We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sunset spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House Without a Key

House Without a Key
2199 Kalia Rd., Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,217 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Pacific Rim, Asian, Vegetarian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely sunset spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate dinner here on the patio at sunset our first night in Honolulu. The live music made us feel like we were really in Hawaii. Cocktails were great and food was good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    453
    135
    47
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food was pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is seafood only, but it comes highly recommended amongst everyone. Did not disappoint. They often have live music and a great view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kscorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoy the memories we have had for 55 yrs. of memories and some of them right there. You can forget the entire busy Waikiki beach, if you want or walk it. The staff and the lovely rooms are pristine...they have thought of everything. We especially like the name "House Without a Key" because years and years ago it was the only one on the beach with open living and dining.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauigirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset and Hula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the best place for sunset and hula performance. The Mai Tai is very good :) This place is romantic and relaxing after a hot sunny beach day:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice location but the food is marginal and overpriced. I know that gourmet dining is not about quantity but I have never seen smaller portions in my life. Giant silver serving plates and food on it that you need to find with a microscope. I would not go back there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Without a Key also viewed

 

Been to House Without a Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing