Amenities - you have free access to a mini-fridge where you fill it with drinks/snacks purchased at an ABC store (literally, there is 3 or 4 ABC stores within a 5 min. walk) and an in-house safe where you can place your valuables.

The staff were helpful and friendly (I was given a free upgrade from partial to full Ocean view on the 18th floor). The additional perk being in this room was that I was able to receive free wifi access (via. shakanet).

The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, there were ample towels, loved the view from my balcony and the great air conditioner control system.

I really don't have anything bad to say about the hotel. Just realize because of it's great location, expect some traffic/noise (if facing the beach). It's an "older" hotel that was remodeled and contains only a shower tub. I found the alarm clock radio a little confusing to use so I used my IPhone alarm instead.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. To make a smooth transition (to/from airport, go with Roberts Hawaii shuttle service). Mahalo!

Room Tip: Ask to grab a higher level floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vancitygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Best hotel in Waikiki, away from the noisy busy streets yet just a block away from the beach. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable with lots and lots of pillows, we slept like babies. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,442 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing