We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent lodging about 15 min to the centre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was the closest hotel to Schofield Barracks that allow pets. The facility used to be military school and feature two rooms suite configuration with adjoining bathroom in the middle. So it is a good set up for family allowing parents to stay in one room and kids in the other. It has nice view over the city and only about 2 miles from Nimitz highway taking you to the centre.

Breakfast was boring. Only cerio, bagels and waffles, but plenty of fruit. The only nearby place to eat is a wonderful asian food court 2 miles away called 99 Market on 1151 Mapunapuna St. They have authentic Chinese and Japanese food stands. Thats where we had our meals

Staff is helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Oxon93,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the breakfast prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We appreciate to see the high scores for Cleanliness, Service, and Value. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the IHG Army Hotel at Tripler Army Medical Center during a TDY. All they did is slap the IHG brand on the old VOQ/VEQ.
This is my 4th IHG Army Hotel I've stayed in, and it was the worst. While the rooms are big, it is the old "two rooms that share a bathroom" design. They don't divide the rooms anymore, but the bathroom design is such that you cannot leave the doors open when you manuever from one room to the other.
Outlets- there are only two outlets in each room, and most of them are occupied by hotel-provided equipment. Oh, they also have only old two-prong. No outlet nearby the table in the living room. I was able to use an available outlet off of an extension strip (that had the ground cut off) to recharge my laptop, and the GFCI outlet in the bathroom to charge up the majority of my electronics.
The mini-fridge is the old under the desk top type that's very small. A couple of days worth of food will max it out. The air-conditioners are controlled by separate thermostats in each room, and they were not even close to matching the temperature. One of them leaked, not a good thing when the condensation drops were dropping near the outlet. To their credit, when called Maintenance fixed that issue quickly. Only one lamp in each room, nights were very dark in the rooms!
Tax. Even though IHG advertises when booking, "Official Travel Tax Exempt. Must show orders when checking in", you are told "we're sorry, we're an individual franchisee and have to charge you hotel/excise tax." Oh thanks! How do I explain that to my DTS reviewer/approver?
Last issue is that my IHG points/miles were never posted automatically. Had to file a missing stay (which was processed pretty fast) to get the points.
I give the impression that I hated my stay and it was hellish. Truth to be told, being only a couple of miles away from the duty location, gorgeous views, full amenities, and just plain being in Hawaii made most of these issues very manini (small). Just some helpful advice for any future traveller! I do wish I get authorization for commercial quarters in Waikiki next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveRiceWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear HaveRiceWillTravel,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We regret to see that your time with us was not fully enjoyable. We are glad to see that issues were addressed promptly when they were reported. We appreciate your review as will help us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights during recent vacation.

Pros: Nice rooms, adjustable AC unit, and free breakfast in the morning. Views of Oahu from top of hill where lodging building is located are amazing. Hotel is pet friendly-saw families with dogs and cats there.

Cons: No kitchen. Price is expensive compared to other military lodging on Oahu-nightly rates are slightly less than Waikiki tourist rates and max allowable lodging cost for official government TDY's to Oahu. In addition, they charge you occupancy tax and Gross Excise Tax on top of base rate if you aren't on official orders. Not blaming management for this due to fact that private company (IHG) owns lodging and not US Army. Please anticipate approximately 14% above and beyond base rate when budgeting for this location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustang9975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, General Manager at IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Aloha mustang9975,

Thanks you so much for choosing to stay at IHG Army Hotel at TAMC. I greatly appreciate the feedback. I would like to hear any other suggestions you might have to share that may help us improve our guest hotel experience. At your convenience you may email any comments to roy.yamane@ihg.com.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
1,049 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center

Address: 1 Jarrett White Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96859-5001
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $119 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
IHG Army Hotels Tripler Army Medical Center Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing